Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2000 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 607 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

2003 Honda Odyssey

By on Monday, February 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good workhorse, handles well, decent motor"

Cons: "Hard to get at spare tire, heavy mddle seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car in 2011 with 76K on it. I have had all of the required maintenance done, use synthetic oil and top of the line filters. I now have 180K miles on it. Lost a transmission - biggest cost - and that's probably because I added a hitch and towed a small fishing boat and so on with it. That burns trannys. It handles well, and I have no complaints. I get average of 21 mpg, slightly less in winter. The traction control is very handy. Middle row of seats are removable (and heavy), rear seats fold into the deck. Spare tire is a pain to get to, have to move seats and it's in the center of the van. Comes with a mini donut, not a full size tire. Road noise is acceptable. CD/DVD/Radio all work well. DVD comes with a remote and that's been handy on long trips. Won't play copied dvds. Motor is strong, plenty of horses to pass if needed. Easy to get at stuff under the hood. Brakes and exhaust costs are about what you'd pay for anything else. My shop tells me it's easy to work on, so less expensive in labor."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A Trouper!

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Strong engine"

Cons: "Have to remove seats to use full cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this car used and it has served us well. We treat it essentially like an enclosed truck. It hauls household goods for moving and/or up to seven people. It just keeps going and going! This model is basic with no frills. We have to remove the second seats and store them if we want to use the entire cargo area. Next time we would look for fold-downs. Also, if you are considering a 2004, watch out for the paint quality. This year's dark blue model was recalled because the paint was not done properly, and the recall has now expired. This car is homely, but what a trouper!"

Best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Extremely reliable, put on over 250,000 miles"

Cons: "Sliding doors freeze"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car, drove it hard and it was up to the task. Very limited maintenance, most pretty routine, not bad after putting on 250000 miles."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

One of the best cars on the road by far !

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Sure gonna miss it when I sell it !

"I love this vehicle ! For some reason most of these vehicles look very nice N clean even though mine is almost 11 years old N it looks, and drives just as good as ever, double A/C has been charged with no problem ! Changed the transmission oil , which made a big difference! Very good engineering having owned at least one hundred cars in my lifetime ! New , used and old ! I've also owned other used Hondas with two to 300,000 miles on them, still good for another 100,000 With A/C and were very dependable vehicles !"

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Sure gonna miss it when I sell it !

Disappointing not at all what I expected

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "nice drive"

Cons: "they need better transmissions/reliability is poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I purchased my 2004 Honda odyssey from a local dealer used with 122,000 miles on it. The dealership said that the car had a new transmission put in before I purchased it. I had read that transmissions were notorious for failing in this year odyssey, but the salesman assured me that once the transmission was replaced that the problem was solved. Well here I am 2.5 years and 52,000 miles later and my transmission is having trouble and since it is almost Christmas I do not have the time or money to service it. The driver side sliding door has to be locked manually, the passenger door needs a new window regulator, and I have replaced the starter since purchasing the vehicle."

11 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Best all around vehicle ever.

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great, flexible seat design."

Cons: "Back seat doesnt recline."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle for families to take on long road trips. Lots of room for luggage, comfortable seats to sleep in, and very quiet. Take one of the middle seats out and 6 hockey bags and players, one being a goalie and his pads, fit great. My coworkers $50,000 truck cant fit a 4'x8' sheet of plywood and close the tailgate on his truck. Well I can. We finished my basement with this van. Never used a truck to deliver anything. My 3 sons mowed lawns for 10 years, fit 3 push mowers, weedwackers, blowers, and a garbage can in the back. It may be front wheel drive, but the only time it failed me in the snow was because there was 4 feet of snow in the winter of 2010. We made it 1 block down the street only to find that none of the roads had been plowed yet, so we turned around for our own safety. Only had pushed it once, into the driveway. No transmission problems unlike other hondas made around the early 2000's. Tons of cup holders, seriously the driver has access to 6 cup holders. It is big, but very easy to drive and park. Can feel crosswinds on open highways more so than a sedan."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Just rolled 200,000. Everything Original!

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Can't kill it!"

Cons: "Seats are not very comfortable on long trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 1st 200,000 mile car. Bought it new in July 2002, followed the dealer maintenance and here I am, all original except for the timing belt and water pump recommended service at 100,000. I am hooked on Honda now."

15 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Great versitile vehicle especilly long road trips

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "flexible for multi uses, reliable, economical"

Cons: "interior finish, road noise louder than some"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still using the car for long road trips at over 190K miles. It has been highly reliable and should be good for another 100K."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great for hauling kids and dogs 2 sliding doors

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great utility 2 sliding doors mega room, reliable"

Cons: "road noise, expensive parts/dealer service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Mechanically reliable. Usual maintenance. Paint not great, but was stored outside. CD player quit early. Serious road & wind noise. Small, short seats. Grabby brakes, sticky throttle from a stop. Leather lasted well. Interior in great shape. Now with 200k miles, transmission is dead. Finding out about many others with tranny problems. Car is not worth fixing at this point. Destined for junk yard. Probably worth thousands for parts if demand is there."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

performed flawlessly for us for 13+ years

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, Reliable, Great freeway car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Consistently seen 25mpg+ on freeway. Seen as high as 28mpg on long trips even pulling passes. Normal to get 19mpg in town."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great, comfortable, reliable

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this van. We bought it in 2011 with 64,000 miles. It now has 100,000 miles and I would take it across country without a thought. Drives great, is comfortable for a family of 4 plus 3 more. It hauls a lot; I love the way the seats fold into the floor easily. Cons: I have a major blind spot in the upper left windshield and I can't see pedestrians beginning to cross the street as I am pulling up to that intersection. I seem to replace good tires too regularly. I WANT BETTER GAS MILEAGE."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

very poor quality

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Engine runs well"

Cons: "Failed transmission, failed paint, poor quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This van has been the worst quality vehicle that I have ever owned. The transmission failed at 80,000 and had to be replaced. The sliding doors don't work well. The exterior paint has completely failed. Very disapointed that Honda chose not to pay for a portion of the cost to have it repainted. The engine has run well. I expected much better from Honda."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Bad paint problem, otherwise reliable

By on Monday, September 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, only done preventive maintenance"

Cons: "Paint coming off in a big way."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We have had this car for over 10 years and it has been very reliable. This past year the paint has been coming off in a big way. I didn't realize that this was a known problem for the year vehicle. Unfortunately, Honda will not take care of their problem. If it wasn't for the bad paint problem, this would have been a 10 out of 10 vehicle. Oh well."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good family car

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "heated seats must be manually turned off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"annually serviced and maintained; has after market remote starter installed; purchased from a private owner four years ago with 40,000 miles and have put on 30,000 miles over the last 6 years. We will be purchasing a new/used 2008 van from the same private owner."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

perfect for family

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability,comfort,cheap to own"

Cons: "very expensive new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"first off,a dvd system is perfect if you have kids!radio for us adults up front,movie and headphones for all 5 kids in back.never ever hear from them unless their handing you a differant dvd to insert.We also never had a single repair for this van-ever.20 mpg at worst,but usually better.Alot better on the hiway-like 30!very comfortable to drive for us tall guys with always enough snort for all traffic situations or adrenyline needs!Heated leather seats and heat and air in back.A perfect vehicle"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car! Longest I've ever owned a car!

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "versatile,comfortable,hold lots of cargo,reliable"

Cons: "no sunroof, installed one which is great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"versatile, comfortable, removable seats allow for lots of cargo."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great for young family with small kids.

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Adjustable center seat confirmation."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Original owner. Serviced at dealer where purchased (all records available). Excelant condition. Tires apprpox 2 years old. Silver. 8000 miles per yr."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned, not a single repair

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "A little road noise compared to my caddy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just regular maintenance, oil change, transmission flush, battery,a/c flush"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The most reliable and satisfactor car ever owned

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,508

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The best you are likely to find!"

Cons: "14 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Spotless, always service on time at local Honda Dealer, always garaged. Driven moderately and carefully by owners who know and appreciate cars. Interior and exterior are perfect. No known defects. Kids and grand kids are now raised and we can downsize."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable for ALL passengers - Carry anything!"

Cons: "Slow defrost on front windshield"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this vehicle for ten years and absolutely love it. The only trouble I have had, and that is recently, is that the key reader sometimes does not recognize my keys and will not start. Honda is working on that problem now. I would keep it forever if I could. I love the visibility...the windows are very large, especially the front windshield (which does tend to defrost a little slowly - that's the only true negative about the car). I would love to purchase a new Odyssey, but have driven it and it feels wider, and I am not comfortable with that. That is the reason I did not purchase the Toyota Sienna at the time. Several of my friends have purchased the Odyssey on my recommendation and love it."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

She has been my dependable friend for 15 years.

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "cargo area and all seats"

Cons: "better cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was afraid of the cost 15 years ago. But now look at what I got was way more than what I spent. No trouble ever (well, an A/C quick fix. I would never consider another car than a Haulin' Honda Odyssey. Quality, Beauty, and down right practical."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

We love our Honda Odyssey! Would buy again.

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, safe, spacious."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have had our Honda van for over 11 years now. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. I plan on keeping it as long as it keeps running. It is very comfortable, spacious, and I feel safe driving my children around in it."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for a family with children

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Engine power, quality, low maintenance costs"

Cons: "No style, sliding doors annoying"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would highly recommend the 2000-2004 Odyssey's, my Dad has an 04, my sister has a 2000 and we have the 02. No major problems the entire time we have owned it other than the transmission recall. Been an unbelievably reliable vehicle and I trusted it for my wife and kids daily. The 3.5V6 has amazing pickup and power, I would rather have the 3.5V6 in my Durango :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Bad paint. I assume transmission is next problem

By on Thursday, July 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good power. Great Hauling. Good for family"

Cons: "some blind sports. Paint. Electrical system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Paint peeled--new non-lead paint. Partially covered by Honda. Second peel not covered and dealer was indifferent."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

215000 miles, 13 yrs. Very, very satisfied.

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "I have had no abnormal maintenance expenses."

Cons: "The road noise is a little loud than I like."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent transportation. Change transmission fluid at recommended intervals, every 30k miles or drain, measure, and refill (~2 qts) every oil change. Ditto for brake and Pwr steering fluids. (I do most of my my own maintenance.) Parts have worn out; i.e. ball joints, struts, shocks, brakes (pads, rotors, calipers), CV Joints, starter, ECG valve, but that is normal."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals