Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2003 Honda Pilot

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 876 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

Very reliable, comfortable and driveable vehicle.

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fit and finish, comfort, quality, reliability"

Cons: "Price, mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my 2006 Pilot used in Sept of 2012 with 45,000 miles. Since then, I put another 45,000 miles on it without a single issue. I live in West Chester PA and drove it to New York, Cape Cod, Boston, Charleston, SC and many, many trips to the Poconos. Only complaint is gas mileage. It does OK on the highway at 23mpg, but really sucks (literally) in city and in-town driving at 17mpg. All-in-all, I would buy another one in spite of their price because the quality and reliability is worth it and Honda banks on that! My opinion is that they can price their vehicles high based on the excellent reliability and quality ratings. But unfortunately for Honda, its competitors are catching up very quickly with more reasonably priced vehicles with very comparable reliability and quality."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle purchase ever!

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable & best SUV mileage & cargo space"

Cons: "UGLY!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This ugly Honda Pilot has been incredibly reliable! She was purchased in 2007 with $53K miles. I've had regular maintenance (I.e., oil changes). For the entire time the ONLY need has been to replace the battery. Now the transmission has gone out. Considering the great history I decided to salvage one from LKQ w/ a warranty & place it in my vehicle. Purchase & installation were $1,800 (used transmission, new starter, transmission oil, & installation from a neighborhood-mechanic (HUGE money saver)). Next step is to get the timing belt changed. This vehicle is ugly as all get-out! However, it's the best vehicle I've owned. If it looked better I'd purchase the newer version. I'm a woman who has little to no technical competence. It was frustrating with other vehicles that often had mechanical failures. I HIGHLY recommend this vehicle! If you take care of it, it will take care of you! It has stood up to Honda's excellent reliability reputation. As a matter of fact, Honda's are so reliable when I was looking for a transmission I could hardly find one! They're not in the salvage yards! Time & time again I was told Honda's are so reliable the junk yards don't have many of them!! Mine had to be shipped from another state! That's proof of the incredible workmanship."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I will miss my sub very much.

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,150

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "best car I ever had,"

Cons: "I retire,need something smaller ;portable gps."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"side running bars new tires (less than 300 mi )new battery,roof track and cross bars,sits 5 adults 3 children,engine maintain with Castrol oil , new cab.air filter ,new breaks disc and calipers, fog light,6 cup holders,cassette and cd player,heated from sits two control,leather,ac and heat on rear,EXL 4x4 VMt Tras.Much more."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My best vehicle purchase ever....

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 317,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability,"

Cons: "Eats tires. Get them at Cxxxtco 4 best warranty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded in a Honda Element that I had purchased new in 2006 on a 2005 Honda Pilot with 9000 miles. I needed something with a better ride and more cargo space. I put over 35K miles per year on my vehicle and from every aspect of ownership, ride, reliability, usability, my 2005 Pilot exceeded all of my expectations. Still have the original engine & transmission. As far as MPG, I average 20 mpg regularly, driving at 65-70 mph on local highways. I've kept the maintenance schedule plus a few brake changes & several sets of tires. My tires usually last only 35K miles...but I buy them at Cxxxco and they perform all my scheduled rotations and rebate the difference from the published warranty. My wife hit a deer last fall and the insurance company totaled it due to the mileage. I bought it back from them, replaced the grill, fender, radiator, headlights and grill guard and put it back on the road....I'm confident that it will roll over 500,000 miles for me."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very smooth, reliable, quiet, great car to own!"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have my Pilot for close to 8 years and it is the best vehicle I've ever owned! Very reliable, when I get ready to buy a new car, I will buy another pilot!! I do the usual things, oil changes and use synthetic oil! I'll never own another car!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

You might want to think twice!

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice interior, rides nice, passenger seating"

Cons: "BAD MPG, Check engine light frequently comes on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Because of the seemingly high ratings, 8 passenger, and what Honda had listed at the estimated MPG...I thought I would purchase the 2006 (used)! I get nowhere near the 18 MPG as stated by Honda as the LOW MPG you will get. I am getting at the top....14 MPG (and that is highway and city). This is horrible gas mileage!!! I am a conservative driver too! I would not have purchased this vehicle knowing it gets worse gas mileage than an 8 cylinder SUV!!! Check engine light comes on frequently too!!! It says it is the catalytic converter, had it into a mechanic and was told there is nothing wrong with any of the cats or the O2 sensors??? Reset the system, a week later the engine light came back on."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very good truck, reliable & economic

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, never will let you down"

Cons: "leather tends to crack"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck... never have a single problem. Affordable maintenance. High quality over all. I’m very satisfied with my purchase. :-)"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Outside of the gas mileage this car is AWESOME!

By on Monday, February 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car that I have ever owned. We bought it when it was 3 years old and have driven it over 175,000 miles since with little to no maintenance outside of regular oil changes and tires, etc. I will definitely be looking for a newer one once it's time to retire this one. Highly Recommend!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Easiest car to service I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"200,000 miles of trouble free driving! Great value & all wheel drive worked great. Only criticism is downhill gearing not suitable for mountain travel--doesn't hold back like I would like. Great dependable & serviceable car."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Great Car- but had some electrical issues

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 232,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable, grew with the family, safe"

Cons: "recalls, gas consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car- Never had any accidents, or major failures. The 2004 had 6-8 recalls for various electrical problems, which never effected me. After 232K miles- her transmission gave out. It's not worth the repair but the Honda 2004 gave me 11 years of driving excellence!!! Thanks Honda!"

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

excellent buy

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,456

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very good on gas for long distance drivers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've driven it in all kinds of weather and it has stood the test. Very durable and reliable enough room for family to travel comfortable. I purchased it in 2008 and there were37,000 miles on it at that time and it continues to drive smoothly to date"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great reliable family suv

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought 3 years old with 120k. Now almost 5 years later with 175k have only had to replace the radiator, tires, battery, and the suspension. Rarely gives us trouble except for a few minor problems. solid car. got t-boned by a jeep with the entire family of six and all came out ok. Solid solid well built machine."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Very smooth driving, has good pep, gas mileage bad

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "drives well with good pep"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car. It is fun to drive and can pass easily even when going up hills. What kills the review of this car is the low gas mileage (14-17 miles/gallon."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

The best purchase I've ever made in my life!!!

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Pick up, reliability, comfortable to ride & drive"

Cons: "No adults on 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I currently have 199,800 miles (and counting) on my 4WD 2005 Pilot. I purchased it in '08 with 29k miles on it. When I drove it home my neighbor said I'd NEVER have a problem with it. He was telling the truth!!!! The only way this SUV is leaving my possession is when I purchase its smaller counterpart (the CR-V) at which point I'll gift my Pilot to one of my (now grown) children. It's safe, durable, uber reliable and strong enough to uproot a tree (I did in the 1st month that I owned it). I have the EX-L and I love the front seat warmers, sunroof and leather seats. Matter of-fact, those will have to be a must in my CR-V. This car is so durable, I even love how the paint has held up. I really do believe this engine will last another 200K miles. I look forward to many more oil changes and life memories with grandchildren learning to drive this vehicle. Thanks Honda! Due to this purchase you've got a family of customers for life!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Family Car

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only reason I am even considering selling this vehicle is to buy another Honda. It has 133k miles on it and still drives like a dream. I feel very safe in the car and taking it on road trips. And we always seem to take mine because it holds the most people! I only marked the Interior/Exterior as a 9 because I wish it had more cupholders, but I think that has been improved in newer models. As long as you take care of the car and get the routine maintenance for it, it will go forever!"

Owned for 12 years with no repairs.

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Super dependable"

Cons: "Too much road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our first time owning a non american car. Best one ever."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best bang for your buck

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It's everything an SUV should be."

Cons: "3rd row could have been bigger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Me and my wife have owned this car for about 6 years now and it has been nothing but good to us, we have taken it on many trips and has never let us down. We bought this car in 08 with about 20k miles and we have done the rest, this car has been driven hard from the start I actually drive it like an off road vehicle and has never let me down I even have towed tons of stuff and it pulls even better than some of these pickups. My wife still loves it and doesn't want anything that doesn't compare to it but i think is time for a new one. I'm not sure if we're going to wait for the next gen pilot or we are going to get the Acura MDX witch is basically the same except with a suit on. lol I really recommend this vehicle for someone with a family or anyone looking for a nice reliable SUV."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

I would buy this vehicle again and again

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Feel safe when driving or riding in."

Cons: "Cloth seats, never again."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle I have ever owned. On our trip from NY to AZ, vehicle performed beautifully city and highway."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,672

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable to drive, great 4WD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for about 9 years and I absolutely love it! We have taken many road trips with a car full of people and we've never had any issues. It is wonderful in the snow and rain. I love the flexibility of the fold down seats so you can arrange it however you want, I would highly recommend it! My mom bought the same one but with leather seats and a sunroof and she wishes she would have bought the same one as me! Great vehicle!"

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

I love my Honda Pilot

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "arm rests would b nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a V-6, It gets apx 26 mpg My husband had a BMW & when we drove my Pilot he would get scratch at a stop sign, because it had such get up & go. Plus 6 seats in the back with shoulder straps. The seat in the cargo back are not very comfortable. But fine for children. Road noise is bad, but it is the most car for your money...If I haven't totaled it hitting a deer, I was looking forward to driving 300,000 miles : )"

12 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, dependable, easy to drive, comfortable."

Cons: "Gas milage not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We call it the "Iron Elephant" but it drives like a car. Goes ANYWHERE in all kinds of weather and road conditions. Very reliable, have spent next to nothing on repairs other than maintenence. (160K+ miles.) Well built, for an older vehicle it has surprisingly few little glitches. Very roomy for camping and road trips. Gas milage is not great, but hey it's an SUV. A beast in snow. Love this car, plan to keep it till it dies which will probably be a long time."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

One fantastic purchase is all I can say.

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fufilled our needs emencely."

Cons: "No heated seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We were one of the first family's to own a Piolet in our area. We had several people tell us that they would not purchase anything that had not been on the market for long. We said we were partial to Hondas and that no other SUV caught our attention like this one did. My wife has been the main driver of this vehicle. We do not trade vehicles very often so when we go shopping we do our home work up front. This Piolet has been garage kept for 9 years . Now my garage is overloaded and we are unable to park it in there which has my wife a little perturbed. We have had several large snow falls since 2003 and each time I would take the Piolet to work and I have been nothing but impressed . This Piolet is AWD and I have never had to put it in AWD but one time and that was in sand. It pulled right out right away. In snow I was going every where the 4WD's were going and then some. I was impressed."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Most reliable and comfortable car I've ever owned

By on Sunday, October 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, safe and practical."

Cons: "Road noise, wears tires unevenly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a comfortable, reliable and safe car. It holds up to 8 passengers and has towing capacity too. It is hands down the best car I've ever owned. It practically drives itself."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Good value, dependable,

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safe, fun to drive, roomy"

Cons: "no automatic headlight feature or temp gauge,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love this car. 2008 is so far the best of Pilots for recall problems, etc. Got in 2009 at a great price. Don't need the 4WD feature."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Pilot near Honolulu. See local deals