Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2004 Honda Pilot

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 860 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Owned for 12 years with no repairs.

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Super dependable"

Cons: "Too much road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our first time owning a non american car. Best one ever."

Best bang for your buck

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's everything an SUV should be."

Cons: "3rd row could have been bigger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Me and my wife have owned this car for about 6 years now and it has been nothing but good to us, we have taken it on many trips and has never let us down. We bought this car in 08 with about 20k miles and we have done the rest, this car has been driven hard from the start I actually drive it like an off road vehicle and has never let me down I even have towed tons of stuff and it pulls even better than some of these pickups. My wife still loves it and doesn't want anything that doesn't compare to it but i think is time for a new one. I'm not sure if we're going to wait for the next gen pilot or we are going to get the Acura MDX witch is basically the same except with a suit on. lol I really recommend this vehicle for someone with a family or anyone looking for a nice reliable SUV."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I would buy this vehicle again and again

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Feel safe when driving or riding in."

Cons: "Cloth seats, never again."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned. On our trip from NY to AZ, vehicle performed beautifully city and highway."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,672

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable to drive, great 4WD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for about 9 years and I absolutely love it! We have taken many road trips with a car full of people and we've never had any issues. It is wonderful in the snow and rain. I love the flexibility of the fold down seats so you can arrange it however you want, I would highly recommend it! My mom bought the same one but with leather seats and a sunroof and she wishes she would have bought the same one as me! Great vehicle!"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I love my Honda Pilot

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "arm rests would b nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a V-6, It gets apx 26 mpg My husband had a BMW & when we drove my Pilot he would get scratch at a stop sign, because it had such get up & go. Plus 6 seats in the back with shoulder straps. The seat in the cargo back are not very comfortable. But fine for children. Road noise is bad, but it is the most car for your money...If I haven't totaled it hitting a deer, I was looking forward to driving 300,000 miles : )"

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, dependable, easy to drive, comfortable."

Cons: "Gas milage not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it the "Iron Elephant" but it drives like a car. Goes ANYWHERE in all kinds of weather and road conditions. Very reliable, have spent next to nothing on repairs other than maintenence. (160K+ miles.) Well built, for an older vehicle it has surprisingly few little glitches. Very roomy for camping and road trips. Gas milage is not great, but hey it's an SUV. A beast in snow. Love this car, plan to keep it till it dies which will probably be a long time."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One fantastic purchase is all I can say.

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fufilled our needs emencely."

Cons: "No heated seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We were one of the first family's to own a Piolet in our area. We had several people tell us that they would not purchase anything that had not been on the market for long. We said we were partial to Hondas and that no other SUV caught our attention like this one did. My wife has been the main driver of this vehicle. We do not trade vehicles very often so when we go shopping we do our home work up front. This Piolet has been garage kept for 9 years . Now my garage is overloaded and we are unable to park it in there which has my wife a little perturbed. We have had several large snow falls since 2003 and each time I would take the Piolet to work and I have been nothing but impressed . This Piolet is AWD and I have never had to put it in AWD but one time and that was in sand. It pulled right out right away. In snow I was going every where the 4WD's were going and then some. I was impressed."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Most reliable and comfortable car I've ever owned

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, safe and practical."

Cons: "Road noise, wears tires unevenly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a comfortable, reliable and safe car. It holds up to 8 passengers and has towing capacity too. It is hands down the best car I've ever owned. It practically drives itself."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Good value, dependable,

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safe, fun to drive, roomy"

Cons: "no automatic headlight feature or temp gauge,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car. 2008 is so far the best of Pilots for recall problems, etc. Got in 2009 at a great price. Don't need the 4WD feature."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable.

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable, easy to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage a little lower than i expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"dependable. Used auto for transportation of school kids. Never had a breakdown in 4 yrs. of doing so."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car has taken me on 2000 mile drives thru US

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun"

Cons: "Not adjustable dor leg room in 3rs row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought it brand new and has now 244,000 miles. Never fails, drives awesome in open country hwys in UT and MT where you can go 100 mph and handles great. Easy in traffic too. I think is a keeper, we did put new transmission and minor worn out parts."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

The easiest and most comfortable drive ever!

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: down sizing

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've just sold our 2005 as we are new empty nesters. The pilot has been a safe drive in any weather condition. Both children learnt to drive with the Pilot and used it extensively. Have not had any major problems regarding maintenance, although we always took it back to our dealer for regular oil changes etc., I have owned several cars but the Pilot along with my old MG Midget have been my most favorite ones to drive. We had the leather seats which were a dream to clean up especially when the kids were young and transporting muddy dogs and horse stuff in the trunk. I already miss driving it, but I know it'll serve its new owners well. A great vehicle that has been reliable and maintenance free."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

No reliability problems. Quality automobile.

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe, roomy, and good highway car. Great 4WD."

Cons: "Steering is a bit ponderous. Acceleration is slow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Would purchase again."

Best car we have owned. Minor maintenance reliable

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Few repairs"

Cons: "Seats wore out too soon."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great car. We did some maintenance at 200,000 miles like motor mounts and timing belt over all nothing major. I highly recommend this vehicle. It probably has a lot more miles in it still."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great family vehicle and handy."

Cons: "Little too tall for this 4'10" retiree!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I don't need a car this big any more - its 8 passenger. Has gray leather interior with 3rd row seating. Very comfortable riding vehicle and very handy having the fold down seats."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

gas milage not so great

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great on long trips"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"no coment"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

From now on, I will always own a Pilot!

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is by far, the best vehicle we have ever owned! We have owned our first Pilot for over 9 years. It has been reliable in all weather/ANY roads! The interior pockets and compartments were surely designed by a woman, particularly a mom, because they are so well placed for the many things that a woman/mom has to have with her. It is luxurious yet capable of hauling lumber. WE have 'sold' 10 Pilots to friends just through conversations about ours. I truly will always own a Pilot."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This has been a very reliable vehicle

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a great vehicle for me. The DVD system kept my young son occupied during long trips."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Good family vehicle

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Not impressed with the braking - but the comfort and convenience of all the features make it enjoyable to drive and the gas mileage is not bad all all. Love the 3rd row seating."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

out standing car

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun safe got get up and go"

Cons: "could be a little better on gas 20 hi way"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"not afraid to drive this car anywhere in the usa"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY HONDA PILOT. 140k MILES. NO PROBLEMS.

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "VALUE IS BETTER THAN ANY CAR IN ITS CLASS."

Cons: "CANT RETRIEVE ITEMS THAT FALL BETW SEAT AND CONSOL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I AM A HONDA FAN. I HAD AN ODYSSEY AND NOW THE PILOT, AND I WILL CONTINUE BUYING PILOTS. IT IS RELIABLE, COMFORTABLE AND EFFICIENT."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle. Very comfortable and spacious.

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Only drawbacks are only one power seat, the driver's, no fifth door release on inside and no remote lock/unlock for fifth door. If price is right I will definitely look into buying another Pilot."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing car

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles well. Quiet ride. Roomy. Comfortable"

Cons: "Third row cramped."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Honda Pilot. It is amazing in the snow. Quick flip from 2WD to 4WD. Hardly even needed the 4WD because the Pilot tackles the snow and ice so well! Very roomy interior. I love the leather seats. Second row seats are very roomy as well. Air conditioner leak at 120,000 miles. Catalytic converter needed replacement at 110,000 miles. About 17-20 mpg average. Third row seats are pretty cramped but only used for seating when absolutely needed. 3 point seat belts for 3 in second row seats and for 2 in third row seats. Spacious interior that will give a pick up truck a run for the money as far as transporting boxes, furniture, etc during a move. Just fold the second and third seats flat and you have tons of space! Put the seats back up and the Pilot can compete with luxury cars for the comfort. I love the navigation system and XM ready stereo system. Rear back up camera is a cool feature, but I must admit, I don't really use it much (old habits die hard). I'm going to stick with my Pilot until it dies...."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My first dealer-bought car

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Storage, power, amenities, comfort, easy to drive"

Cons: "Very small space between front seats and console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was set on buying a Kia once I finished school and got a "real" job. I test drove a Sorento and several other makes of used mid-size SUV's. I was not excited about the Pilot at first based on a photo which showed the gear shifter blocking the radio and climate controls. But once I drove it (and the gear shifter miraculously moved out of the way), I was getting warmed up to the idea. Compared to the other 7 or so cars I drove over two days, I started to love the this car. I settled on the Pilot after NEARLY signing on the Sportage. The mileage was a bit higher than I had hoped at over 103K at 6 years old at the time, but it IS a Honda, after all. The Pilot has guts, great brakes, a quiet and smooth car-like ride, leather everything, power everything, 3 12 volt outlets, shoulder seatbelts for all 8 passengers, dual zone climate controls, storage galore, hooks, adjustable middle row seat, split rear seating, both rows fold down (although the middle row does not go flat as I had hoped), cup holders for pretty much every passenger, side air bags for the front, sliding and tilting sunroof, 7 in-dash CD slots, tape player (which is great for an AUX-to-tape converter so I can stream music from my phone), steering wheel controls for cruise control and audio, great visibility at all angles (only one very small blind spot, which is solved by a small convex mirror on the driver's side), heated seats, roof racks, heated electric side mirrors, tire pressure monitors, interior safety lighting, and did I mention STORAGE!?! Under the hood is roomy and easy to work in, unlike some other foreign makes. The spare tire is hidden under the rear of the body, so there are no ugly plastic tire covers blocking the rear view. Speaking of the rear view, since it was manufactured before rear cameras became fairly standard, I installed an after-marked camera which activates when the reverse light is on and transmits a wireless signal to a clip-on rear-view mirror with a small window that shows what's behind me. I call it "The Cap'n" and I love him! I've had it for 3 years exactly today and I hope to have him for at least 10 more!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable, dependable and one of the best vehicles

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One of the best vehicles I have ever owned."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Pilot near Honolulu. See local deals