Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2012 Hyundai Elantra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 266 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next

Not too shabby!

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, pep"

Cons: "Road noise? Can't really think of any.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the first car I've ever had payments on. I bought it used with 36k (mostly highway) about 3 months ago and I am still so happy with it. I've been used to big rugged SUVs with 13mpg so this was a huge change. The gas mileage isn't quite as high as what I have read, but considering I fill up HALF as much and the cost is significantly less, I am not making a fuss. The road noise is a bit more than I'm used to, since I am closer to the ground.. But again, I'm not making a fuss. My main concern was price and gas mileage and this car has kept me very happy. I'm 5'10" but surprisingly I don't feel cramped in this car. I've seen some pretty nasty reviews on this car, but maybe I'm just easy to please and laid back, but I have been very happy with this purchase."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great handling car with super gas mileage

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage, comfy seat, agile steering"

Cons: "non found as yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new 2013 and now have 21000 miles on it. Haven't down anything to it except oil changes. Get 38 to 40mpg on the highway. Steady city driving brings it down to 29+ on occasion. I am 6'1" and the driver's seat fits like a glove. Most comfortable seat I have ever experienced. Car is very nimble during rush over traffic in Las Vegas. Has pretty good pick-up speed for a 4 cal. No complaints and will keep this gas sipper for a long time. I can't believe the negative reviews I am reading."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Bad in Snow

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "value for the $, lots of conveniences"

Cons: "poor winter traction, road noise, underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I leased this vehicle & its just ok. It is really bad in the snow/winter. My tires spin constantly w/no traction & am unable to make it up my driveway if there is more than a dusting of snow. Overall, nicely equipped car for the money. The car is underpowered & passing ability stinks. Will probably switch to Subaru for AWD or a better front wheel drive option."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

2014 Elantra SE, manual transmission

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, roomy, zoomy."

Cons: "Dead pedal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just before driving her home for the first time.

"I purchased this vehicle new. Compared to 3 others in its class but this one had everything I wanted at a great price. Comparable leg room to 2014 Corolla, larger than the others - Mazda3 and Dart. Has about the same amount of zoom as the Mazda, but roomier. I commute almost 80 miles per day and am comfortable the entire time. The ONLY thing that I have found that could be improved upon is the dead pedal, it just isn't tall enough for a size 12 men's. The hard rear seatbacks are great for protecting from kid's feet. I love driving a manual again! Averaging 38 mpg."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Just before driving her home for the first time.

Buyer Beware

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I don't own this car

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "good value, sporty exterior, nice dash lights"

Cons: "extremely uncomfortable, no tight steering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car less than a month ago and already have buyer's remorse. It was my first time buying a car so I have learned a lot about the whole car buying process. DO NOT allow the salesman in the test drive. Ask if you can take the car home for atleast a weekend. That way you will know if you really can drive this car. This is the most uncomfortable car I have ever driven. I am 5'2 and have never had a problem wit a car seat. The seat juts out and hits my knees at a very painful angle. I am literally in pain if I drove over 30 minutes. There really isn't a place to rest your arms if you are short like me. Also, the windows have started irriating me. They come up pretty high and I do not feel like I have a good view around me. This might be a moot point if you are taller than me, but be advised if you are on the shorter side. I drove a Maxima for almost 12 years and realize this is a superior car. I should have just stuck with Nissan."

7 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Elantra near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details