Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2002 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 613 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 123 | Next

By on Sunday, January 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"EX with 102,000 miles. No transmission problems, shifts fine, Power sliding doors had some initial problems fixed under warranty, have been perfect for last 60,000 miles. Replaced 2 motor mounts at 100,000 (common issue). Did EGR update at 95,000 (missed warranty cutoff). Needs cat and/or O2 sensors. I do all maintenance, it's pretty easy to work on. Powertrain and chassis stiil feel tight and responsive. Hit deer at 40 mph. No airbag deploy, $3500 damage, protected family. Good van. Would buy another."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great value. Superb reliability

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, roomy, quality human engineering"

Cons: "Locks, door and ignition wore out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this car for nearly ten years. It was not coddled. It has performed superbly this whole time. I did treat it to synthetic motor oil but other than that it has been driven hard. NO major problems. Even the battery went seven years without problems"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Cannot be killed!!

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, A/C still cold with no maint, strong"

Cons: "electric windows and doors act up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been Abused in every way possible! neglect, children, dogs, hauling, long road trips, limited maint, multiple wrecks, and victim of a fallen tree!! All this and it just keeps running great. Window and door motors beginning to fail, misc electric oddities, TCS now acting up. But- overall the best vehicle I've ever known of. Bought new and would love another someday! Not sure how many of my issues could have been prevented with proper maint, but that is WHY I bought the Honda brand."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Transmission acting up.

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car used at 39k miles. Everything seems to be in working order accept for the AC. Had to change the compressor. Old owner never changed the cabin filter. I also had the transmission fluid changed with honda ATF. Remember only use Honda ATF fluid, or your will have transmission issues and eventually failure. I used the van to haul people, furniture, garbage on and off for 3 years and the van just past 53k miles. The transmission started acting funny. I immediately went to the dealership to have the fluid changed with Honda ATF and the transmission seems better. The mechanic at the Honda dealer recommended changing the transmission fluid every 10k to avoid issues and to install a transmission cooler. That's my next To-Do for this van. Let's cross our fingers."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

4th Transmission replacement

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: 4th transmission

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great engine, drives well"

Cons: "4th transmission before 150,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Drives great, seats 7 passengers, great power, great engine, safe care BUT 4TH TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT before 150,000 miles. BEWARE of 2001 Honda Odyssey engine is too strong for the weak transmission. First two transmissions repairs covered by Honda, last two paid by me."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 123 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals