Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Hyundai Genesis Coupe Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $22,837 - $23,528.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $25,145

Fair Purchase Price $23,110
Fair Market Range ($22,837 - $23,528)

Invoice $23,955
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 347 Ratings for the 2009 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

This car is the best kept secret around.

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price/value ratio is great"

Cons: "Blue Link, remote start, on-board Map are poor!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2013 Genesis Coupe 2.0T (274hp/automatic) is dynamic when you put your foot down. Rides flat on the corners and pushes you back in the seat from the git-go. I can ride on the Interstate all day at 80mph and still get 28 mpg."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car ever owned. Faster than you think...

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,625

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price and all that you get with that price"

Cons: "back seat best for kids."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

side view

"2013 Hyundai Genesis Coupe 2.0t Premium in Parabolica Blue Metallic Just a awesome car to drive. No issues at all. Dealer has been great. Fun car to drive."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

side view

Very nice for the price. Seems like I stole it!

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks, power, comfort, features, value"

Cons: "Handling, Suspension, what others may think"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Me= 40's middle of the road family man. I was trying to find a family friendly sports car cheap and end up stumbling on the Genesis Sedan as my commuter. It's very family friendly (except non folding rear seats) and the 3.8 is powerful enough to move! Quick take offs are easy with this car. Maneuverability is lacking when compared to my 08 Passat that is on the selling block due to a 4th failed water pump @ 68k mi. & uncooperative dealer. The Genesis is heavier, but larger and faster. Suspension is softer in general but more harsh on big dips. Otherwise the car is so smooth and comfy that I don't really drive aggressively much anymore but still love every second! The regular unleaded fuel mitigates the Passat's better mpg and Premium fuel. Transmission is not as precise and is missing a sports mode. Manual mode is too slow to shift for sports driving though it is the only way to lock into a gear to stay in the power band. My kids love the roomy back seat and were cramped in the VW. The performance it lacks are more than made up for by the features. I now know why some buy luxury instead of all out speed. Ultimate car? No. Ultimate deal? Yes!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Outstanding Value for the Money. ZERO regrets.

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best Value, Reliability, Quality, Best Warranty"

Cons: "NO AWD option, NO foldable back seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2012 Hyundai Genesis R Spec Black Noir AS Continental Tires

"My first car was a 2001 BMW 325CI(coupe) which I loved very much. I decided it was time to upgrade to a sedan and I test drove a wide assortment of automobiles during the research phase. I drove the likes of an Audi A6, Acura TL, Subaru Legacy, Mercedes C class, Saab 9-5, Infiniti G37x and a Lexus GS 350. They were all very fine cars but none had the incredible value of the Hyundai Genesis. I paid $43,000 for the Genesis and it is easily the best purchase I ever made. Positives: The Genesis R Spec sedan I own is FULLY loaded with all the options available for the model. I love Audi but an A6 at the time was offered to me for $55,000+...it is NOT $10,000 better than the Genesis. I really wanted a German auto but the Genesis convinced me otherwise. The combination of power(429 HP), options, top safety rating, quality interior build, pleasing exterior, and 10 year warranty(I paid $1000+ for 10 yr bumper to bumper) cannot be matched at this price. I am somewhat of an audiophile and this car's Lexicon sound system (17 speakers, 7.1, 528 watts) is the best I have ever heard. I played some DVD audio discs and I was blown away by the quality. It is better than anything I have in my house currently and is better IMO than most Audi, Lexus and BMW systems. I haven't tried the B&O system for Audi but that costs $5,900 ALONE. The AC/heater is great; the car's interior is cooled/heated within seconds. Rear and B pillar vents keep the back warm/cool in a hurry. Rear seats are also HEATED. Fronts seats are heated with the driver's seat having a cooling feature as well. The leather quality of the seats is excellent and the button layout of the dashboard and cockpit is terrific. Navigation has been very solid since I have been using it and the screen resolution is sharp. Back up camera and parking sensors work very well. Hands free phone calling works great. Voice recognition works very well but is not perfect. Power folding mirrors included. A quiet ride with minimal road and wind noise when driving on the highway. Negatives: The 2012 Genesis does not have Bluetooth audio streaming which I could certainly use for my iPhone. NO spoken street names(Text To Speech) for NAV. The R Spec's suspension can be a little harsh over rough roads. Front passenger seat does not have cooling option. NO Blind Spot Detection. Navigation screen can be difficult to see when sunlight falls directly on it. Steering can feel a little heavy to some, especially at higher speeds when turning on the highway. Final Thoughts: The Genesis is relatively new since it came out in 2009 and most people are still stuck on badges and brand recognition concerning performance luxury vehicles. Potential buyers have to overlook that this is a Hyundai and realize this is truly an overall amazing car for the money. I feel compelled to write this review also because I recently had a collision incident with the Genesis and my wife and I walked out of the car with only some minor bumps and bruises. I am positive that the Genesis saved us from having more serious injuries and I cannot wait to be driving her again in a few weeks once she is 100% fixed."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

2012 Hyundai Genesis R Spec Black Noir AS Continental Tires

Love this car!

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "road handling, responsiveness, seat comfort"

Cons: "safety belt could be placed a bit lower."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in 2012. Loved it ever since. Most comfortable seating in a sports car. Handles the road amazingly well. Very responsive. Did not have any trouble even though has amazing dealer warranty."

14 people out of 33 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This car can't be beat."

Cons: "Battery drain if car sits for a week is significac"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Genesis sedan with tech and premium package. The 2013 is fantastic. The 8 speed transmission is excellent. I get 23 overall and 28-29 highway. Acceleration is real get up and go. The engine is smooth and revs great. Comfort and fit and finish is tops."

19 people out of 37 found this review helpful

Very spirited 6 cylinder. Roomiest rear seat ever

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been delighted with this car. It was a great value for the money. I owned the E Mercedes and E Lexus prior to this one and the Genesis is as good or better than both for significantly less money."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Huge bargain compared to the germans and lexus.

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Huge bargain compared to the germans and lexus."

best ever

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only demerit is hard suspension"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

great vehical to drive on long drives

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very nice car to drive"

Cons: "resale valve very low compared to cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"average gas mileage is 22 mpg combined"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very nice car. I traded Porsche Boxster for this.

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Options, Speed, Handling, Comfort, Appearance"

Cons: "Back seat and trunk not real large"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own 2013 Grand Touring. This is a fast and comfortable car. I love the navigation, exhaust note, speed, comfort and options. There is no way you can get a better appointed car for the price. I get a lot of looks and positive comments. Mine is Black Noir Pearl with a Brown leather interior. Nice car. I traded a Porsche Boxster in on this and have never regretted the decision. I would have spent double the price to get another Boxster with the same options. I can't wait for the next Generation coupe, I would buy it in a heartbeat!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car - Great value

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Plush luxury interior- A lot of car for the price."

Cons: "Harsh riding on some roads."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Smoky Mountains in the Fall

"Love the styling and features. This car replaced an earlier Toyota Avalon because it had similar features and was much more stylish. Owned for two years with no problems. Comfortable and economical on long trips (Interstate hwy. driving has averaged 31-32 mpg on regular gasoline.)"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Smoky Mountains in the Fall

My best car EVER!

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The V8 is the engine to have, smooth as silk!"

Cons: "Does not get the great reviews it deserves!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, great dealer service. I am only provided with the service I need at a fair price!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

excellant vehicle for the money

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,675

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price price price"

Cons: "everything is fine but the gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"everything i expected but poor gas mileage in the city, highway is fine"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the best, most fun cars I've owned

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,850

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Awesome acceleration, fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "Track suspension is stiff, OK gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a real car. It is not some sheep in wolf's clothing. There is wolf inside. My Genesis moves, very quickly, and without much effort. If you want to burn rubber, you can. If you just want to go to the grocery store, you can. If you want to drive long distances, you can. In short, it is a car for most drivers. Now, it is not the most comfortable car but not everyone wants a Buick. You can't carry a lot of stuff in it but not everyone wants an SUV. You can only carry 2 adults comfortably, but not everyone wants a mini-van, and my 75 pound dogs have never complained. The styling, inside and out, is beautiful. Lots of smooth, flowing lines. Lots of tech inside. Good visibility. And people do see you. For the money, this is a very good sports car. Take it on the road, take it to the track, just drive it. You'll love it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

COUPE COUPE.....not Genesis sedan review people!

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I want this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun, sexy, fast"

Cons: "useless back seats, no backup cam, limited colors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I think this car looks and drives great! But......WHY WHY WHY is there no back-up camera? The low profile and tiny rear window make it very difficult to see when backing up. All of Hyundai's other cars have them, even the much less expensive vehicles. The price also keeps creeping up without much added value, especially in the higher trims."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

FUN to drive, but...

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "FUN to drive, speedy!"

Cons: "Can't carry much or go too far on a tank of gas!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This is a terrific little car for zipping around. Handles well, accelerates well, comfy seating, decent sound. Makes me smile when I see it in the driveway or parking lot. HOWEVER ... practical, it's not. The trunk is tiny. The back seats aren't meant for human beings. While the back seats do fold down, there's a huge metal barrier between the seats and the trunk, with only a small pass-through type opening that's useable for larger items. Don't think you can buy out a store and get it home in this car! Gas mileage is atrocious. I get only 15mpg in in-town driving."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent car

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car, cool, nice line, and fast. Can not ask for any more."

Watch Out European & Japanese Luxury Car Makers!

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Luxury, Value, power, features."

Cons: "Rear seat headroom."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wow! Bought this 2011 4.6 Genesis with 21000 and can't believe the value it represents. Traded my Merc M-Class for it and it's definitely a step up in ride, power, comfort and features! Feature rich like no car in its class, the fit and finish is pleasing and precise. Back seat head room is the only disappointment for those long in the torso. SO impressed!"

Fun vehicle to drive

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Not family friendly, back seat unusable. Love the looks and power, but not an "old mans" car. Powerful 6, prefer 8 cyl engines"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Value, fun to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned a 2001 Acura CL which I really enjoyed, but not as much as the Genesis. I bought the Acura because of the conveniences and quality of the car for the money I paid, but I believe the Genesis offers far more for the money plus the fact that I can put regular gas versus premium for the Acura. I never received too many compliments on the Acura, but I am shocked at the number of people that still come up to me and compliment me on such a beautiful car, and they ask what kind of car is it....and I tell them it's a Hyundai Genesis, and they usually say, "Wow, Hyundai has come a long way...they make beautiful cars now." Another frequent question is how do I like the car, to which I respond, "I love this car." It's heavy and sticks to the ground like some Mercedes and older Jags I've driven. It's powerful, and I've never had a better sound system than the Lexicon 17 speaker DVD player / sound system. The closest one would be a Bose on an older Infinity J30, but this is still so much better. The other good thing is you don't see too many Genesis cars on the road, which means they don't get stolen or taken for parts because there isn't the same demand there is for something like a Camry. I hope it stays that way. Unfortunately, I think people will start to figure the Genesis out and start buying a lot more."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

LOVE IT

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "most car for the money. Quiet, smooth drive"

Cons: "seat belt is not comfortable for ME"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. The handling is outstanding. It is quiet and feels safe. There is so much leg room and storage room. People stop me all the time and tell me how beautiful the car is. My only complaint is the driver side seat belt hits me in the wrong spot. I am short and have a hard time with this issue anyway. It is adjustable--but not enough for me. Otherwise, the car has been a joy to own."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

An excellent vehicle with all the bells and whistl

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excess power. Like a Lexus with a 30% discount."

Cons: "I really don't have any cons with this vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A full up luxury midsize vehicle. Has been a dependable performer with not one problem since brand new (now 2 1/2 years old). Shucks, only 7 1/2 years left on the warranty. I traded a Lexus LS430 in on this vehicle and feel like I just got an upgraded version."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It was worth the upgrade from the 2009 4.6 Genesis

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "upgraded toys, the 5.0 is a rocket, long warrenty"

Cons: "Paddle shift, 235 tires too small if you push it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Mrs. was due for an upgrade, after 5 years of 2009 4.6 trouble free ownership, she decided she like to keep it after all, especially as it only had 45000 miles. With the current offers on the outgoing model, it was too tempting to resist, I got a nice white R-Spec and will do another fully loaded upgrade in couple of years to the new model. With a premium fuel, K&N filter & full synthetic oil change (if one does not do this, to my ears the 5.0 sound like a diesel engine), this thing is a wolf in sheep clothing. I have no doubt it can do 0-60 in 4.7... With all the included toys (way too many to list here) the remote start/lane departure/Adaptive Cruise control, etc., I suppose the other toys (HUD / Adaptive suspension / Pedal shift / self parking) will just have to wait a little while longer.. ;) I have a short work commute, so MPG is not a deal breaker (hence the R-Spec), but all I can say, is even the base 3.8 model will beat anythings in the same price point (with the current incentives on the 2013 and 2014 models). If you in the market for a new car, and the 'badge' is not deal breaker for you, give the Genesis a quick test drive, you will most likely love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car ever

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great mileage"

Cons: "too low to exit easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best car ever"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details