Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 100 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

By on Monday, September 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, September 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Vehicle Ever!!!

By on Wednesday, August 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"After owning this car for 13 years, this minivan has never given me any headaches. It is extremely reliable, has a very good build quality, satisfactory performance, decent design, and comfortable seating. Engine: - very reliable - sometimes is rather noisy - occasionally underpowered (esp. on steeper hills) - fuel efficient (I average 25mpg city and 27mpg highway) Seats: - extremely comfortable (cloth) - front and middle rows can tilt nearly 180 degrees, like a bed - prone to stains Overall, an AWESOME CAR!!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, August 14, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Van

By on Wednesday, July 28, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new, now with 180K miles and was pretty expensive in 1997 ($25K), a little underpowered but has been a great slightly smaller minivan. Just had all belts replaced again, plus water pump and some oil seals this time. That was a bit expensive ($900), but we will keep on trucking. Will need a new distributor soon (oil leak), but at 13 years old still runs fine."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, July 23, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

great car

By on Wednesday, July 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased the car new in 1997 and have driven it since. In 13 years and 170,000 miles, it has had no major mechanical problems. It is versitile while still getting reasonable gas mileage. Don't know what I will do if I have to replace it."

By on Wednesday, July 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Old timer

By on Thursday, May 13, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car in the family for 15 years. in that time, aside from regular maintenance, i have only had to replace the water pump, starter, and the alternator. The car truly deserves 6 stars for reliability. It just died on me for good, it made it 515,982 miles in its lifetime. It was the best car i have ever owned. RIP."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very Reliable Vehicl

By on Monday, May 03, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This vehicle has been in my family since I was 14 years old. I am now 28 and it is still running great. With regular maintenance, we have had absolutely no major problems except the axle boots leaking (which caused us to replace the front axle) just this winter. For a car going on its 15th year and over 183k miles, I couldn't be happier with the way it has handled its fair share of hard work and continues to perform well. I expect it to last another 100k before it finishes. Then again, I talked to another owner of this exact year make and model and he had over 320000, so who knows..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

i love my honda

By on Wednesday, April 28, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"we have the 6 passenger style with the 4 captains chairs and bench, 3rd row back seat. we always left the 3rd seat folded down cuz it created a blind spot. i love that there are so many cubbies for stuff all over the van. and i have never had a car with so many cupholders. i love that fact! a few downfalls, which arent much anyway, were the placement of the front cupholders. they are the hideaway kind that you just pull the tray out when you need them or push it back in to hide it when you dont. they are placed right under the radio so that your drinks are right in front of the buttons and you have to move your drink every time you wanna change the station. it also blocked your ability to open the ashtray. my main gripe is the tilt wheel doesnt come down near as far as most other cars with tilt wheels. even when all the way down i had to sit my seat closer just to reach the top of the wheel. i also hate that u have to use your key to lock the doors from the drivers door. which is weird that you can lock all the doors from the passenger door from the inside. its a safety feature so the driver doesnt lock the keys in the car, which is good i guess."

By on Friday, March 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have owned our Odyssey since 1996. 198000 miles. Still drives great. No major problems and with a pair of studded tires is a snow beast in the winter. The best vehicle we have ever owned. By the way it's a wagon, not a van."

Best Family Car hands down

By on Friday, February 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"My wife and I bouht our odessey back in 2000 and still drive it as our main family car. We have 4 kids with ages ranging from 6-1 and they have plenty of room. I average hwy and in town 28 mpg. I have only had to make 2 small repairs each costing me no more that a coulple of hundred dollars."

RELIABLE

By on Monday, February 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"MUCH BETTER THAN NEWER MODEL ODYSSEY!"

Ole`Reliable

By on Saturday, January 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"223,000 miles and still going strong. I just got back from a 700 mile trip traveling in ice, snow and rain. Tracks and hancles beautifully and is a comfortable a an old favorite pair of jeans. Still like the smaller size as compared to the new styled Honda, I average over 25 miles/ gallon still at intererstate speeds. Hopeing to keep it for several more years."

By on Sunday, December 06, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, December 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Saturday, October 31, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my Odyssey since they first came out in June 95. Mine has over 175 miles and has been the most versitile car I've ever owned. It's done eveything I've asked - haul kids and friends and lots of stuff. I'd buy another in a minute if they still made them. Mine still gets 24 miles a gallon around town. Makes bettter sense for everyday use than the monster van the Odyssey has morphed into."

Love this van

By on Sunday, September 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love this van and what it's been to our family; it hauls kids and their equipment. Flip the back seat down, take out the middle row and you can haul just about anything adult; we've had a riding mower in the rear of the last one we owned. This van is so great, versatile and reliable we searched high and low for a second one after wrecking the first one; apparently one of the few ways you can kill this model."

175,000 and counting

By on Tuesday, September 08, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought this car new in 1994. It has served us incredibly well. Very little maintenance other than the standard stuff. Timing belt, new brakes and struts were about all that has been wrong. I am still getting 20+ MPG. Clunker? NO WAY!!!"

By on Tuesday, August 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Solid wonderful car with all the extras and great on trips as well as hauling and extra cargo available as well as 6 seating. I have an superior mechanic who keeps it running beautifully. I get 30 mpg expressway and 28 'round town"

Nice for small family

By on Monday, August 10, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 97 Honda Odyssey is nice if you only have 2 kids. Once the 3rd one comes, you start to outgrow the van. We now have 4 kids and are very cramped when we go somewhere. The 4 cylinder is great for gas mileage and easier to work on than the V6, however, the V-Tec 4 cylinder (which is not standard equipment on this van) has more power when you need to merge into traffic on the freeway. Have owned this van for 9 years with no problems at all."

lovin' it still!

By on Sunday, June 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this car for 10 of its 13 years and love it! It's been with me through 3 kids and umpteen art shows, trips to Lowes and the garden center, with nary a trip to the mechanic. I've changed the oil regularly and had very few major repairs except for a $1000 sensor - yuck! It's been completely reliable. I love it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I have two!!

By on Saturday, June 06, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've always said I would have a tough time being in sales because I couldn't sell something I didn't believe in completely. Well, sign me up to sell 1st gen odysseys!! My wife drives a 95 LX we bought used 10 years ago with 50K. We now have 214,000. We have done all scheduled maintenance. We paid $12,500 10 years ago and still can get 2K for it today. Other than a few squeaks the engine and trans is as solid as when we bought it!! It is absolutely the best money we have ever spent on a car. 6 years ago we needed to replace a mercury that was shot at 110K and I asked my wife what she would like as a replacement, she said... "another odyssey just like the one I have" so I found a 96EX on line with 35K, paid 12.5K for that. it now has 157K runs great. I've seen many comments from others that if honda sold this size van today, I would buy it in a heartbeat. It has also helped to have an independent mechanic who is as honest as these vans have been reliable. It is as close to free transportation as you can get!!"

A very reliable car

By on Thursday, April 02, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have owned this car for nearly 11 years. Pro: 1. No mechanical or engine problem 2. Not too big outside, very easy to park 3. MPG is good, around 20 to 23. 4. Very much practical for daily and trip use. Seat 7+grocery space or 5+big trunk Con: 1. Ignition replaced after 8 years due to too much turn on/off daily (3 to up to 6,7 times per day) 2. Little loud when speed up, but no too bothered 3. Front left visor broke after 7 years. Was trying to replace this car but got no reason to convince wife because the car is just too reliable with a good look."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details