Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 658 Ratings for the 2001 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

best car I have ever owned

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,394

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it was the perfect car for my needs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Brand new timing belt and serpentine belt, brand new power steering pump and hoses, brand new AC compressor, tires just rotated, brand new windshield."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Solid ride

By on Friday, November 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "V6 has great pickup and passing power"

Cons: "V6 is not great on miles per gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Solid ride means, the leather seats are not too comfortable. Tracks well in curves and on mountain roads. Hope it will last another 100k miles."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Bought it new in 03 and have not been sorry.

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Runs well and rest assured it will for you."

Cons: "Seat sits high, if you are tall not much room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really like the car, bought the LX model and have enjoyed the interior. The draw back is low resale value. Had to replace air conditioner and power steering lines, besides normal matinence."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Excellent Santa Fe!!

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We've owned our Santa Fe for a few years now, I can honestly say, just a great vehicle! Gasoline mileage is a bit high however all other features are outstanding! We drove from Connecticut to Florida uneventful. No oil burn, uses Syn-Blend oil, runs like a champ! Interior and exterior after 10 years is an 8 plus. Great wear on seats and paint still shines like new. All lights still work with the exception of the gear selector lamp is out. Overall, very please with this Santa Fe...Next auto will be a Santa Fe!"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Been very reliable. I bought this vehicle new.

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Have replaced ac motor 2 years ago. Good tires, straight body(never wreaked), new battery"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I hate this car...

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Decent size vehicle..."

Cons: "a money pit"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Have had this car for three years and have done nothing but pour money into it. It's now sitting a repair garage awaiting $3-4000 worth of repairs. We told them no way. That's more than what this car is worth!!! Don't buy...spend your money on something other than a Hyundai!!"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Mileage Says It All

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "getting 24 mpg, roomy"

Cons: "cruise control labors at times"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just made first major repair -- new radiator -- at 204,000 miles. Only other non-routine time in shop was for a stalling recall in 2002. Best vehicle we've ever owned. Only wish back seats would fold completely flat."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great for what it is.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great for the price i paid"

Cons: "need lots of tlc and parts are crazy expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a great car except for it has had a lot of issues with the a/c. I've had to fix a lot with the front end but overall just hit and miss issue."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

paint needs to be buffed out

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I want this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "never drove it"

Cons: "has two cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"cahenged oil at correct intervals"

definitely worth the money

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Inexpensive compared to similar, reliable for 9yrs"

Cons: "fuel inefficient, stopping power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"After 92k miles and 9 years, I've had no major issues. One of the cruise control buttons broke off and the headlights are just starting to get foggy. My only real complaints are that the vehicle is a little lacking in stopping power for one so heavy (I always stay well back and start stopping early) and the fuel efficiency is terrible. This was my second Hyundai purchased new and driven for about 9 years and I'm about to buy my third. I've either been very lucky, or Hyundai builds decent, inexpensive cars."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

everything working - perfect - small cosmetics

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "I just came from MA with no problem"

Cons: "perfect"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the car is perfect"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car. Never spent a dine on repairs.

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A lot of car for the money."

Cons: "Rear view mirror was too large."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very strong engine. Average MPG. Leather seats never got soft. Rear view mirror was too large and in my line of sight. Not the most quiet car. Overall I loved the car and will by another Hyundai without hesitation."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

i have the 3.5 l v6 its a lilttle rough on gas .

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good in snow,plenty of cargo room,cool features"

Cons: "gas milage ,tires have to be bought 4 at a time."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"i bought the car off a friend of the family privately.iv owned the car for 1 year and its been in the shop 1 time for a throttle positioning censor which roughly cost me 275 dollars for full bill.Other then that its great in the snow unbelevable compared to other 4 wheel cars iv driven in the snow.i bought the car with 93k on it for miles and now have 117k.Im a 300 pound man and it has plenty of room and is comfortable so thats not an issue.i own th lx model which had the 3.5 l v 6 in it im currently getting about 21 miles to the gallon.over all its a great vechicle and would buy another one ."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Greatest, Dependable Vehicle I ever Owned

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this SUV on the recommendation of two friends. One let me drive theirs for a day. I love my Santa Fe and am looking forward to a new one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most reliable I have ever owned.

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RELIABLE"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still going strong at 275000. Only routine maintenance ever."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only complaint is that it has a rubber timing belt & it's an $800 cost every 60000 miles"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever had!!. been driving 43 yrs

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good for all kinds of weather, safe"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am about ready to trade in due to high mileage and am sad to do so due to this having been such a dependable car. besides the usual upkeep and one garage bill for repairs that was about 800 $ for sensors, there was nothing ever wrong with it in 8 years. Very speedy too."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is the 1st of 4 Sante Fe's we've had.

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We've had wonderful and dependable service with this Hyundai."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Exceeded expectations and great in bad weather!!!

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "low maintenance and great value for the price"

Cons: "kind of noisy, had to add a tow package $$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was a great deal for the money. I have been really pleased, especially with dealing with horrible road conditions and weather!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

pleasantly surprised

By on Friday, July 04, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: high miles, repairs needed

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "well built, reliable"

Cons: "rear seats don't fold flat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I didn't want a Hyundai when I bought this car, but it was a great car I came to love. I'm sorry to see it go. It was very reliable. I had very few problems, none of them significant. The dealership was personable and went out of their way to help me when I needed it. High miles and and my beloved but old and arthritic dog had me looking for a newer, smaller car. I will buy a Santa Fe again in the future without hesitation!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My Beloved Santa Fe

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, trustworthy, decent mileage for an SUV"

Cons: "Can't think of any at the moment"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 2005. As it approaches its 10th birthday, I'm reluctantly considering trading it in. Only because I think it's a good idea to have something a little more updated and current. I didn't get this to be a "fun" car, but a functional vehicle that could haul family, friends, and dogs. It has more than exceeded my expectations. This is the best vehicle I've ever owned. Period. With regular maintenance and a killer warranty, the repair bills have been minimal and the reliability over the top. I still trust it for long road trips, but am using it less because I want to eke out every little bit of mileage that I can. Hyundai did great with this one!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This has been an excellent car with no problems

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 352,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great vehicle, good price and RELIABLE."

Cons: "Leg room a little tight, width wise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new in '06 and use for my business vehicle. Normal maintenance; timing belt, plugs, flushes, etc., No major repairs, just ac compressor, accumulator, condensing coil and radiator, all in the last 100k miles. I don't "granny" drive this vehicle but take care of it. 352k miles, what else is there to say."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Disappointing.

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, comfortable, nice features"

Cons: "Bad catalytic converters,repairs expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought a 2003 loaded with all the goodies. It started out as a great car--got me through a rough Ohio winter safe and sound. The sound system is awesome with multi disc changer. It is comfortable to drive. The problem came at 151075 miles when the crankshaft sensor went out and the plugs and wires needed replaced. The dealership charged almost $800 for those repairs but the car died soon after. The problem turned out to be clogged catalytic converters--cha ching! This car has 3 catalytic converters and the whole system had to be replace to tune of $1400 for after market parts and non dealer labor. It would have cost $3800 at the dealer. I've owned some real junkers over the years and have NEVER had catalytic converters plug up. Further research revealed that this year of Santa Fe has a tendency for the catalytic converters to fall apart inside and plug up at about 100,000 miles. Had I known this, I never would have bought this car. So buyer beware--if your car starts hesitating intermitantly and losing power while going up hills, that may be a sign that the catalytic converter is falling apart inside and plugging up thus choking the engine. Its' a shame. This would be a nice car. I hope Hyundai has remedied this problem."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great in snow

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We have loved this vehicle. It is the greatest in the snow. We are looking to buy a new one."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle.

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great car, price."

Cons: "Gas mileage a little lower that what I was told."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Gas mileage was not good. 15 local and 19-20 hiway. Great in the winter with all wheel drive. Never ever got stuck or slid out of control. Used to pull a small boat around and never knew it was back there. I liked being higer off the road than a car. Good view looking about with mirrors or just out the windows."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Santa Fe near Honolulu. See local deals