Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2005 Honda Pilot

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 875 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Best vehicle purchase ever!

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable & best SUV mileage & cargo space"

Cons: "UGLY!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This ugly Honda Pilot has been incredibly reliable! She was purchased in 2007 with $53K miles. I've had regular maintenance (I.e., oil changes). For the entire time the ONLY need has been to replace the battery. Now the transmission has gone out. Considering the great history I decided to salvage one from LKQ w/ a warranty & place it in my vehicle. Purchase & installation were $1,800 (used transmission, new starter, transmission oil, & installation from a neighborhood-mechanic (HUGE money saver)). Next step is to get the timing belt changed. This vehicle is ugly as all get-out! However, it's the best vehicle I've owned. If it looked better I'd purchase the newer version. I'm a woman who has little to no technical competence. It was frustrating with other vehicles that often had mechanical failures. I HIGHLY recommend this vehicle! If you take care of it, it will take care of you! It has stood up to Honda's excellent reliability reputation. As a matter of fact, Honda's are so reliable when I was looking for a transmission I could hardly find one! They're not in the salvage yards! Time & time again I was told Honda's are so reliable the junk yards don't have many of them!! Mine had to be shipped from another state! That's proof of the incredible workmanship."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

I will miss my sub very much.

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,150

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "best car I ever had,"

Cons: "I retire,need something smaller ;portable gps."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"side running bars new tires (less than 300 mi )new battery,roof track and cross bars,sits 5 adults 3 children,engine maintain with Castrol oil , new cab.air filter ,new breaks disc and calipers, fog light,6 cup holders,cassette and cd player,heated from sits two control,leather,ac and heat on rear,EXL 4x4 VMt Tras.Much more."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My best vehicle purchase ever....

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 317,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability,"

Cons: "Eats tires. Get them at Cxxxtco 4 best warranty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded in a Honda Element that I had purchased new in 2006 on a 2005 Honda Pilot with 9000 miles. I needed something with a better ride and more cargo space. I put over 35K miles per year on my vehicle and from every aspect of ownership, ride, reliability, usability, my 2005 Pilot exceeded all of my expectations. Still have the original engine & transmission. As far as MPG, I average 20 mpg regularly, driving at 65-70 mph on local highways. I've kept the maintenance schedule plus a few brake changes & several sets of tires. My tires usually last only 35K miles...but I buy them at Cxxxco and they perform all my scheduled rotations and rebate the difference from the published warranty. My wife hit a deer last fall and the insurance company totaled it due to the mileage. I bought it back from them, replaced the grill, fender, radiator, headlights and grill guard and put it back on the road....I'm confident that it will roll over 500,000 miles for me."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very smooth, reliable, quiet, great car to own!"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have my Pilot for close to 8 years and it is the best vehicle I've ever owned! Very reliable, when I get ready to buy a new car, I will buy another pilot!! I do the usual things, oil changes and use synthetic oil! I'll never own another car!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

You might want to think twice!

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice interior, rides nice, passenger seating"

Cons: "BAD MPG, Check engine light frequently comes on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Because of the seemingly high ratings, 8 passenger, and what Honda had listed at the estimated MPG...I thought I would purchase the 2006 (used)! I get nowhere near the 18 MPG as stated by Honda as the LOW MPG you will get. I am getting at the top....14 MPG (and that is highway and city). This is horrible gas mileage!!! I am a conservative driver too! I would not have purchased this vehicle knowing it gets worse gas mileage than an 8 cylinder SUV!!! Check engine light comes on frequently too!!! It says it is the catalytic converter, had it into a mechanic and was told there is nothing wrong with any of the cats or the O2 sensors??? Reset the system, a week later the engine light came back on."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very good truck, reliable & economic

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, never will let you down"

Cons: "leather tends to crack"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck... never have a single problem. Affordable maintenance. High quality over all. I’m very satisfied with my purchase. :-)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Outside of the gas mileage this car is AWESOME!

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car that I have ever owned. We bought it when it was 3 years old and have driven it over 175,000 miles since with little to no maintenance outside of regular oil changes and tires, etc. I will definitely be looking for a newer one once it's time to retire this one. Highly Recommend!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Easiest car to service I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"200,000 miles of trouble free driving! Great value & all wheel drive worked great. Only criticism is downhill gearing not suitable for mountain travel--doesn't hold back like I would like. Great dependable & serviceable car."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Great Car- but had some electrical issues

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 232,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable, grew with the family, safe"

Cons: "recalls, gas consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car- Never had any accidents, or major failures. The 2004 had 6-8 recalls for various electrical problems, which never effected me. After 232K miles- her transmission gave out. It's not worth the repair but the Honda 2004 gave me 11 years of driving excellence!!! Thanks Honda!"

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Pilot near Honolulu. See local deals