Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1995 Hyundai Accent

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.3
Out of 10

Based on 84 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    7.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.0/10
    Styling
    7.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Awesome car, economical, no major problems

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Economical, reliable"

Cons: "No frills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Great city car-35 mpg, easy maneuvering, good visibility, good cargo capacity (up to 2000 lb). OK on highway (been to 15 States and Canada). I bought it for function - and it has been great. Takes me from A to B economically and hatchback design enables me to haul lots of stuff. Newer models stress fashion over function and do not suit my need - so I still use the 1998 Accent."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

DEPENDABLE WITH NO EXTRA MAINTENANCE.NO RATTLES,

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "GREAT PRICE"

Cons: "EASILY BLOWN AROUND ON HWY"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"HAS NEVER FAILED ME, EXCELLENT 2ND CAR"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

i really like this csr good on gas

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Done"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

i really like this csr good on gas

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Done"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

i really like this csr good on gas

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Done"

i really like this csr good on gas

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Done"

i really like this csr good on gas

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Done"

cheap convenient for a while

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "good value"

Cons: "quick to deteriorate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"The interior of this car fell apart and could not be repaired. The paint finish became spotty, and the repairs mounted as the years went by."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

One of the best cars ive ever owned

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "excelent gas mileage,cute shape,practicle,reliable"

Cons: "dash cracks,valve seals wear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Really cheap in parts,lasts very long,ive had like 10 of these in the past,never get bored of them,my advice is to buy a 5 speed manual one because automatic transmissions on them arent 100% reliable,but everything else is cute and perfect for every day driving."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

a lot of bang for the buck.

By on Thursday, November 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 226,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cheap running car."

Cons: "Interior door handles break easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 96 Accent with 63k on it in 05 for $2000. Now have 226k on it. Cheapest running car I have ever owned. I drive 40 miles each way for work every day and it has never let me down. The only major repairs I have done was some suspension work recently. 1 battery, 2 sets of front brakes, 1 set of rear shoes, 1 set of plugs and wires. Still has the original starter, alternator, clutch and water pump. I have, however, replaced the driver's interior door handle a few times. All around a very durable little car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Tuesday, February 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "CHEAP EVERYTHING + GREAT VALUE = GREAT CAR"

Cons: "Passenger leg room is limited"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My sister bought this car new and has passed it down to me. she has never had any major repairs done on it. the only major repair was that the charcoal canister went out and ended up being a $500+ repair after labor and parts and such. the gas mileage has been 35-46 mpgs depending on where i drive. this car is a great car if you want reliability. the insurance is cheap gas is cheap. its semi comfortable on long drives."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

NOTHING FANCY BUT DEPENDABLE & CHEAP

By on Saturday, November 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Affordable..Good gas mileage.. Relatively reliable"

Cons: "Cheap interior..Rides like a go-cart"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned the 1997 GL model for almost three years. Gets good gas mileage (32 mpg combined) and has been reliable. Small and easy to drive even in snow and ice. Inside and outside door handles are cheap plastic and will break but are relatively easy to replace. Comparable to a Dodge Neon...nothing fancy but will get you to point a to point b."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great, Reliable, Best First Car!

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this car is so reliable! i have had it for 2.5 years and i love it! its adorable and small in size, so its super easy to squeeze into small parking spots. the turning radius is AWESOME! you almost never have to do a 2-point turn around. it may seem small from the outside, and having only 2 doors usually is an inconvenience, but as soon as you sit inside, you see that it is actually REALLY comfy and spacious. driving this car is a breeze, it is not too sensitive nor too tough on the pedals. it gets awesome gas mileage and has about a 9 gallon tank, so long commutes won't kill your wallet. the hatchback trunk is much larger than a regular- sized car's trunk. you can also pull the back seats forward, pull the shelf off that rests in the back, and have a trunk big enough to carry a beach cruiser bike or two! the only inconvenient thing I found about this car is that it has only two cup holders, and they are very small (only fitting small cups or regular sized cans). overall this is a GREAT car!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Can't beat the MPG's

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I don't own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "MPG's"

Cons: "Feels like my but drags on the road."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great MPG's and exellent work car. Sits really low (don't like that with long legs) But in these times of HIGH GAS PRICES I wont complain too much."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Lasted me the longest!

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Lasted me a long time for the price I paid for it."

Cons: "door handles are plastic and they break easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I paidno more the $4500 for this car in 2006. It has lasted me 7 years and it is still kickin'! I havnt had to many problems with this car. The down fall of my car is the make of the exterior. The plastic door handles and the thin medal it is easy for dents, dings, and breakages. Other then a couple dents and mechanical problems with the door handles this car has been great!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, very reliable, cute, runs and runs!"

Cons: "cheap cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my car when it had just over 120000 miles on it and it ran very well.. Within the past year i have put 24000 miles on it and it still is running great! I do take care of my vehicles and this one is very easy to care for. great for your money, very reliable. I live in Central Oregon and my family lives in the valley, so i drive over the mountain on average 20 times a summer. This car is GREAT. Its my first car and i plan to keep it for a very long time."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The best little car I've ever enjoyed driving

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best value, low price, dependable, great on gas"

Cons: "Seats need a little more padding"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Positive: My Accent was purchased as a commuter vehicle to avoid putting miles on our more expensive SUV and: great gas mileage; comfortable leg room in front; comfortable leg room in back unless front seat is pushed all the way back; surprising power; steers like a sports car; can turn on a dime; parking is easy; the only mechanical problem occurred at 18,000 miles, and the warrenty was honored without hesitation. Negative: Seats could use a little more padding; the side mirrors could be larger; tape cassette was standard (CD player should have been standard in my opinion); tinted windows were extra."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Good overall vehicle

By on Thursday, October 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,002

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Ran good for the last 8yrs"

Cons: "parts are not cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 8yrs now. Normal wear and tear, good fuel mileage, low oil consumption, very good going through the snow. Doesn't take the bumps very well the only real down fall. Does turn on the dime and very easy to parallel park. Overall good car, 3rd set of brakes on the front, 2nd set of brakes on the back, 2nd set of tires, 3rd alternator, 2nd battery, 3rd set of spark plugs all in 8yrs. Alternator is a pain to change, have to remove the right front tire and move the radiator over to remove the alternator. Parts are also not cheap to replace especially sensors. Good little car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable and economical

By on Thursday, September 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, easy and cheap to fix."

Cons: "An accident would likely destroy this car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome gas mileage and very reliable. 172k miles and still going strong with strong compression and no oil consumption. Very simple engine makes it easy to repair for a do-it-yourselfer. I always find at least 10 of these in the junk yard to get parts. Looking at the odometers of the junkers tells me they last on average about 150K miles. Run quality synthetic oil and change the timing belt on time and there should be no issues. Problem with very slow gas filling was solved by replacing canister shut-valve and replacing canister filter. Takes gas full speed now. Wouldn't want to get in an accident with this car, but it is an awesome freeway commuter."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best investment I ever made

By on Thursday, August 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "MPG, MPG, MPG"

Cons: "Wouldn't want to collide with anyone - it's a tin can."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it used for $6300 10 years ago, and have had no significant problems with it. Keep up with regular maintenance and it is an excellent commuter car. Mine has no AC which stinks and the struts were toast at 90K. But I can't say enough what a great car it's been. Even on long road trips from WA to MT, no probs. With good snow tires it also does well in slick conditions. Surprisingly roomy considering I'm 5'11" and often have several adult passengers. Overall, a tin can with a very reliable engine and great mileage."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great little car

By on Thursday, August 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Great little car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Runs great. It has speed and pick up. I just change oil and do the timing belt every 60,000 miles and it goes."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicles ever

By on Thursday, August 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,030

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price love driving a 5 speed"

Cons: "None as far as I'm concerned"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great little car. Used for commuter car and never had a problem."

goood driving on long drives awesome ac

By on Wednesday, August 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very good car for wat i paid for it i kind of got ripped off but its a good car i would recomend it for a first car or atown car"

Extreme gas milage

By on Thursday, July 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "drivers seat needs more comfort, seat bar wears out cover"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"perfect in snow, great for long distance, lots of storage room"

Most Reliable I Ever Owned

By on Monday, March 28, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I've owned a '97 accent for the last 4 years and put about 100,000 miles on it. I have to say this is the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. The only part I've ever replaced on the vehicle is the alternator! The vehicle currently has about 205,000 miles on it. It's never left me stranded. The only bad thing I find about the car is the cheaply made door handles. They break fairly easy. But mechanically a well built car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Accent near Honolulu. See local deals