Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2004 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 597 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Great, comfortable, reliable

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this van. We bought it in 2011 with 64,000 miles. It now has 100,000 miles and I would take it across country without a thought. Drives great, is comfortable for a family of 4 plus 3 more. It hauls a lot; I love the way the seats fold into the floor easily. Cons: I have a major blind spot in the upper left windshield and I can't see pedestrians beginning to cross the street as I am pulling up to that intersection. I seem to replace good tires too regularly. I WANT BETTER GAS MILEAGE."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very poor quality

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Engine runs well"

Cons: "Failed transmission, failed paint, poor quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This van has been the worst quality vehicle that I have ever owned. The transmission failed at 80,000 and had to be replaced. The sliding doors don't work well. The exterior paint has completely failed. Very disapointed that Honda chose not to pay for a portion of the cost to have it repainted. The engine has run well. I expected much better from Honda."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Bad paint problem, otherwise reliable

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, only done preventive maintenance"

Cons: "Paint coming off in a big way."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We have had this car for over 10 years and it has been very reliable. This past year the paint has been coming off in a big way. I didn't realize that this was a known problem for the year vehicle. Unfortunately, Honda will not take care of their problem. If it wasn't for the bad paint problem, this would have been a 10 out of 10 vehicle. Oh well."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good family car

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "heated seats must be manually turned off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"annually serviced and maintained; has after market remote starter installed; purchased from a private owner four years ago with 40,000 miles and have put on 30,000 miles over the last 6 years. We will be purchasing a new/used 2008 van from the same private owner."

perfect for family

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability,comfort,cheap to own"

Cons: "very expensive new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"first off,a dvd system is perfect if you have kids!radio for us adults up front,movie and headphones for all 5 kids in back.never ever hear from them unless their handing you a differant dvd to insert.We also never had a single repair for this van-ever.20 mpg at worst,but usually better.Alot better on the hiway-like 30!very comfortable to drive for us tall guys with always enough snort for all traffic situations or adrenyline needs!Heated leather seats and heat and air in back.A perfect vehicle"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car! Longest I've ever owned a car!

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "versatile,comfortable,hold lots of cargo,reliable"

Cons: "no sunroof, installed one which is great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"versatile, comfortable, removable seats allow for lots of cargo."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great for young family with small kids.

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Adjustable center seat confirmation."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Original owner. Serviced at dealer where purchased (all records available). Excelant condition. Tires apprpox 2 years old. Silver. 8000 miles per yr."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned, not a single repair

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "A little road noise compared to my caddy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just regular maintenance, oil change, transmission flush, battery,a/c flush"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The most reliable and satisfactor car ever owned

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,508

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The best you are likely to find!"

Cons: "14 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Spotless, always service on time at local Honda Dealer, always garaged. Driven moderately and carefully by owners who know and appreciate cars. Interior and exterior are perfect. No known defects. Kids and grand kids are now raised and we can downsize."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable for ALL passengers - Carry anything!"

Cons: "Slow defrost on front windshield"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this vehicle for ten years and absolutely love it. The only trouble I have had, and that is recently, is that the key reader sometimes does not recognize my keys and will not start. Honda is working on that problem now. I would keep it forever if I could. I love the visibility...the windows are very large, especially the front windshield (which does tend to defrost a little slowly - that's the only true negative about the car). I would love to purchase a new Odyssey, but have driven it and it feels wider, and I am not comfortable with that. That is the reason I did not purchase the Toyota Sienna at the time. Several of my friends have purchased the Odyssey on my recommendation and love it."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

She has been my dependable friend for 15 years.

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "cargo area and all seats"

Cons: "better cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was afraid of the cost 15 years ago. But now look at what I got was way more than what I spent. No trouble ever (well, an A/C quick fix. I would never consider another car than a Haulin' Honda Odyssey. Quality, Beauty, and down right practical."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

We love our Honda Odyssey! Would buy again.

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, safe, spacious."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have had our Honda van for over 11 years now. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. I plan on keeping it as long as it keeps running. It is very comfortable, spacious, and I feel safe driving my children around in it."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for a family with children

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Engine power, quality, low maintenance costs"

Cons: "No style, sliding doors annoying"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would highly recommend the 2000-2004 Odyssey's, my Dad has an 04, my sister has a 2000 and we have the 02. No major problems the entire time we have owned it other than the transmission recall. Been an unbelievably reliable vehicle and I trusted it for my wife and kids daily. The 3.5V6 has amazing pickup and power, I would rather have the 3.5V6 in my Durango :)"

Bad paint. I assume transmission is next problem

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good power. Great Hauling. Good for family"

Cons: "some blind sports. Paint. Electrical system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Paint peeled--new non-lead paint. Partially covered by Honda. Second peel not covered and dealer was indifferent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

215000 miles, 13 yrs. Very, very satisfied.

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "I have had no abnormal maintenance expenses."

Cons: "The road noise is a little loud than I like."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent transportation. Change transmission fluid at recommended intervals, every 30k miles or drain, measure, and refill (~2 qts) every oil change. Ditto for brake and Pwr steering fluids. (I do most of my my own maintenance.) Parts have worn out; i.e. ball joints, struts, shocks, brakes (pads, rotors, calipers), CV Joints, starter, ECG valve, but that is normal."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Family hauler that drives like a sedan

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Steering response, family hauler, good audio/DVD"

Cons: "No 60/40 third row split on 2003 model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have owned our Odyssey since April of 2003. It has more than served its purpose...decent gas mileage for its size, plenty of room and flexible seating/storage options for long trips. This van has had oil changes, gas put in it, and 4 additional sets of tires on it and that's about it! It's not going to win any drag races, but the 240hp v-6 does respond well when you flog it on the highway to pass. As a Skip Barber graduate, I appreciate the drive-by-wire throttle and pretty decent handling for its size. Again, not going to win an auto cross competition, but the steering is much more responsive than most of the vehicles I have driven in its class. It's a Honda...you almost can't kill it. We will likely replace it just for a change."

grateful for my Odyssey

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Safe & Dependable"

Cons: "Nothing it's exactly as expected and asked for."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is and has been a vehicle to stick with. Not too expensive to keep up with & has done our family of 6 Great! Dependable and drives well! I feel safe in it."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My transmission may be having problems

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Very clean inside"

Cons: "Some paint chips in places"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I feel my van is slipping/chugging at times when I first start it in the morning and take off. It never has died and after I get going it works fine. I'm just afraid it will strand me somewhere and I'm not wanting that. I have had it since 143,000 miles; had the catalytic converter changed and have it serviced regularly. The check engine light comes on from time to tome and it says its an emissions problem (my gas cap is newer, but not a Honda cap and sometimes I don't tighten it enough clicks)"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle except for Transmission Problems

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Overall I like my 2000 Odyssey except for the transmission problems. Had the transmission replaced at 77,000 miles and again at 114,000 miles. This last transmission was replaced somewhere other than a Honda dealer and am hoping to get more than 37,000 miles out of it."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Sunday, June 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economic for its size, reliable, drives like a car"

Cons: "ugly on the outside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is reliable, economic for it's size, drive like a car (I test drove many minivans and SUVs. They mostly drove like trucks), spacious, comfortable and one of the most important features for me is the sliding door. No more screaming (me) for the kids not to kick the door open and hitting other people's car parked next to us. Another big positive is that the center of gravity is located very close to the ground, so the car is really stable when turning and making curves. I just take my car to maintenance and it's always good to go. I just wish it looked more beautiful. Minivans are not sexy looking, that is the only negative."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

100% Reliability. Never a problem

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "100% reliable and comfortable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been used for long distance trips and around town. Bought new. Did regular maintenance on it. Never a bit of trouble. Car still rides like new and engine is silent. Terrific car"

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Old Reliable!

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My van has been a very reliable vehicle! I love being able to go to estate sales knowing I can virtually haul anything home. It was great for carpooling when our children were younger, too. The sound system is great, as is the heating/ac. My family complains about me driving a car this old (2001), BUT they are quick to borrow it to go downtown where more upscale cars are greater targets for auto thieves....I mean, who wants a 13-year old Mom van? The electronic locks are messed up, but I've been told by other Honda owners that this is a common Honda problem. I know how to deal with it, so don't plan on spending the money to have them fixed. Basically, my van is so old I never worry about it getting stolen, or hit. It's so reliable that I hate to give it up. It's like a Timex, takes a licking and keeps on ticking!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great automobile and I would buy another Honda.

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 219,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great transportation on long trips. Easy on Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family has owned this vehicle since 2005. We love it and it has given us very few issues. These were fixed with ease. mainly normal wear and tear but no mechanical problems."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Totally reliable"

Cons: "No hold-open, and manual unlock of drivers door."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle is unsurpassed in reliability. I have thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this vehicle. I have purchased a vehicle of the same brand for my wife, and currently looking at downsizing my vehicle with the same brand. Maintenance, and upkeep of this vehicle has been very inexpensive."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Far and away, the best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability is unsurpassed."

Cons: "No hold open and manual unlock on driver door."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Minimal maintenance cost. The vehicle has never let me down. Average cast per year was just over $ 250, which includes brakes, tires and fluid replacements. No system on the vehicle has ever failed. I like Honda so much, I just purchased a Honda Accord for my wife, and will replace this one with a smaller Honda vehicle, since I don't have the need for this capacity."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals