Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2001 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 587 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Great car

By on Thursday, February 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable. Excellent gas mileage. Never quits. I want another one with low mileage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love This Honda!

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious, smooth, great interior, mostly maintfree"

Cons: "Could be quieter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"143,000 miles and this vehicle has needed very little maintenance beyond the usual parts that wear out such as timing belt, struts, brakes. Stick with the OEM parts if you don't want to change the dynamics of the ride and handling. This has been a beautiful, enjoyable vehicle. All of my family members love it, including the kids. Looking forward to buying our next Odyssey!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great value. Superb reliability

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, roomy, quality human engineering"

Cons: "Locks, door and ignition wore out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned this car for nearly ten years. It was not coddled. It has performed superbly this whole time. I did treat it to synthetic motor oil but other than that it has been driven hard. NO major problems. Even the battery went seven years without problems"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

4th Transmission replacement

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: 4th transmission

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great engine, drives well"

Cons: "4th transmission before 150,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Drives great, seats 7 passengers, great power, great engine, safe care BUT 4TH TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT before 150,000 miles. BEWARE of 2001 Honda Odyssey engine is too strong for the weak transmission. First two transmissions repairs covered by Honda, last two paid by me."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Dependable vehicle. "Takes a lickin & keeps tickn

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Worth every penney we paid. Great Value"

Cons: "Orig transmission did not have a cooler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Replaced transmission @ 100K mi. Keep it maintained and it just keeps on going. I use it in a small business. It's like a truck. The paint is starting to chip off. I haven't been good keeping it waxed. The interior is almost like new."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle!! Very reliable!

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable & reliable with regular maintenance."

Cons: "Cup holders are terrible!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this van for 10+ years! It has been a great vehicle for toting kids all over to sporting events and driving vacations. It travels very well and the gas mileage is pretty good - around 20 mpg. It cleans up very nicely even with family wear. Seats still look great! Carpeting still looks really good too and we have had many spills in it."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle!! Very reliable!

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable & reliable with regular maintenance."

Cons: "Cup holders are terrible!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this van for 10+ years! It has been a great vehicle for toting kids all over to sporting events and driving vacations. It travels very well and the gas mileage is pretty good - around 20 mpg. It cleans up very nicely even with family wear. Seats still look great! Carpeting still looks really good too and we have had many spills in it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle!! Very reliable!

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable & reliable with regular maintenance."

Cons: "Cup holders are terrible!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this van for 10+ years! It has been a great vehicle for toting kids all over to sporting events and driving vacations. It travels very well and the gas mileage is pretty good - around 20 mpg. It cleans up very nicely even with family wear. Seats still look great! Carpeting still looks really good too and we have had many spills in it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Right Vehicle for the Job

By on Thursday, January 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 229,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Yeah, it's a van, but this thing does not let me down! It has cargo room even when full of passengers. It drives like a dream in town and on long trips. We've enjoyed its comfort and convenience for over 12 years!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best used car EVER!

By on Sunday, December 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "has everything I could need and is comfortable"

Cons: "none in my opinion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it three years ago with 155K miles on it and have never had anything more than a bulb burn out on it. Runs great, looks great, and VERY reliable!!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Bought new very reliable transportation

By on Monday, December 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Car has newer trans and brakes etc."

A Practical, FUN, Reliable Van: No Problems

By on Saturday, November 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "centers pace could provide add'l storage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE this van. It is easy to drive, never lets me down, zips in and out of places, has comfortable seating, everything works in it! The local dealer is competent, responsive, tells me in advance what to expect to enable me to budget. To date, I have not had a major problem. I get it serviced according to schedule; replacing brake pads, rotating tires, getting oil changes, replacing fluids."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A guy's van

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Sleek looking. A cup holder for all"

Cons: "Not able to get more than 22mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If I am going to own a minivan, this is the one for me. On our second now, the Odyssey fits my family activities very well. From the disappearing back seat to electric dual sliding doors to rear entertainment system dvd with remote and headphones, those are some of the comfort benefits. A 5 speed tranny with 240 hp in a 3.5 l engine provides reliable command and control on the go. As a military member, road trips are a way of life for us. Crisscrossing the US is a breeze in this made-for-family minivan. To top it off, it holds its value for years to come."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This is the most reliable and best vehicle ever.

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and easy to drive"

Cons: "no power back hatch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There is no comparison when it comes to comfort and reliability."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A few little issues but overall a good car

By on Saturday, November 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "solid, dependable, useful"

Cons: "gas guzzler, boring"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought this van with 90k on it four years ago and now has 148k. In this time I have replaced timing belt and done routine maintenance, added a trailer hitch. Two things came up in the past year: 1. Motor mounts. Had to replace all five. It felt like transmission was slipping, but it was torqueing on acceleration. New mounts fixed the problem. 2. Creak/clunk from front struts. This appears to be a regular Odyssey issue. My mechanic fixed it by cleaning and lubricating the strut MOUNTS, not replacing the struts."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

paid Queen city motors to much for vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "nice van but cost me to much"

Cons: "I fill i was taken by used car saleman"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Gave away 2003 Venture plus one thousand cash and borrowed 11000 to get this car, I fill sick to see it is so low valued."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

watch out for transmission issues

By on Friday, November 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great style & smooth ride"

Cons: "quality- transmission issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I got this car brand new and thought it was great...for a while. It has been driven on freeway and city. Only place it was serviced was at the dealer. Transmission went out at 116,000 miles- we expected more from our Honda Odyssey. Put in a factory rebuilt transmission and it went out at 166,000 miles. We have put $11,000 into this car at the Dealer Service Center. Now the Dealer can't help us and Honda Corp. won't help either. We've heard of 129 transmission issues noted by Honda for 2000-2004 models...Beware if buying one used! I'm thinking Honda isn't what it used to be :("

20 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Wish I could find another

By on Thursday, October 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Skiing, camping, date night, this is the perfect vehicle. Was shocked to see low "valuation" this site placed on this van."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very disappointed with this vehicle.

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Roomy"

Cons: "Not reliable, honda won't stand behind it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Transmission went at 97,000 miles. I bought it brand new so I know it was serviced appropriately and not driven hard. We never towed anything with it."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best reliable vehicle ever!

By on Sunday, September 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"All I could say having this van at this mileage with the original transmission and engine I could not find any complains at all. Major works that were done on this van were timing belt replaced x 2 every 110,000 miles and a catalytic converter that got replaced at 180,000 miles. Had changed all gasket seals on oil pans both transmission and engine. Never had a major breakdown. The Secret Oil changed and transmission oil changed regularly retains the life of it. I'm proud of this Odyssey. Not to mention original rear drum brakes which I have to replaced soon. My rating falls short only on value as I have to pay MSRP at that time when it first came out. I was lucky enough since some other dealers were selling it @ $2500+ over MSRP due to its popularity."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

I love my van. my 3rd van. and it's been the best

By on Thursday, August 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great drive, I feel very safe in my van."

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My van rides like it's on rails. great gas mileage for such a large vehicle. I'd recommend ir for anyone looking for a great family van. Packs in all the kids and their stuff. and the cargo space is so big. I've had huge things in the back."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great minivan! Very dependable with one exception.

By on Tuesday, August 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 207,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great family vehicle. Very good interior."

Cons: "Transmission troubles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"After 200,000 miles I can say that this is one of the most dependable vehicles I have ever owned with one exception. The transmission was replaced just before 100,000 miles under warranty. Honda has a bit of history with transmission troubles in this era. Having said that, almost every other major system is still original. The A/C lasted to 195,000. Other vans I have owned cost far more in repairs than even the cost of a transmission so this is still a winner in my book."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Easy to switch from people to hauling the robot

By on Saturday, July 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In addition to the reliability and comfort, we enjoy the versatility and ease of switching the configuration of seats from 4 bucket seats with a cargo area to 2 seats and a long area for the robot and equipment."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Friday, July 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,625

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great vehicle for a family. Lots of room."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned this van for 12 years. I bought it new. It has been well cared for and just had a new timing belt and all major seals replaced. The tires are new less than a year old and about 1500 miles use. I have never had any mechanical problem not related to age. It is now like new. It has met every need I have had. I LOVE it! I am now 84 years old and want a smaller car."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best van!

By on Monday, July 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable ride, reliable"

Cons: "Gear shifter blocks some dash controls"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought our 2000 Honda Odyssey brand new, and have owned it ever since. It's a comfortable, luxurious ride, and we've driven it halfway across the country (and back) several times. We love the captain's chairs for the kids; it kept them comfy and not on top of each other on those long trips! The power sliding doors on both sides were a plus for us, altho it can be a pain waiting for them to close if you're in a big hurry! The deep trunk is great for storing luggage; you can get a lot in there. The fold-down third seat, and removable second-row captain's chairs are convenient when transporting large items; it's almost like having a pick-up! We love our van, and don't want to get rid of it (even tho we recently bought a Honda CR-V to replace it!)"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details