Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2008 Honda Pilot

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 876 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Very reliable, comfortable and driveable vehicle.

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fit and finish, comfort, quality, reliability"

Cons: "Price, mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my 2006 Pilot used in Sept of 2012 with 45,000 miles. Since then, I put another 45,000 miles on it without a single issue. I live in West Chester PA and drove it to New York, Cape Cod, Boston, Charleston, SC and many, many trips to the Poconos. Only complaint is gas mileage. It does OK on the highway at 23mpg, but really sucks (literally) in city and in-town driving at 17mpg. All-in-all, I would buy another one in spite of their price because the quality and reliability is worth it and Honda banks on that! My opinion is that they can price their vehicles high based on the excellent reliability and quality ratings. But unfortunately for Honda, its competitors are catching up very quickly with more reasonably priced vehicles with very comparable reliability and quality."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle purchase ever!

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable & best SUV mileage & cargo space"

Cons: "UGLY!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This ugly Honda Pilot has been incredibly reliable! She was purchased in 2007 with $53K miles. I've had regular maintenance (I.e., oil changes). For the entire time the ONLY need has been to replace the battery. Now the transmission has gone out. Considering the great history I decided to salvage one from LKQ w/ a warranty & place it in my vehicle. Purchase & installation were $1,800 (used transmission, new starter, transmission oil, & installation from a neighborhood-mechanic (HUGE money saver)). Next step is to get the timing belt changed. This vehicle is ugly as all get-out! However, it's the best vehicle I've owned. If it looked better I'd purchase the newer version. I'm a woman who has little to no technical competence. It was frustrating with other vehicles that often had mechanical failures. I HIGHLY recommend this vehicle! If you take care of it, it will take care of you! It has stood up to Honda's excellent reliability reputation. As a matter of fact, Honda's are so reliable when I was looking for a transmission I could hardly find one! They're not in the salvage yards! Time & time again I was told Honda's are so reliable the junk yards don't have many of them!! Mine had to be shipped from another state! That's proof of the incredible workmanship."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I will miss my sub very much.

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,150

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "best car I ever had,"

Cons: "I retire,need something smaller ;portable gps."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"side running bars new tires (less than 300 mi )new battery,roof track and cross bars,sits 5 adults 3 children,engine maintain with Castrol oil , new cab.air filter ,new breaks disc and calipers, fog light,6 cup holders,cassette and cd player,heated from sits two control,leather,ac and heat on rear,EXL 4x4 VMt Tras.Much more."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My best vehicle purchase ever....

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 317,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability,"

Cons: "Eats tires. Get them at Cxxxtco 4 best warranty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded in a Honda Element that I had purchased new in 2006 on a 2005 Honda Pilot with 9000 miles. I needed something with a better ride and more cargo space. I put over 35K miles per year on my vehicle and from every aspect of ownership, ride, reliability, usability, my 2005 Pilot exceeded all of my expectations. Still have the original engine & transmission. As far as MPG, I average 20 mpg regularly, driving at 65-70 mph on local highways. I've kept the maintenance schedule plus a few brake changes & several sets of tires. My tires usually last only 35K miles...but I buy them at Cxxxco and they perform all my scheduled rotations and rebate the difference from the published warranty. My wife hit a deer last fall and the insurance company totaled it due to the mileage. I bought it back from them, replaced the grill, fender, radiator, headlights and grill guard and put it back on the road....I'm confident that it will roll over 500,000 miles for me."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very smooth, reliable, quiet, great car to own!"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have my Pilot for close to 8 years and it is the best vehicle I've ever owned! Very reliable, when I get ready to buy a new car, I will buy another pilot!! I do the usual things, oil changes and use synthetic oil! I'll never own another car!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Pilot near Honolulu. See local deals