Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 303 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

excellant veh.

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,766

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very enjoyable auto."

Love it !

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,241

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "None that I have found yet!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car for a steal and it is the best car ever. Leather seats, all elec, runs like a dream. One of my better decisions I made in life. It is very comfortable and rides like a dream. This is the first Hyundai I have had and I am very happy with it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It is the best car!

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the fourth owner of a 2002 sonata. It is a wonderful vehicle. I have never found any critical malfunctions. After the purchase, I only repaired a power window regulator of the right front door. No leaks on any valve and pipes! Even though it is aged, driving noise in high speed over 70 mph is calm. Air conditioning is also fantastic! A/C is really important in summer in Texas. The flow of air is strong, making the inside cooled very quickly. Good performance!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

not bad for the price

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "size, comfort"

Cons: "expensive, gas hog, unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I bought my car is DEC2013 as the second owner and it crapped out and the BRAND NEW timing belt was eaten off breaking the valves. Not happy about that. But kept the car repaired it and then continues to have issues. This is not a gas milage friendly car guzzles!!! and the parts for MINOR repairs are EXPENSIVE! for a cheapy car its great and for a first car but i wouldnt reccomend this to a family who hauls kids. It is roomy and comfortable but lacks reliability."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car never a problem

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fuel economy better than advertised. Around town..24-26 mpg Highway mileage at 60mph 37.6 mpg at 70mph 33.6mpg Car is only being sold because I bought a Hyundai Genesis"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This car has never let me down! I trust Hyundia!

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,756

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, comfortable, smoth ride, nappa leather"

Cons: "Radio needs fixing, no back car charger outlet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is amazing! When I got it in 2003 I couldn't believe the value! When i saw the price I though it wasn't going to last a long time but I didn't mind to much because I only needed it for 4 years but this car is 11 and it continues to be proven strong. I love the wood trim and nappa leather. I got it tuned up a few years ago and I drove it from PA to Texas for 2 days and then another 2 days to come back to PA and I only had to get gas 5 times. It had its timing belt replaced and it needs its radio repaired because every time you hit a bump the radio turns off. This car is perfect for you if you want a affordable used car with a nice interior and great reliability. It also has great trunk space!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good dependable car

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "funn and fast with good gas milage"

Cons: "kind of small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"could be very nice with tlc"

Great vehicle, best in 50 yrs of buying cars

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,880

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great transportation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle ever owned, just put in new front axles,brake pads & rotors on front, exhaust system totally intact, all service records from day 1"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Purchased new, proved very reliable,comfortable.

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Has been a solid car.Fun and won't break bank."

Cons: "Rotors can not be cut. WHY? Matl's need upgrade?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had compliments on car from day #1. Many felt it to be a small Jaguar or Lexus. Has stood the test of time well.Have 160,000 plus miles on it. Biggest expense on car has been cost of brake replacements. Dealer has been great. Never felt like a "cheap" car. V-6 engine quiet and smooth Highly recommended.Would buy it again if possible. Great family car. It's replacement, a 2011 Kia Optima is another gem. Hyundai & KIA are sisters under the sheetmetal(on newer vehicles). Woudn't hesitate to buy one! Both were purchased new."

14 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 2005 Sonata new in 2005, with 8 miles on it. It has been garaged since 2005 w/ cover and maintenance done regularly. I have 60,000 miles on it and no problems with anything. I do not hot rod...heavy on take off and heavy braking, not good for any car. I have leather seats and heated too and everything works great. I would like to trade it in for an SUV Hyuandai, but I would not get anything for it. Great paint and body."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals