Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2007 Hyundai Santa Fe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 530 Ratings for the 2007 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Been a great vehicle with a minor frustration

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price, lots of space, comfortable ride"

Cons: "electronics issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe Limited (2WD) was the first car that my wife purchased after she graduated from college. It has 110,xxx miles on it and is going strong. Here is a brief summary of the different aspects of the car. Paint - I've actually been pleasantly surprised with how well the paint has held up. My wife and I have taken it numerous times to brush and brush-less car washes and no scratches have come from that. She did have some scratches on the driver door but I was able to buff those out easily. Every year I have done a full exterior cleaning and protection (i.e. wash, dry, clay bar, cleaner wax, finishing wax) and the paint is as slick as glass. In fact, depressingly, it's smoother than my Infiniti FX35 after it gets the same treatment. The "spoiler" that was dealer installed has faded but I think that was painted by their paint shop and it just isn't the same. Powertrain - We've had the oil changed every 3k-5k miles and haven't had any issues at all. There is no oil leakage. Has quite a bit of power that hasn't seemed to fade. Drivetrain - No issues at all. I believe that the brakes and rotors have been changed once. The transmission fluid has also been changed once. Interior - We have a 70lb Golden Retriever and her claws haven't punctured the tan leather seats in the front or the rear. Every two years I've given the leather a solid cleaning using Zymol product (which a bit expensive but are amazing) and the seats do come completely clean with a bit of work. They feel like new after the leather conditioner has been applied. It is definitely not the quality of the leather that is in my Infiniti but it definitely doesn't feel cheap. The carpets have held up well. We still have the factory carpet mats that are showing a bit of wear but that is to be expected. None of the plastics have cracked and still seem to clean up well. The one minor exception is the clear plastic over the gauge cluster. It has some extremely minor swirl marks from the years of wiping off and cleaning. Electronics - I've saved this for last for a reason. I'll start with the good. The Infinity (brand... not to be confused with my car manufacturer) stereo sounds good and allows for a good bit of adjustment. Window actuators work great and the rear windows go down all the way (which is not the case in my Infiniti). The GPS was relatively accurate... from what I can remember. I say that because we have had nothing but problems from the stereo/navigation screen. It stopped working one morning 6 months after the car was purchased. The dealership replaced it. About a year later, it died again in the same fashion. The dealership replaced it again. Then, just as the electronics warranty ran up, it started having problems again. It didn't completely die this time though. There just seems to be a short in the screen that emits a high pitch whining sound which causes the screen to cut in and out. If you've ever had an intermittent screen on any piece of electronics, that's what it does. It works sometimes (more so in the summer) but in the winter, it just doesn't work very often. We've talked to Hyundai about this and they said that it is out of warranty and we could purchase a new one and, frankly, we have no faith in this component since this is the third one that has been in this vehicle and they've all had problems. So, we just don't use the radio or navigation much. In addition to that, near the end of last winter, the driver side heater stopped working. It just blows cold air. Granted, we don't live in an arctic tundra but it does get cold here and when the heater is blowing in the mornings, the passenger side blows hot air and the driver side is like it's venting from the outside. We have closed off the top vents but there's still the floor vent that doesn't provide a way to close it off. I've researched a solution and have found out it can be a couple of things but it's not likely to be a cheap fix. Summary - Would I buy another Hyundai again? Unequivocally, yes! However, if I were to decide to get the upgraded electronics packages, I would make sure I purchased an extended bumper to bumper warranty. Replacing the GPS unit itself can cost thousands of dollars and currently, they only warranty them for 12 months (it's in the fine print). If you're looking for a used model and the owner says that they haven't replaced that component, then you may be fine."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

A must have!

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable, excellent on gas and runs like a dream. Mine has the 3 rd row seat which hasn't been used as much as I thought but is great for smaller people! This vehicle has made 3 round trips from central Texas to Alberta Canada We have never had any problemson the trips and driving 10-12 hours a day the car remains comfortable"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

LOVE!!

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great SUV!!!! Best Buy!!!!!"

Cons: "USB Port needs special cord :/"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this SUV, I bought it used last year, you can tell by the millage it was not really used. It is good on gas, it is very comfy on long road trips even for my boyfriend who is over 6 feet tall. I love the blue back lights at night. I love all the room it has and storage in the front. Everyone gives me compliments on how it. The ride is really smooth and turns well. The only thing I have yet to try it on is the snow, since we have not gotten any so far this winter. The only thing I do not like about this model is to use the usb port with my phone I have to have a special cord from the manufacturer, and it does not work with newer phones."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever had. Not one problem

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well made, great value and warranty"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 2008 I needed an vehicle to carry stuff for my new home in VA. I bought this vehicle and thought I would keep it for a few years. I love this vehicle. Not one problem. Oil changes and a battery. It still looks like the day I bought it. Everything works, no rattles. It is a pleasure to drive. Good power, great viability.Plenty of room for passengers and cargo. The pearl white paint looks great. my last two vehicles were BMW's. They cost a lot more and were not as reliable. The interior of X3 and 325i were worn pretty bad in just a short time. I kept this car for a long time because it has been so great. However,I am wanting a new toy"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best people, grocery, and dog haulin' vehicle.

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great for short trips and shopping."

Cons: "Have not used it on a lengthy trip over 1 1/2 hrs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This year in particular, 2009, was an excellent year for this vehicle. It just runs and runs with having proper servicing. I checked this model (and year) for the best trouble-free SUV. It has not disappointed me at all. I just recently bought new tires (2014) even though old tires were okay. I felt that it was time."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Santa Fe near Honolulu. See local deals