Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2012 Honda Pilot

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 301 Ratings for the 2009 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Good overall value, great in winter

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pros: value, reliability, size, comfort, and, best of all, performance in snowy/icy road conditions. Winters are long here. We get lots of snow and road conditions are often challenging for lesser vehicles. I yet to find a road, hill, or driveway, that the Pilot can't navigate. My last car was a 4WD 4Runner. The Pilot is far superior in the winter. Also, I like the fact that Honda doesn't nickel and dime you to death by making optional features that should be standard on a vehicle in this price range, like climate control. Much more bang for your buck when compared to the Highlander. Cons: gas mileage, inconvenient location of some dashboard controls, such as gas cover release."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very much like the Pilot.

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Space, design, extra seating, ride."

Cons: "Tin sounding when shutting door and road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall, good ride. Great for a larger family or for when the grandparents want to take all the grandkids to the zoo! Comfortable ride and roomy."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Rough, choppy ride--road and wind noise very high

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "will easily hold 5 golfers and 5 golf bags"

Cons: "cannot hold a decent conversation above 35 m p h"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I like everything about this car except it has a choppy ride and too much road and wind noise"

46 people out of 83 found this review helpful

4wd model great in snow and for towing 20 ski boat

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "bulletproof reliability and construction"

Cons: "road noise on rough surfaces"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic snow/ice car used two years in central Arkansas. Pulls 3500 pound boat easily."

29 people out of 50 found this review helpful

Low temperature tire sensor is poor

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"low tire sensor does not function properly in very cold weather. so we will move to south Texas and avoid the cold tempatures"

19 people out of 39 found this review helpful

Love My Honda

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "It is spacious, very stable on the road"

Cons: "boxy, tin sounding when shutting door road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my Pilot. The inside design has not changed much from my 2007 except the placement of the shift lever. The outside design is not as sleek looking as it could be and is boxy looking. The visibility is very good. . I do feel the vehicle is not as well made as previously owned Hondas. I use it for work so the access is very good for the back hatch. I have had 2 Pilots and 3 CRV's If I did not travel as much as I do, I would have the CRV because it is better on gas and also a smaller vehicle for around town. Overall I love my car."

14 people out of 31 found this review helpful

SOLID RIDE, EASY TO MANEUVER CITY OR HIGHWAY

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"PROS: COMFORTABLE RIDE, ROOM FOR MANY PASSENGERS OR LARGE AMOUNT OF CARGO. BEAUTIFUL INTERIOR WITH ADEQUATE CUP HOLDERS. REASONABLY PRICED. REMOTE TAILGATE IS A BIG HELP. CONS: GAS MILEAGE, ROAD NOISE, BOXY DESIGN, THIN LEATHER SEATS"

51 people out of 78 found this review helpful

Transmission leak / Cv boot leak

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought the SUV Brand new as soon as I brought it home it was leaking Transmission fluid it was repaired but I still saw some white fluid leaking. I brought it in again was told it was my imagination just paranoid. I brought it in for an oil change years later and was told my CV boot and was leaking. I don't know what to do at 38,000 miles now it is not covered under warranty. Besides these two problems I love this SUV. The third row seat is not for the claus·tro·pho·bic. I have 5 kids the interior is impossible keep clean. Gas guggler"

21 people out of 33 found this review helpful

Very smooth ride on long trips!

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very smooth ride! Great in the snow!"

Cons: "third row seating is a little difficult to get to."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned Honda's pretty much all my audult life. Love the dependability of a Honda, and low maintenance. This Pilot drives like a dream on the Highway. Very smooth, 22 MPG and all the bells and whistles."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Extremely solid, quality car. EX with 4 wheel Dr.

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality, quite, feeling of weight. Good gas milage"

Cons: "None really"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ok, the square looks are not for everyone. I didn't buy for looks alone. The engine is very quite even at idle. Have had the car for over two years, and have only taken the car in for oil changes and to rotate tires. Everything still works. I have had zero problems with it. Rides soft, which is why wife wanted it. Quite well made car, made of quality products. I consider it a very good buy. The phrase "it's a Honda" says it all."

38 people out of 66 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Pilot near Honolulu. See local deals