Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2006 Hyundai Santa Fe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 643 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
 

great car

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only complaint is that it has a rubber timing belt & it's an $800 cost every 60000 miles"

Best vehicle I ever had!!. been driving 43 yrs

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good for all kinds of weather, safe"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am about ready to trade in due to high mileage and am sad to do so due to this having been such a dependable car. besides the usual upkeep and one garage bill for repairs that was about 800 $ for sensors, there was nothing ever wrong with it in 8 years. Very speedy too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is the 1st of 4 Sante Fe's we've had.

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We've had wonderful and dependable service with this Hyundai."

Exceeded expectations and great in bad weather!!!

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "low maintenance and great value for the price"

Cons: "kind of noisy, had to add a tow package $$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was a great deal for the money. I have been really pleased, especially with dealing with horrible road conditions and weather!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

pleasantly surprised

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: high miles, repairs needed

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "well built, reliable"

Cons: "rear seats don't fold flat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I didn't want a Hyundai when I bought this car, but it was a great car I came to love. I'm sorry to see it go. It was very reliable. I had very few problems, none of them significant. The dealership was personable and went out of their way to help me when I needed it. High miles and and my beloved but old and arthritic dog had me looking for a newer, smaller car. I will buy a Santa Fe again in the future without hesitation!"

My Beloved Santa Fe

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, trustworthy, decent mileage for an SUV"

Cons: "Can't think of any at the moment"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 2005. As it approaches its 10th birthday, I'm reluctantly considering trading it in. Only because I think it's a good idea to have something a little more updated and current. I didn't get this to be a "fun" car, but a functional vehicle that could haul family, friends, and dogs. It has more than exceeded my expectations. This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Period. With regular maintenance and a killer warranty, the repair bills have been minimal and the reliability over the top. I still trust it for long road trips, but am using it less because I want to eke out every little bit of mileage that I can. Hyundai did great with this one!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This has been an excellent car with no problems

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 352,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great vehicle, good price and RELIABLE."

Cons: "Leg room a little tight, width wise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new in '06 and use for my business vehicle. Normal maintenance; timing belt, plugs, flushes, etc., No major repairs, just ac compressor, accumulator, condensing coil and radiator, all in the last 100k miles. I don't "granny" drive this vehicle but take care of it. 352k miles, what else is there to say."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Disappointing.

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, nice features"

Cons: "Bad catalytic converters,repairs expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought a 2003 loaded with all the goodies. It started out as a great car--got me through a rough Ohio winter safe and sound. The sound system is awesome with multi disc changer. It is comfortable to drive. The problem came at 151075 miles when the crankshaft sensor went out and the plugs and wires needed replaced. The dealership charged almost $800 for those repairs but the car died soon after. The problem turned out to be clogged catalytic converters--cha ching! This car has 3 catalytic converters and the whole system had to be replace to tune of $1400 for after market parts and non dealer labor. It would have cost $3800 at the dealer. I've owned some real junkers over the years and have NEVER had catalytic converters plug up. Further research revealed that this year of Santa Fe has a tendency for the catalytic converters to fall apart inside and plug up at about 100,000 miles. Had I known this, I never would have bought this car. So buyer beware--if your car starts hesitating intermitantly and losing power while going up hills, that may be a sign that the catalytic converter is falling apart inside and plugging up thus choking the engine. Its' a shame. This would be a nice car. I hope Hyundai has remedied this problem."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great in snow

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We have loved this vehicle. It is the greatest in the snow. We are looking to buy a new one."

Great Vehicle.

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great car, price."

Cons: "Gas mileage a little lower that what I was told."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Gas mileage was not good. 15 local and 19-20 hiway. Great in the winter with all wheel drive. Never ever got stuck or slid out of control. Used to pull a small boat around and never knew it was back there. I liked being higer off the road than a car. Good view looking about with mirrors or just out the windows."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my Santa Fe - in 9 years, no major problems

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, fun to drive - lots of storage space."

Cons: "Gas mileage not fantastic - typical for an SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Will keep my Santa Fe until it dies. With regular service and oil changes, I could very easily go to 230,000 at least. I certainly got my money's worth! Great car."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All around great vehicle"

Cons: "timing chain has to be changed every 50,000"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2001 Santa Fe great vehicle!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Keeps on keeping on

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Realiable, good value, perfect size"

Cons: "Not too much to look at"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I took terrible care of this car including but not limited to not changing the oil for 1.5 years and it is still running! It is falling apart slowly but surely but it is old. Relatively expensive to repair. Air conditioner has gone out on 3 different occasions even when replacing with Hyundai brand! Gave me 6 good years even though I didn't do the same for it! I would recommend Hyundai and their products!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

good reliable car

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, 4WD great in winter, plenty of room"

Cons: "gas mileage not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car a couple years ago used. Contacted previous owner, who had taken excellent care of the car. It had over 100,000 miles on it when I purchased it. I need something more practical because of changes in my family."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice to drive, really unreliable.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice roomy interior, good handling."

Cons: "Really unreliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought my 2003 Santa Fe used with 93,000 miles. I have owned the car for about eight months, and I can't get rid of it fast enough. I paid around 7,000 for it, and spent easily 3,000 in repairs. First the radiator sprung a leak, then it developed a problem where it would just shut off wile driving with out any computer warning codes. Two months later it turned out to be a bad camshaft sensor. Then days after fixing that the steering wrack and pinion broke. It's running for the moment, but when I'm sitting at a stop light it will start idling rough and acting like it wants to die on me. My car could just be a lemon, but I think these cars have a shelf life of 100,000 miles max before they become junk. I think my car spent more time in the shop than on the road. I won't miss it."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great snow car

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,560

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"There is a problem with the accelerator that cannot be fixed. the controls for the seat heaters are in an AWFUL location."

very dependable

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price was great - $16,000"

Cons: "needs one more gear for better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best vehicle I have ever owned due to reliability, virtually no maintenance issues, solid 20mpg, handles very well. Seats could be more comfortable. Love the roof rack, the amount of storage in the rear of the vehicle"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very dependable

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price was great - $16,000"

Cons: "needs one more gear for better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best vehicle I have ever owned due to reliability, virtually no maintenance issues, solid 20mpg, handles very well. Seats could be more comfortable. Love the roof rack, the amount of storage in the rear of the vehicle"

very dependable

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price was great - $16,000"

Cons: "needs one more gear for better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best vehicle I have ever owned due to reliability, virtually no maintenance issues, solid 20mpg, handles very well. Seats could be more comfortable. Love the roof rack, the amount of storage in the rear of the vehicle"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very dependable

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price was great - $16,000"

Cons: "needs one more gear for better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best vehicle I have ever owned due to reliability, virtually no maintenance issues, solid 20mpg, handles very well. Seats could be more comfortable. Love the roof rack, the amount of storage in the rear of the vehicle"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my Santa Fe!

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, hardy, safe, fun to drive"

Cons: "The interior accents are cheap and fall apart/peel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Santa Fe. It's almost 11 years old and by far the most reliable car I've owned, not to mention the most bang for my buck. My only disappointment is that the "chrome" interior turned out to be a glued on facade of chrome, and they have started to warp/buckle/peel in the California sun. Regardless, I'm planning on driving straight to a local Hyundai dealership and getting another Santa Fe when I decide to splurge on a new car. Thanks, Hyundai!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great friend

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car that served me well for thirteen years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Exceptual

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 905,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "Two Cup Holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"No particular options."

244000 miles and still rides well.

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"244000 miles and reliable and comfortable. I take long trips with this care and get reasonable gas milage (better milage when it had less miles). Lots of convenience features and great value for the money. Both my daughters own Sante Fe's and likewise never have any trouble. One daughter has 176,000 and the other has 140,000."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I've loved this car

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive!"

Cons: "I wish I had cruise control."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been wonderful and worry free. I've only done normal maintenance (oil change/tires/brakes/battery) and had the timing belt changed at about 80,000 miles."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

 
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Santa Fe near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details