Go

2009 Hyundai Genesis

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 409 Ratings for the 2009 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 82 | Next

One of the best, most fun cars I've owned

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,850

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Awesome acceleration, fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "Track suspension is stiff, OK gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a real car. It is not some sheep in wolf's clothing. There is wolf inside. My Genesis moves, very quickly, and without much effort. If you want to burn rubber, you can. If you just want to go to the grocery store, you can. If you want to drive long distances, you can. In short, it is a car for most drivers. Now, it is not the most comfortable car but not everyone wants a Buick. You can't carry a lot of stuff in it but not everyone wants an SUV. You can only carry 2 adults comfortably, but not everyone wants a mini-van, and my 75 pound dogs have never complained. The styling, inside and out, is beautiful. Lots of smooth, flowing lines. Lots of tech inside. Good visibility. And people do see you. For the money, this is a very good sports car. Take it on the road, take it to the track, just drive it. You'll love it."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

An excellent vehicle with all the bells and whistl

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excess power. Like a Lexus with a 30% discount."

Cons: "I really don't have any cons with this vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A full up luxury midsize vehicle. Has been a dependable performer with not one problem since brand new (now 2 1/2 years old). Shucks, only 7 1/2 years left on the warranty. I traded a Lexus LS430 in on this vehicle and feel like I just got an upgraded version."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great Sports Car

By on Tuesday, March 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great sporty look and classy too. Inside-nice."

Cons: "Ride can be rough/not good in snow, wind, rain."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I truly enjoy my Genesis. It's a fun car with great power. However, it doesn't handle well in snowy, wet or windy driving conditions. A great car as an alternate vehicle but I would not recommend it as a primary mode of transportation, particularly if you reside in an area that has harsh weather conditions. Great interior look with lots of leg room in the front--rather tight for rear seat passengers."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

2010 Genesis 3.8 coupe Track

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Interior quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have this car for 4 years. Not a single problem, Smooth pick up, lots n lots of power. The twin exhust makes a nice throtty and raspy noise, gives you a hint that there is a big V6 under the hood. One thing you should consider, if you live in a state where roads are not good, forget about this car. the ride is stiff & hard what you expect from a sports car. Regular maintance is not that expenside but If you have the Track or R-spec package you are gonna spend some big bucks on tires. Each tires cost you around $250 to $300. Other than that its an awesome car to have."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fantastic Sport coupe

By on Sunday, January 10, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fast, reliable, unique, comfortable, affordable"

Cons: "ESC, some exterior styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"What many reviewers fail to understand is this is not an inline or boxer 4 cylinder, nor is it a V8. This is a v6 coupe that dominates all other v6 coupes under $30k. I think just because this is a Hyundai, reviewers who don't give this car justice have a hard time finding a category to place this car in because it is that unique. For a sub $34k car, the interior is top notch. Materials feel comfy and of quality any where you look. The leather steering wheel is greatly appreciated, and cloth or leather, the seats will keep you gripped comfortably around tight corners. The arm rests are plush and soft to the touch making them comfortable for longer cruises. Visibility is above average for a sports coupe. The rear view mirror comes standard with dimming now, so that makes a big difference at night with headlights coming at you from behind. The exterior styling is great except for one small catch that many either hate or love, and its those fake heat extractors on the hood. If there was just one thing I could fix it would be that. The genesis coupe's front appearance is bold and unique, but it also seems like most love it or hate it. Now for the fun parts. The heart of car pulls strong. Torque comes on fast and hard being NA. Power seams to diminish a little early around the 6000rpm mark on the 8 speed. Speaking of, don't knock the 8spd on this car. Enthusiasts always judge a man based on the number of pedals in the car, but for a car you maybe want to track once in a while and the rest of the time it is your DD, the auto is quick to respond (especially in sport mode) and the automatic rev matching for downshifts is a nice touch for those who aren't the best at it. For the manual at least, the transmission has been beefed up a bit to make up for its last iteration. The rumble in this car from the exhaust is a nice low tone and doesn't wear on the nerves at high speeds on the free way. On that note, there is quite a bit of cabin noise, but trade offs... Either you want a nice quiet ride, or you want to hear this thing sing when you run it out to the red line. One final flaw that isn't a big deal unless you are trying to drift this thing is the ESC is very intrusive, even when disabled. It will cut power to those wheels like no one's business. In summary, this is one fantastic car and if you are looking to get into an affordable, top-notch sports coupe that returns great MPGs, this needs to be on your list of test drives."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 82 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Genesis near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement