Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1999 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 318 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best vehicle I have owned

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Always great to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought vehicle used with 35000 miles... Other then normal maintenance the only repair has been the A/C compressor...It has 125000 and still running great...The interior is showing some wear but the leather seats are like new...After nine years of service the wife wants something newer.......Thank U"

First Hyundai

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was our first Hyundai and I will never drive anything else. Great value for money, great reliability, great warranty."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Attractive, comfortable, EZ entry/exit, rides well

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "attractive, comfortable, EZ entry/exit, 30+ fwy"

Cons: "Hardware quality poor, cup holders r small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Car at 16,000 miles.

"Car is attractive, easy entry/exit, road handling is fair to good, rides well. Seating is comfortable. Easy reach for driving controls. 2 cup holders are small and smaller - Ugh! Interior hardware is a 4 out of 10. Electrical shorts in cabin a/c, heater functions. Leather on steering wheel coming off. Trim moulding on rear door fell off. This is a V6, poor gas economy (16 mpg) in town, but 30+mpg on fwy. V6 gives you power when you need it!"

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Car at 16,000 miles.

real goodfor transport

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"One owner car very well taken car of ! Only need one car !both are retired"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This is my "Florida" car-love it!

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride and handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a Camry at home that I paid over 30,000 for. In many ways, this car is better-I love the moon roof and I love the styling. I have a hard time figuring out if this is my car or a Jaguar-check the lines! reliable, comfy, roomy and easy handling-great on long tripps, too."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very dependable'

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable, low or no repair bills."

Cons: "Just a little small getting in and out ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had a problem with this car. I inherited this car from my Dad who bought new in 2004. He never had an issue of any kind. I took over ownership in 2011 and continue to use it on a daily basis. Recently put a new battery in but besides that I haven't done any repairs."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Wonderful starter or around town transportation.

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent Value, Wonderful Starter or Around Town"

Cons: "Minor Cosmetics/ 185,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Take a look. Ready to drive TODAY

"Are you in the market for reliable, dependable, efficiently priced transportation? Look no further. I have a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. 185,000 miles, low-maintenance/ high performance vehicle. Cool air/heat, CD changer, Automatic Seats, Sunroof, Tint, all she needs is a owner who is ready to commit to a long lasting partnership. Only one previous owner. Minor Cosmetics/ No rust-No Fuss."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Take a look. Ready to drive TODAY

Wonderfully reliable, comfortable car

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,750

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "driving comfort, reliability, value, mpg, power"

Cons: "visors don't cover whole side window"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Sonata has been a stalwart friend for 14 years and over 188,000 miles. It remains comfortable, reliable and loaded with pep after a recent tune-up. I have had few problems with it, and those were corrected quickly. My car has leather seats, steering wheel and shift knob, power driver's seat, power windows and locks, tilt wheel, cruise control, etc. The major reason I am selling it is I need a vehicle to tow my boat, which this cannot do - but it did tow a U-Haul trailer when I moved. Yes, it can tow up to 1000 pounds as described in the Owner's Manual. You wouldn't believe what I have carried in my Sonata that people said would not fit. It resided 10 years in the "salt belt" and has limited rust at the lower edge of the hood. This is a great car if you just take care of it. In July it took me to the East Coast and back in complete comfort, averaging 28 mpg. That was amazing for a car with 185,000 miles on it and before the tune-up."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

My Sonata just won't die!

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "not the prettiest car ever made..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've been wanting a new car for about 5 years. Every year, I think something is going to go wrong with this Sonata that will make me finally give it up. Hasn't happened! It just keeps going and going. I had to do routine maintenance (oil changes, brakes, tires, etc.), but nothing significant on this car has failed. Very reliable, basic transportation. I'll drive it anywhere with confidence. Runs better than my wife's 2007 Lexus!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

best vehicle

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"like this car"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

have i injoyed owning this car

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price for work any local business"

Cons: "may need small repairs due to age and milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"O op this car is very reliable for around town driving handling is very good alignment is true tires are almost new radio works interior good condition exterior paint original i would recommend this car to drive every day with out fear"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

This car has nickel and dimed me to death

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Plenty of room for four"

Cons: "Underpowered and sloppy ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This car has nickel and dimed me to death. It seemed nice initially, but after awhile, many things started failing on a regular basis. They have not stopped! The next generation of Sonata improved dramatically…I know…I own one (2008)"

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

holds the road, see out of windows easily

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very dependable, safe, attractive, good price"

Cons: "can't think of a one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The day I test drove this car I was impressed. I was allowed to take it home and drive it to work 25 miles away. That morning, it was raining hard. Going down the highway at 55 mph I had a car stop suddenly so I had to swerve out to miss. I knew I was going to go out into the median on a car I didn't own, but no, it held steady on that rain covered road during that quick move. It was like I just decided to change lanes. I drove it back to the dealer that afternoon and told them I wanted that car. They asked didn't I want to check out other colors, but no, I had to have that car. 200,000 miles later, it is like a best friend, has never let me down. Of course I took car of it too."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "It has been a wonderful car, I enjoy driving it."

Cons: "Needs new floor mats & interior shows some wear."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a one owner car, runs great and get amazing gas mileage. Does have a few bumps & scrapes. New brakes all around with good tires. Regularly serviced at dealership plus repairs made as needed."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Low maintenance, 6 cylanders"

Cons: "No bluetooth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Over my lifetime I've owned many cars but this car is the best one I've ever owned. It's the last of the 6 cylinder engines, has a crossover transmission, lots of speed and low maintenance. Providing the owner takes care of the car and gives regular oil changes and maintains it in good working order it should last quite a while. Mine has and it's been going strong for 14 years. Now I find myself looking for a newer model of Sonata with Blue Tooth and other linked in features. Yet I want to keep this one as well because as the saying goes, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it." Or in this case I'd say, "if it hasn't broken down, why replace it." I love this car! I'd like to find another Sonata since I find the brand an excellent car and value. Who knows? I may clean up all the little dings, have the whole interior cleaned (kids), install blue tooth, install an auto start system and get a full tune up instead of replacing the old gal. Yes! I'm that in love with my car!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellant veh.

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,766

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very enjoyable auto."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love it !

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,241

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "None that I have found yet!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car for a steal and it is the best car ever. Leather seats, all elec, runs like a dream. One of my better decisions I made in life. It is very comfortable and rides like a dream. This is the first Hyundai I have had and I am very happy with it."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

It is the best car!

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the fourth owner of a 2002 sonata. It is a wonderful vehicle. I have never found any critical malfunctions. After the purchase, I only repaired a power window regulator of the right front door. No leaks on any valve and pipes! Even though it is aged, driving noise in high speed over 70 mph is calm. Air conditioning is also fantastic! A/C is really important in summer in Texas. The flow of air is strong, making the inside cooled very quickly. Good performance!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

not bad for the price

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "size, comfort"

Cons: "expensive, gas hog, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought my car is DEC2013 as the second owner and it crapped out and the BRAND NEW timing belt was eaten off breaking the valves. Not happy about that. But kept the car repaired it and then continues to have issues. This is not a gas milage friendly car guzzles!!! and the parts for MINOR repairs are EXPENSIVE! for a cheapy car its great and for a first car but i wouldnt reccomend this to a family who hauls kids. It is roomy and comfortable but lacks reliability."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent car never a problem

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fuel economy better than advertised. Around town..24-26 mpg Highway mileage at 60mph 37.6 mpg at 70mph 33.6mpg Car is only being sold because I bought a Hyundai Genesis"

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

This car has never let me down! I trust Hyundia!

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,756

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, comfortable, smoth ride, nappa leather"

Cons: "Radio needs fixing, no back car charger outlet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is amazing! When I got it in 2003 I couldn't believe the value! When i saw the price I though it wasn't going to last a long time but I didn't mind to much because I only needed it for 4 years but this car is 11 and it continues to be proven strong. I love the wood trim and nappa leather. I got it tuned up a few years ago and I drove it from PA to Texas for 2 days and then another 2 days to come back to PA and I only had to get gas 5 times. It had its timing belt replaced and it needs its radio repaired because every time you hit a bump the radio turns off. This car is perfect for you if you want a affordable used car with a nice interior and great reliability. It also has great trunk space!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

good dependable car

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "funn and fast with good gas milage"

Cons: "kind of small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"could be very nice with tlc"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, best in 50 yrs of buying cars

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,880

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great transportation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle ever owned, just put in new front axles,brake pads & rotors on front, exhaust system totally intact, all service records from day 1"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Purchased new, proved very reliable,comfortable.

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has been a solid car.Fun and won't break bank."

Cons: "Rotors can not be cut. WHY? Matl's need upgrade?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had compliments on car from day #1. Many felt it to be a small Jaguar or Lexus. Has stood the test of time well.Have 160,000 plus miles on it. Biggest expense on car has been cost of brake replacements. Dealer has been great. Never felt like a "cheap" car. V-6 engine quiet and smooth Highly recommended.Would buy it again if possible. Great family car. It's replacement, a 2011 Kia Optima is another gem. Hyundai & KIA are sisters under the sheetmetal(on newer vehicles). Woudn't hesitate to buy one! Both were purchased new."

15 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 2005 Sonata new in 2005, with 8 miles on it. It has been garaged since 2005 w/ cover and maintenance done regularly. I have 60,000 miles on it and no problems with anything. I do not hot rod...heavy on take off and heavy braking, not good for any car. I have leather seats and heated too and everything works great. I would like to trade it in for an SUV Hyuandai, but I would not get anything for it. Great paint and body."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals