Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2003 Honda Pilot

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 869 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Outside of the gas mileage this car is AWESOME!

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car that I have ever owned. We bought it when it was 3 years old and have driven it over 175,000 miles since with little to no maintenance outside of regular oil changes and tires, etc. I will definitely be looking for a newer one once it's time to retire this one. Highly Recommend!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Easiest car to service I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"200,000 miles of trouble free driving! Great value & all wheel drive worked great. Only criticism is downhill gearing not suitable for mountain travel--doesn't hold back like I would like. Great dependable & serviceable car."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Great Car- but had some electrical issues

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 232,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable, grew with the family, safe"

Cons: "recalls, gas consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car- Never had any accidents, or major failures. The 2004 had 6-8 recalls for various electrical problems, which never effected me. After 232K miles- her transmission gave out. It's not worth the repair but the Honda 2004 gave me 11 years of driving excellence!!! Thanks Honda!"

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent buy

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,456

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very good on gas for long distance drivers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've driven it in all kinds of weather and it has stood the test. Very durable and reliable enough room for family to travel comfortable. I purchased it in 2008 and there were37,000 miles on it at that time and it continues to drive smoothly to date"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great reliable family suv

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought 3 years old with 120k. Now almost 5 years later with 175k have only had to replace the radiator, tires, battery, and the suspension. Rarely gives us trouble except for a few minor problems. solid car. got t-boned by a jeep with the entire family of six and all came out ok. Solid solid well built machine."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very smooth driving, has good pep, gas mileage bad

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "drives well with good pep"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car. It is fun to drive and can pass easily even when going up hills. What kills the review of this car is the low gas mileage (14-17 miles/gallon."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The best purchase I've ever made in my life!!!

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Pick up, reliability, comfortable to ride & drive"

Cons: "No adults on 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I currently have 199,800 miles (and counting) on my 4WD 2005 Pilot. I purchased it in '08 with 29k miles on it. When I drove it home my neighbor said I'd NEVER have a problem with it. He was telling the truth!!!! The only way this SUV is leaving my possession is when I purchase its smaller counterpart (the CR-V) at which point I'll gift my Pilot to one of my (now grown) children. It's safe, durable, uber reliable and strong enough to uproot a tree (I did in the 1st month that I owned it). I have the EX-L and I love the front seat warmers, sunroof and leather seats. Matter of-fact, those will have to be a must in my CR-V. This car is so durable, I even love how the paint has held up. I really do believe this engine will last another 200K miles. I look forward to many more oil changes and life memories with grandchildren learning to drive this vehicle. Thanks Honda! Due to this purchase you've got a family of customers for life!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Family Car

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only reason I am even considering selling this vehicle is to buy another Honda. It has 133k miles on it and still drives like a dream. I feel very safe in the car and taking it on road trips. And we always seem to take mine because it holds the most people! I only marked the Interior/Exterior as a 9 because I wish it had more cupholders, but I think that has been improved in newer models. As long as you take care of the car and get the routine maintenance for it, it will go forever!"

Owned for 12 years with no repairs.

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Super dependable"

Cons: "Too much road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our first time owning a non american car. Best one ever."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best bang for your buck

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's everything an SUV should be."

Cons: "3rd row could have been bigger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Me and my wife have owned this car for about 6 years now and it has been nothing but good to us, we have taken it on many trips and has never let us down. We bought this car in 08 with about 20k miles and we have done the rest, this car has been driven hard from the start I actually drive it like an off road vehicle and has never let me down I even have towed tons of stuff and it pulls even better than some of these pickups. My wife still loves it and doesn't want anything that doesn't compare to it but i think is time for a new one. I'm not sure if we're going to wait for the next gen pilot or we are going to get the Acura MDX witch is basically the same except with a suit on. lol I really recommend this vehicle for someone with a family or anyone looking for a nice reliable SUV."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

I would buy this vehicle again and again

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Feel safe when driving or riding in."

Cons: "Cloth seats, never again."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned. On our trip from NY to AZ, vehicle performed beautifully city and highway."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,672

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable to drive, great 4WD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for about 9 years and I absolutely love it! We have taken many road trips with a car full of people and we've never had any issues. It is wonderful in the snow and rain. I love the flexibility of the fold down seats so you can arrange it however you want, I would highly recommend it! My mom bought the same one but with leather seats and a sunroof and she wishes she would have bought the same one as me! Great vehicle!"

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

I love my Honda Pilot

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "arm rests would b nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a V-6, It gets apx 26 mpg My husband had a BMW & when we drove my Pilot he would get scratch at a stop sign, because it had such get up & go. Plus 6 seats in the back with shoulder straps. The seat in the cargo back are not very comfortable. But fine for children. Road noise is bad, but it is the most car for your money...If I haven't totaled it hitting a deer, I was looking forward to driving 300,000 miles : )"

12 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, dependable, easy to drive, comfortable."

Cons: "Gas milage not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it the "Iron Elephant" but it drives like a car. Goes ANYWHERE in all kinds of weather and road conditions. Very reliable, have spent next to nothing on repairs other than maintenence. (160K+ miles.) Well built, for an older vehicle it has surprisingly few little glitches. Very roomy for camping and road trips. Gas milage is not great, but hey it's an SUV. A beast in snow. Love this car, plan to keep it till it dies which will probably be a long time."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

One fantastic purchase is all I can say.

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fufilled our needs emencely."

Cons: "No heated seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We were one of the first family's to own a Piolet in our area. We had several people tell us that they would not purchase anything that had not been on the market for long. We said we were partial to Hondas and that no other SUV caught our attention like this one did. My wife has been the main driver of this vehicle. We do not trade vehicles very often so when we go shopping we do our home work up front. This Piolet has been garage kept for 9 years . Now my garage is overloaded and we are unable to park it in there which has my wife a little perturbed. We have had several large snow falls since 2003 and each time I would take the Piolet to work and I have been nothing but impressed . This Piolet is AWD and I have never had to put it in AWD but one time and that was in sand. It pulled right out right away. In snow I was going every where the 4WD's were going and then some. I was impressed."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Most reliable and comfortable car I've ever owned

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, safe and practical."

Cons: "Road noise, wears tires unevenly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a comfortable, reliable and safe car. It holds up to 8 passengers and has towing capacity too. It is hands down the best car I've ever owned. It practically drives itself."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Good value, dependable,

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safe, fun to drive, roomy"

Cons: "no automatic headlight feature or temp gauge,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car. 2008 is so far the best of Pilots for recall problems, etc. Got in 2009 at a great price. Don't need the 4WD feature."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable.

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable, easy to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage a little lower than i expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"dependable. Used auto for transportation of school kids. Never had a breakdown in 4 yrs. of doing so."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car has taken me on 2000 mile drives thru US

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun"

Cons: "Not adjustable dor leg room in 3rs row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought it brand new and has now 244,000 miles. Never fails, drives awesome in open country hwys in UT and MT where you can go 100 mph and handles great. Easy in traffic too. I think is a keeper, we did put new transmission and minor worn out parts."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

The easiest and most comfortable drive ever!

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: down sizing

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've just sold our 2005 as we are new empty nesters. The pilot has been a safe drive in any weather condition. Both children learnt to drive with the Pilot and used it extensively. Have not had any major problems regarding maintenance, although we always took it back to our dealer for regular oil changes etc., I have owned several cars but the Pilot along with my old MG Midget have been my most favorite ones to drive. We had the leather seats which were a dream to clean up especially when the kids were young and transporting muddy dogs and horse stuff in the trunk. I already miss driving it, but I know it'll serve its new owners well. A great vehicle that has been reliable and maintenance free."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

No reliability problems. Quality automobile.

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe, roomy, and good highway car. Great 4WD."

Cons: "Steering is a bit ponderous. Acceleration is slow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Would purchase again."

Best car we have owned. Minor maintenance reliable

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Few repairs"

Cons: "Seats wore out too soon."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great car. We did some maintenance at 200,000 miles like motor mounts and timing belt over all nothing major. I highly recommend this vehicle. It probably has a lot more miles in it still."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great family vehicle and handy."

Cons: "Little too tall for this 4'10" retiree!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I don't need a car this big any more - its 8 passenger. Has gray leather interior with 3rd row seating. Very comfortable riding vehicle and very handy having the fold down seats."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

gas milage not so great

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great on long trips"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"no coment"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Pilot near Honolulu. See local deals