Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1999 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 593 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 119 | Next

215000 miles, 13 yrs. Very, very satisfied.

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "I have had no abnormal maintenance expenses."

Cons: "The road noise is a little loud than I like."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent transportation. Change transmission fluid at recommended intervals, every 30k miles or drain, measure, and refill (~2 qts) every oil change. Ditto for brake and Pwr steering fluids. (I do most of my my own maintenance.) Parts have worn out; i.e. ball joints, struts, shocks, brakes (pads, rotors, calipers), CV Joints, starter, ECG valve, but that is normal."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Family hauler that drives like a sedan

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Steering response, family hauler, good audio/DVD"

Cons: "No 60/40 third row split on 2003 model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have owned our Odyssey since April of 2003. It has more than served its purpose...decent gas mileage for its size, plenty of room and flexible seating/storage options for long trips. This van has had oil changes, gas put in it, and 4 additional sets of tires on it and that's about it! It's not going to win any drag races, but the 240hp v-6 does respond well when you flog it on the highway to pass. As a Skip Barber graduate, I appreciate the drive-by-wire throttle and pretty decent handling for its size. Again, not going to win an auto cross competition, but the steering is much more responsive than most of the vehicles I have driven in its class. It's a Honda...you almost can't kill it. We will likely replace it just for a change."

grateful for my Odyssey

By on Sunday, June 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Safe & Dependable"

Cons: "Nothing it's exactly as expected and asked for."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is and has been a vehicle to stick with. Not too expensive to keep up with & has done our family of 6 Great! Dependable and drives well! I feel safe in it."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My transmission may be having problems

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Very clean inside"

Cons: "Some paint chips in places"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I feel my van is slipping/chugging at times when I first start it in the morning and take off. It never has died and after I get going it works fine. I'm just afraid it will strand me somewhere and I'm not wanting that. I have had it since 143,000 miles; had the catalytic converter changed and have it serviced regularly. The check engine light comes on from time to tome and it says its an emissions problem (my gas cap is newer, but not a Honda cap and sometimes I don't tighten it enough clicks)"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle except for Transmission Problems

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Overall I like my 2000 Odyssey except for the transmission problems. Had the transmission replaced at 77,000 miles and again at 114,000 miles. This last transmission was replaced somewhere other than a Honda dealer and am hoping to get more than 37,000 miles out of it."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 119 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals