Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 103 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

Best Odyssey EVER

By on Monday, January 31, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Brings tears to my eyes thinking of ever having to part with this van. It has been hands down, the best vehicle I have ever owned. Bought her when she was 2 years old, back in 2000. Aside from scheduled maintenance, have had no problems what so ever. The versitility of this van is amazing. I plan on driving this beauty until the engine falls out, which most likely wont happen for at least another 100K miles. Love, love, love my 1998 Honda Odyssey!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very reliable vehicle

By on Friday, October 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i have driven honda,s for the past 20 years and i can say nothing but good about them when i get in a honda i know it will take me to my destination and back i never had one that would not they are like timex they keep on ticking i had then with over 600,000 km,s on them and still ran fine"

Best Family Vehicle

By on Sunday, October 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have 98 odyssey, I like its gas mileage, 25 mpg in the city, since it is 4 cylinders. I don't care about power so much because Oklahoma is flat county anyway, whoever behind me on the red light can be patient for a few seconds. It is reliable, I just replaced the stabilizer link connection, it didn't cause any major problem, I had it on 2009, replaced the timing belt, cost me 350, Burns oil little bit but I keep adding it. It took us to Canada border and hopefully will take us to California from Oklahoma."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, September 06, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Vehicle Ever!!!

By on Wednesday, August 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"After owning this car for 13 years, this minivan has never given me any headaches. It is extremely reliable, has a very good build quality, satisfactory performance, decent design, and comfortable seating. Engine: - very reliable - sometimes is rather noisy - occasionally underpowered (esp. on steeper hills) - fuel efficient (I average 25mpg city and 27mpg highway) Seats: - extremely comfortable (cloth) - front and middle rows can tilt nearly 180 degrees, like a bed - prone to stains Overall, an AWESOME CAR!!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, August 14, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Van

By on Wednesday, July 28, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new, now with 180K miles and was pretty expensive in 1997 ($25K), a little underpowered but has been a great slightly smaller minivan. Just had all belts replaced again, plus water pump and some oil seals this time. That was a bit expensive ($900), but we will keep on trucking. Will need a new distributor soon (oil leak), but at 13 years old still runs fine."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, July 23, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

great car

By on Wednesday, July 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased the car new in 1997 and have driven it since. In 13 years and 170,000 miles, it has had no major mechanical problems. It is versitile while still getting reasonable gas mileage. Don't know what I will do if I have to replace it."

By on Wednesday, July 07, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Old timer

By on Thursday, May 13, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this car in the family for 15 years. in that time, aside from regular maintenance, i have only had to replace the water pump, starter, and the alternator. The car truly deserves 6 stars for reliability. It just died on me for good, it made it 515,982 miles in its lifetime. It was the best car i have ever owned. RIP."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very Reliable Vehicl

By on Monday, May 03, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This vehicle has been in my family since I was 14 years old. I am now 28 and it is still running great. With regular maintenance, we have had absolutely no major problems except the axle boots leaking (which caused us to replace the front axle) just this winter. For a car going on its 15th year and over 183k miles, I couldn't be happier with the way it has handled its fair share of hard work and continues to perform well. I expect it to last another 100k before it finishes. Then again, I talked to another owner of this exact year make and model and he had over 320000, so who knows..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i love my honda

By on Wednesday, April 28, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"we have the 6 passenger style with the 4 captains chairs and bench, 3rd row back seat. we always left the 3rd seat folded down cuz it created a blind spot. i love that there are so many cubbies for stuff all over the van. and i have never had a car with so many cupholders. i love that fact! a few downfalls, which arent much anyway, were the placement of the front cupholders. they are the hideaway kind that you just pull the tray out when you need them or push it back in to hide it when you dont. they are placed right under the radio so that your drinks are right in front of the buttons and you have to move your drink every time you wanna change the station. it also blocked your ability to open the ashtray. my main gripe is the tilt wheel doesnt come down near as far as most other cars with tilt wheels. even when all the way down i had to sit my seat closer just to reach the top of the wheel. i also hate that u have to use your key to lock the doors from the drivers door. which is weird that you can lock all the doors from the passenger door from the inside. its a safety feature so the driver doesnt lock the keys in the car, which is good i guess."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Friday, March 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have owned our Odyssey since 1996. 198000 miles. Still drives great. No major problems and with a pair of studded tires is a snow beast in the winter. The best vehicle we have ever owned. By the way it's a wagon, not a van."

Best Family Car hands down

By on Friday, February 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"My wife and I bouht our odessey back in 2000 and still drive it as our main family car. We have 4 kids with ages ranging from 6-1 and they have plenty of room. I average hwy and in town 28 mpg. I have only had to make 2 small repairs each costing me no more that a coulple of hundred dollars."

RELIABLE

By on Monday, February 01, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"MUCH BETTER THAN NEWER MODEL ODYSSEY!"

Ole`Reliable

By on Saturday, January 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"223,000 miles and still going strong. I just got back from a 700 mile trip traveling in ice, snow and rain. Tracks and hancles beautifully and is a comfortable a an old favorite pair of jeans. Still like the smaller size as compared to the new styled Honda, I average over 25 miles/ gallon still at intererstate speeds. Hopeing to keep it for several more years."

By on Sunday, December 06, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, December 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Saturday, October 31, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my Odyssey since they first came out in June 95. Mine has over 175 miles and has been the most versitile car I've ever owned. It's done eveything I've asked - haul kids and friends and lots of stuff. I'd buy another in a minute if they still made them. Mine still gets 24 miles a gallon around town. Makes bettter sense for everyday use than the monster van the Odyssey has morphed into."

Love this van

By on Sunday, September 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love this van and what it's been to our family; it hauls kids and their equipment. Flip the back seat down, take out the middle row and you can haul just about anything adult; we've had a riding mower in the rear of the last one we owned. This van is so great, versatile and reliable we searched high and low for a second one after wrecking the first one; apparently one of the few ways you can kill this model."

175,000 and counting

By on Tuesday, September 08, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought this car new in 1994. It has served us incredibly well. Very little maintenance other than the standard stuff. Timing belt, new brakes and struts were about all that has been wrong. I am still getting 20+ MPG. Clunker? NO WAY!!!"

By on Tuesday, August 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Solid wonderful car with all the extras and great on trips as well as hauling and extra cargo available as well as 6 seating. I have an superior mechanic who keeps it running beautifully. I get 30 mpg expressway and 28 'round town"

Nice for small family

By on Monday, August 10, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 97 Honda Odyssey is nice if you only have 2 kids. Once the 3rd one comes, you start to outgrow the van. We now have 4 kids and are very cramped when we go somewhere. The 4 cylinder is great for gas mileage and easier to work on than the V6, however, the V-Tec 4 cylinder (which is not standard equipment on this van) has more power when you need to merge into traffic on the freeway. Have owned this van for 9 years with no problems at all."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals