Go

1996 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 112 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next

By on Saturday, August 14, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, July 23, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

very reliable vehicle

By on Friday, October 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i have driven honda,s for the past 20 years and i can say nothing but good about them when i get in a honda i know it will take me to my destination and back i never had one that would not they are like timex they keep on ticking i had then with over 600,000 km,s on them and still ran fine"

By on Monday, September 6, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, September 6, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Surprising and Loaded with Extras

By on Friday, August 19, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle was given to me by an elderly couple retiring to NM. It was and is immaculate and well-maintained. Upholstery flawless. The extras amazed me, fold down rear bench seat, middle bucket seats easily remove to make cargo space. Absolutely comfortable seating, tilt wheel, sliding sunroof, two glove compartments .. the last true 4 door van made by Honda .. far more convenient and reliable than sliding doors. Well pleased with the vehicle, who could ask for more?"

great car

By on Wednesday, July 7, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased the car new in 1997 and have driven it since. In 13 years and 170,000 miles, it has had no major mechanical problems. It is versitile while still getting reasonable gas mileage. Don't know what I will do if I have to replace it."

By on Wednesday, July 7, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, March 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have owned our Odyssey since 1996. 198000 miles. Still drives great. No major problems and with a pair of studded tires is a snow beast in the winter. The best vehicle we have ever owned. By the way it's a wagon, not a van."

Best Family Car hands down

By on Friday, February 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"My wife and I bouht our odessey back in 2000 and still drive it as our main family car. We have 4 kids with ages ranging from 6-1 and they have plenty of room. I average hwy and in town 28 mpg. I have only had to make 2 small repairs each costing me no more that a coulple of hundred dollars."

RELIABLE

By on Monday, February 1, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"MUCH BETTER THAN NEWER MODEL ODYSSEY!"

Ole`Reliable

By on Saturday, January 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"223,000 miles and still going strong. I just got back from a 700 mile trip traveling in ice, snow and rain. Tracks and hancles beautifully and is a comfortable a an old favorite pair of jeans. Still like the smaller size as compared to the new styled Honda, I average over 25 miles/ gallon still at intererstate speeds. Hopeing to keep it for several more years."

By on Sunday, December 6, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, December 1, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Saturday, October 31, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my Odyssey since they first came out in June 95. Mine has over 175 miles and has been the most versitile car I've ever owned. It's done eveything I've asked - haul kids and friends and lots of stuff. I'd buy another in a minute if they still made them. Mine still gets 24 miles a gallon around town. Makes bettter sense for everyday use than the monster van the Odyssey has morphed into."

Love this van

By on Sunday, September 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love this van and what it's been to our family; it hauls kids and their equipment. Flip the back seat down, take out the middle row and you can haul just about anything adult; we've had a riding mower in the rear of the last one we owned. This van is so great, versatile and reliable we searched high and low for a second one after wrecking the first one; apparently one of the few ways you can kill this model."

175,000 and counting

By on Tuesday, September 8, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought this car new in 1994. It has served us incredibly well. Very little maintenance other than the standard stuff. Timing belt, new brakes and struts were about all that has been wrong. I am still getting 20+ MPG. Clunker? NO WAY!!!"

By on Tuesday, August 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Solid wonderful car with all the extras and great on trips as well as hauling and extra cargo available as well as 6 seating. I have an superior mechanic who keeps it running beautifully. I get 30 mpg expressway and 28 'round town"

Nice for small family

By on Monday, August 10, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 97 Honda Odyssey is nice if you only have 2 kids. Once the 3rd one comes, you start to outgrow the van. We now have 4 kids and are very cramped when we go somewhere. The 4 cylinder is great for gas mileage and easier to work on than the V6, however, the V-Tec 4 cylinder (which is not standard equipment on this van) has more power when you need to merge into traffic on the freeway. Have owned this van for 9 years with no problems at all."

I have two!!

By on Saturday, June 6, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've always said I would have a tough time being in sales because I couldn't sell something I didn't believe in completely. Well, sign me up to sell 1st gen odysseys!! My wife drives a 95 LX we bought used 10 years ago with 50K. We now have 214,000. We have done all scheduled maintenance. We paid $12,500 10 years ago and still can get 2K for it today. Other than a few squeaks the engine and trans is as solid as when we bought it!! It is absolutely the best money we have ever spent on a car. 6 years ago we needed to replace a mercury that was shot at 110K and I asked my wife what she would like as a replacement, she said... "another odyssey just like the one I have" so I found a 96EX on line with 35K, paid 12.5K for that. it now has 157K runs great. I've seen many comments from others that if honda sold this size van today, I would buy it in a heartbeat. It has also helped to have an independent mechanic who is as honest as these vans have been reliable. It is as close to free transportation as you can get!!"

A very reliable car

By on Thursday, April 2, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have owned this car for nearly 11 years. Pro: 1. No mechanical or engine problem 2. Not too big outside, very easy to park 3. MPG is good, around 20 to 23. 4. Very much practical for daily and trip use. Seat 7+grocery space or 5+big trunk Con: 1. Ignition replaced after 8 years due to too much turn on/off daily (3 to up to 6,7 times per day) 2. Little loud when speed up, but no too bothered 3. Front left visor broke after 7 years. Was trying to replace this car but got no reason to convince wife because the car is just too reliable with a good look."

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this from a guy for $300 W/No rust!! The 1997 Honda sat for 7 months and started on the first try! I put new brakes on plus one caliper and changed the oil, wow $300 for a Honda what a steal.I parked my 2002 gas hog and this thing never wants gas, The Sony stereo was worth $200 I LOVE IT!!"

By on Monday, January 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement