Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1997 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.3
Out of 10

Based on 9 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    7.6/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    7.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10

Great car,better engin

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"i baught this car b/c the engin is a dream to work on plus i had a buddy who had spair parts. i fixed it up and it ran like a top never had a problem and actually got 37 mpg i was really happy untill some guy ran a red light and i got hit, good news the air bags work well too"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

It's a V6

By on Monday, July 13, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought this ('97) from brother-in-law who let it sit outside for a year. Just rolled over 150k miles. I've replaced the water pump for the engine and the blower motor for interior vents. Despite being driven hard by all its' owners. It's exactly what I expect from a high-mileage car. And being a V6, acceleration is great! I know it's a sedan "family car", but I tend to drive it like a little sports car. The oil pan is easy to reach without jacking up. However, working on the engine to replace something can be difficult -- i.e. you have to remove the timing belt to get to the water pump. Thank goodness those don't wear out often. I have had the power locks get stuck and want to stay locked/unlocked, just lube it up a little and it's fine"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent Car

By on Friday, August 15, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"My Sonata just rolled over 200k last month & is still going strong. I paid $200 for it, I've had it 2 yrs & have only ever replaced the battery. It has never given me any problems & still does 80 mph on the highway. I'm constantly bragging about it's gas mileage & reliability."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Friday, July 10, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have this car for one and half year now, Only thing i did is oil chnages and some WD40 in windows because they were jam. I even took this car to 300 miles straight no stop and then came back right away another 300 miles and only spend 50 dollars worth of gas so good on gas."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Have low miles right now but car holding up well

By on Sunday, December 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Handles good in the snow. Never got stuck."

Cons: "Not real quiet on the inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Car right now only has 55000 miles but is holding up well. Replaced computer 3 years ago but nothing else major. Car is 16 years old so I consider that a blessing."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals