Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 303 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

excellant veh.

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,766

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very enjoyable auto."

Love it !

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,241

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "None that I have found yet!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car for a steal and it is the best car ever. Leather seats, all elec, runs like a dream. One of my better decisions I made in life. It is very comfortable and rides like a dream. This is the first Hyundai I have had and I am very happy with it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It is the best car!

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the fourth owner of a 2002 sonata. It is a wonderful vehicle. I have never found any critical malfunctions. After the purchase, I only repaired a power window regulator of the right front door. No leaks on any valve and pipes! Even though it is aged, driving noise in high speed over 70 mph is calm. Air conditioning is also fantastic! A/C is really important in summer in Texas. The flow of air is strong, making the inside cooled very quickly. Good performance!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

not bad for the price

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "size, comfort"

Cons: "expensive, gas hog, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought my car is DEC2013 as the second owner and it crapped out and the BRAND NEW timing belt was eaten off breaking the valves. Not happy about that. But kept the car repaired it and then continues to have issues. This is not a gas milage friendly car guzzles!!! and the parts for MINOR repairs are EXPENSIVE! for a cheapy car its great and for a first car but i wouldnt reccomend this to a family who hauls kids. It is roomy and comfortable but lacks reliability."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car never a problem

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fuel economy better than advertised. Around town..24-26 mpg Highway mileage at 60mph 37.6 mpg at 70mph 33.6mpg Car is only being sold because I bought a Hyundai Genesis"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This car has never let me down! I trust Hyundia!

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,756

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, comfortable, smoth ride, nappa leather"

Cons: "Radio needs fixing, no back car charger outlet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is amazing! When I got it in 2003 I couldn't believe the value! When i saw the price I though it wasn't going to last a long time but I didn't mind to much because I only needed it for 4 years but this car is 11 and it continues to be proven strong. I love the wood trim and nappa leather. I got it tuned up a few years ago and I drove it from PA to Texas for 2 days and then another 2 days to come back to PA and I only had to get gas 5 times. It had its timing belt replaced and it needs its radio repaired because every time you hit a bump the radio turns off. This car is perfect for you if you want a affordable used car with a nice interior and great reliability. It also has great trunk space!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good dependable car

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "funn and fast with good gas milage"

Cons: "kind of small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"could be very nice with tlc"

Great vehicle, best in 50 yrs of buying cars

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,880

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great transportation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle ever owned, just put in new front axles,brake pads & rotors on front, exhaust system totally intact, all service records from day 1"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Purchased new, proved very reliable,comfortable.

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has been a solid car.Fun and won't break bank."

Cons: "Rotors can not be cut. WHY? Matl's need upgrade?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had compliments on car from day #1. Many felt it to be a small Jaguar or Lexus. Has stood the test of time well.Have 160,000 plus miles on it. Biggest expense on car has been cost of brake replacements. Dealer has been great. Never felt like a "cheap" car. V-6 engine quiet and smooth Highly recommended.Would buy it again if possible. Great family car. It's replacement, a 2011 Kia Optima is another gem. Hyundai & KIA are sisters under the sheetmetal(on newer vehicles). Woudn't hesitate to buy one! Both were purchased new."

14 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 2005 Sonata new in 2005, with 8 miles on it. It has been garaged since 2005 w/ cover and maintenance done regularly. I have 60,000 miles on it and no problems with anything. I do not hot rod...heavy on take off and heavy braking, not good for any car. I have leather seats and heated too and everything works great. I would like to trade it in for an SUV Hyuandai, but I would not get anything for it. Great paint and body."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Exterior paint peels"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car new eleven years ago, and have never had any major repairs done. Granted, it is very low mileage, and I maintain it religiously (fluid changes, brakes), but it has been driven on a regular basis by my son. He, on the other hand, has had three new cars since I purchased the Hyundai! I find it to be very reliable, and I honestly think that it could last another ten years! My only complaint is the exterior paint. It has deteriorated terribly and I now have to get it painted. This may be due to the fact that it is not garaged, however. Overall, it is a great car. I wonder if the newer models were built this well!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

204000 miles and still runs beautifully!

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am original owner! Still runs perfectly. Only needed to replace alternator at 165000 miles. That is it! Other than normal wear and tear. So comfortable! At the time, I wanted Accord or Camry...too much road noise and hard seats! I gave to my husband when got married and he said was his favorite car ever. Just bought Santa fe for hauling kids and Minnesota winters! Love that too. Oh, my husband calls our car "the Jaguar"...very nice looking exterior and interior has great quality!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependabiity excellent!"

Cons: "Sometimes seems to overcorrect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Sonata new, and have kept up all maintenance recommended by the dealer. It has been a highly dependable car, and I have enjoyed driving it these 9 years. It's taken me on several long trips and has caused me no unexpected expense until this January, when it needed a new compressor for the air conditioner. Can't complain, after 122,000 miles of problem free driving."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Saved Our Life

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Car accident

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lasts a long time, very durable, life saver"

Cons: "after a long time handles started peeling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We had this car for nearly 10 years. It's been on so many trips with us (NY, Florida, NC, Louisianna) and it was still running great. This was supposed to be my college car until recently when a guy's brakes failed and hit us in an intersection. Our precious car is now totaled, but it really did save our lives. At the speed at which the man was going, we both should have been dead. We both got out of the car with no harm. Haha, we were more devastated about the car than our own health! The car was finally paid off and was perfect. I will always love this car, and if given the opportunity to buy it all over again, I would insist."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I every owned.

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,300

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "The price is write and great to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This vehicle is the best I ever owned. The vehicle has great power and rides great. I have driven this vehicle to Florida two times. As I said above about the ride and it's the best. The vehicle had a new motor put in at around 63,000 miles at no cost. You can't beat the ten(10) year and 100,000 mile warranty."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This Sonata has & is great.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Veryy dependable and easy to maintain."

Cons: "Is prone to sway in high wind conditions."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad bought it new and willed it to me when he passed. I have maintained the vehicle since he purchased it and it has been fantastic. I had a Viper starting system installed. It was all this vehicle needed to make it perfect. I have replaced the front bumper cover and did some minor repairs and paint to the body. He was 94 and was driving it up until 3 months before passing. He and I have been the only operators."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice little car

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Gave it to niece

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice little car"

Cons: "Not very quite."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved this car. Wife trusted it a lot. IZt took care of her during a difficult time. Would buy another Sonata."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

LOVE MY CAR

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "FW drive fun in snow, great looks"

Cons: "electric wearing out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One owner of this car. Bought brand new in 2012 and hate to give it up. If I could afford 2 cars, I would keep it. I needed a car with less miles due to traveling position. I did just take my Hyundai to Texas and back, and it ran beautifully. Just interior and electric wearing down."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

mostly our city driving.runs great, Looks sharp

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, Looks Sharp, runs nice, cruiser"

Cons: "rdy to r&r shocks, not happening, selling as is"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this veh is a very good family veh, very dependable, nice power. nice inside, outside, tinted glass, sunroof,loaded just got to see the veh. priced rite to sell. other extras. Just time to up-grade too newer veh. Plus I have 2 other veh's to sell. DJ."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car"

good all-around car

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,770

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great visibility"

Cons: "drives rough when not being driven regularly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been a wonderful first car! I bought it because it was mid-sized and had a good warranty. After owning the car for 10 years, I have been very glad that I bought it. The car is unmatched for visibility. The V-6 engine gives the car a fun "get-up-and-go" and the car has been reliable overall. I have had some trouble with transmission roughness; a transmission mechanic observed that its a typical problem with cars of this make and model as well as a few others from Honda (they all use the same transmission). The roughness can be kept at bay with regular transmission flushes. I also had issues with alignment in its 6th or 7th year, but that difficulty has seemed to be corrected by finding a really good local mechanic. But the car itself has given few other major issues. It has driven well in snow, made four trips across the United States and several smaller road trips. The interior is roomy and comfortable (except for hot leather seats in the summer and cold ones in the winter. Overall, this car has been a very good investment as a first-car purchase, and I have loved owning it."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this car

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Clean and well taken care of"

Cons: "Rear ended."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Rear ended. No lights broken. Trunk still has integrity."

Love this car

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Can't find a better car for price & warranty"

Cons: "Walmart doesn't carry the oil filter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned three Hyundai's and this is by far my favorite. It is reliable and drives very well. I used to race cars so that should say something. It isn't a Porsche but corners very well on mountain highways. The gas mileage is as good as I could expect for the way that I drive. I would buy this car all over again. In fact, I'm thinking about trading up right now and the next car will be a Hyundai also."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great little sedan

By on Monday, December 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "The v6 is thirsty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned a grey metallic 2002 Hyundai Sonata L X/V 6 for 11 years and have found it to be reliable, and safe. after 92000 miles it is still a good road and city vehicle. The V6 is thirsty if u have a heavy foot, but not as bad as a V8. Overall i give it 8 out of 10!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

top value/quality/looks

By on Monday, October 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best value/looks for the $"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2004 Sonata. Pearl white. Runs great. Looks great. Has almost 60m miles. No defects. No complaints. V6 has good power & ok mph. Car is really nice to drive & even being 9 years old still looks current."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals