Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 101 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

A very reliable car

By on Thursday, April 02, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have owned this car for nearly 11 years. Pro: 1. No mechanical or engine problem 2. Not too big outside, very easy to park 3. MPG is good, around 20 to 23. 4. Very much practical for daily and trip use. Seat 7+grocery space or 5+big trunk Con: 1. Ignition replaced after 8 years due to too much turn on/off daily (3 to up to 6,7 times per day) 2. Little loud when speed up, but no too bothered 3. Front left visor broke after 7 years. Was trying to replace this car but got no reason to convince wife because the car is just too reliable with a good look."

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this from a guy for $300 W/No rust!! The 1997 Honda sat for 7 months and started on the first try! I put new brakes on plus one caliper and changed the oil, wow $300 for a Honda what a steal.I parked my 2002 gas hog and this thing never wants gas, The Sony stereo was worth $200 I LOVE IT!!"

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, January 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Thursday, January 22, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If they were still making this car, I would buy another one. I love it. It has been very reliable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, January 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

very reliable

By on Thursday, January 08, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"had this car for 8 years, it never gave me a trouble. mainly, I did maintainess work on it only, its performance is the same no matter when it was new or old. I enjoyed this car a lot. It is a safe car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Keeps Going and Going and Going

By on Monday, December 08, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Not the sexiest car on the road, but take care of the maintenance and this van is flexible people hauler and takes you where you need to go. Very reliable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, November 24, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Tires and brakes wore out fast. Took longer than most vehicles to heat up car.'s interior. Loved the car anyway!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Underpowered, air problems

By on Saturday, September 20, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Though we love the size, design, and the fact it does not have sliding doors, we had too many mechanical problems and getting on the highway is a struggle for the engine. The first owner put 88,000 miles on the vehicle and he kept it clean and provided maintenance records. I have done the same. At 100,000, leaks in the rear air resulted in a $1,200 repair. They had to take off interior sections to reveal the refrigerant lines. The vehicle has been disappointing mechanically; from front suspension problems to a failing transmission. The bright spot is, if you want some 3rd row seating room in a small mini van and don't care for sliding doors, this van has the market cornered."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Most reliable vehicle we have owned

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 1997 Honda Odyssey is undoubtedly the most reliable efficient vehicle we have ever owned. I am only selling it due to a death in the family. I wish they still made this smaller version of the Odyssey. In eleven years it has been superb!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very nice

By on Friday, September 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have one of the 1995 hondas, I have only had it about 6 months and bought from an individual and still has orginal motor and transmission and has 190k miles on it. It does have a small oil leak but i just add a little oil between tune ups. No complaints on this van Plus its paid for"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most reliable!!!

By on Thursday, August 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Loved this vehicle. Always started (even in Wisconsin winters). Incredible amount of storage space"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Monday, August 04, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had mine for a total of 11 years now. i put the first 100,000 miles going to wook and on vacations. Only had one major problem. But that was a factory recalled piece for the oil tank and it has never broken down, even with my son driving the last 50,000 miles in the last 7 years. The repair cost are pretty cheap for parts (as long as yo u don't take it to the dealer. they wated $3000 for what my mechanic did for $700.)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fantastic vehicel

By on Saturday, August 02, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this van new and now have 300,000 miles on it. It has never broken down, still has the original engine, transmission, etc, and has never needed a major repair. Rides almost like new, with everything still working. I plan to keep on changing the oil every 3-4K miles and driving it till...400,000 miles? Fantastic vehicle!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Honda's best years of there van

By on Friday, June 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 95' over 2 years ago with 211XXX and it now has 264XXX. It has never left me stranded. Its still worth more than what I paid for it! My wife and I loved it so much I bought a 96' for her almost a year ago with 159XXX and it now has 175XXX. I've gotten as much as 28mpg on the hyway. Plus, they came STANDARD with ABS, 4 wheel disc brakes and 4 wheel independant suspension! NO other minivan at that time had all that-even some NOW!"

NEVER LET YOU DOWN

By on Sunday, June 08, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this van brand new and now have 130K miles on it. It has NEVER let me down - NEVER "broke down". MPG is around 23 city / 26 hwy."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best van ever made

By on Thursday, May 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This van has everything you need in a van plus it is very reliable.The 4 cyl. is surprising it has plenty of get up and go. It really is in a class of its own the car like 4 doors and the stow away rear seat is my favorite things about it. I would recommend this van to anyone. Believe it or not but at 120000 miles Honda sent me notice to bring in my van for a free tune up, they replaced the plugs,wires.and distributor cap then changed my oil all at no cost to me,now that is what I call going the extra mile."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Overall great minivan, so why am I selling mine?

By on Saturday, May 17, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great family van - I am selling mine though because I do not like how close the rear bench seat is to the back window and the rear bumper is not big enough for me. Too many times, unfortunately, fast bigger trucks or suvs are right on my tail and I feel concerned if they bumped into me they could bump my back door/window which is inches only away from my child's seat! So it's a great van but that is why I am selling mine. I do like the 4 doors instead of the sliding door and the easy move around interior when I have to adjust car seats etc."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Feels like a car, not a boat

By on Monday, May 05, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my '95 Odyssey, it handles as well as a small car rather than feeling like I am driving a large boat on land. Everyone who drives it loves it and getting my three children in and out is easy."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Keeps On Going!

By on Sunday, April 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had "Baby" (1997 Odyssey) for 10 years and I STILL love it! This little dynamo has taken me through 5 company transfers/moves, hauled furniture and family and is a pure joy to drive! Being a single woman, the reliability, makes me feel safe and all I've had to do is keep up with routine maintainence. I plan to keep the van for several more years and then, relook at the Honda Fit. Sounds like another winner but I'd like to have more info before trading "Baby" in!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wish it could run forever!

By on Thursday, April 24, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Got this 1997 in 2001 with 47,000 mi on it--now 175,000 and still going strong. Has "old-fashioned" doors and LOTS of storage spaces in front. New ones can't compare. Wish it could last forever!"

Hate to say good-bye

By on Saturday, March 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought the '96 Odyssey new to haul around our daughters and their cello and sting bass. I bet 100K miles of the 140,000 were driving to lessons and orchestra. Perfect for the big moves to college and our move to AZ. Never a break down, handles great in snow (yes, mountains of AZ!) and the four regular doors sure beat the new sliders. Planning to downsize with no more hauling girls or instruments, but what a great family car it's been. Just routine maintenance and a couple new sets of tires and even got decent mileage (26 hwy). Our 3rd Honda and never a regret with any."

Honda Out Did Themselves On This Car

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this vehicle since 1/1998. We have 85,000 miles on it. Had to replace the transmission in the first few years, which Honda paid for and have done routine maintenance, tires and brakes, and nothing else. We bought this vehicle because it was able to carry 7 people and some cargo. I'm driving a 2006 Civic currently, and the Van is still the most comfortable of the two vehicles. Way to Go Honda!"

the oddessy

By on Saturday, March 08, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The van has been a joy to own. The only thing we have had to replace has been tires, and brakes. Our family loves the room inside and the functionality of the folding rear seat. The kids love the fact that the rear windows roll down, a feature that only recently has been incorporated in mini vans. Way to go Honda"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals