Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1995 Honda Odyssey

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 100 Ratings for the 1995 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
 

Most trouble-free, reliable car I ever knew.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Getting a bit rusty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 1995 Honda Odyssey. It may be aging, but it has NEVER let me down. Simply the most reliable, low-maintenance, trouble-free car I every drove. It has great cargo room, great roof rack, and has driven loads of children. Love the four doors. Kids love the back seat."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The best minivan made, in my opinion.

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 219,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, economical, good room, nimble"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My family has driven this little van for 10 years, and it has given great service for about 220,00 miles. It is old enough that I'm not confident of it on trips now, but it is still a great automobile for most needs."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this little van. I love the room it has and the fact that all 4 doors open like a car. It gets great gas mileage and is very low maintainence. Wouldn't trade it for a brand new one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love the car

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the care"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"love driving it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Big, comfy on inside and easy highway driving.

By on Thursday, May 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "sun roof, air con, comfy, roomy , big windows etc."

Cons: "can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my mini van. It is the best car I've ever owned. It is spacious, comfortable and great for moving people, grociers, pets, furniture etc. Wonderful for camping and traveling on rainy days. It is roomy on the inside and one can walk from the front seats to the rear bench seat with out getting out of the car. Big on the inside yet easy to park where compact cars park. Great car and I'd hate to part with it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

18 years and counting, the most reliable ever

By on Thursday, April 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "the most reliable vehicle ever"

Cons: "windshield wipers not fast enough for the deluge"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"hoping this car will hold out two more years so I can get a new honda for my 65th birthday"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

The best economical people mover you can buy

By on Thursday, August 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "economical, comfortable, lots of seating options"

Cons: "not the quickest (but it is a 4 cylinder minivan!)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No other mini van/suv gets 27-28 miles per gallon (on hwy) unless you are willing to spend $45,000 plus on a hybrid. This vehicle has been the best I have owned. Mine has 175,000+ miles and is still running strong. Comfortable, easy to carry things from home improvement stores, great reliability."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Honda had it right

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, excellent all-around car"

Cons: "Acceleration, ABS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my '97 in '07 with 145k for $4500. Feels like a slightly overweight Accord, confident, sporty handling even on challenging mountain roads. No other minivan comes close for economy, reliability and comfort at a reasonable price. The four cyl. would have mated better with a manual transmission or 5-speed automatic - getting on the freeway makes it scream. ABS never worked, and fixing it is big $$. Brakes are great even without ABS. You can haul a washing machine, sleep in it, take comfortable road trips or just run around town, 21 city 29 hwy. Not too many of them left out there with low miles and no rust, awesome car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great value and useful design

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 350,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, smaller size, handy"

Cons: "brake wear, decent gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our family bought our 1995 Odyssey 7 years ago and it had 147,000 miles. It now has 350,000 and is still going strong. Other than regular maintanence, we have had no problems. We love how spacious the room is when the rear seat is folded. We have hauled everything from feed, hay, and straw..to groceries and anything else a busy family needs to transport. We have had to keep up with regular brake repairs and the gas milage is good, not great---but we still love the reliabilty and handy nature of a smaller van."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

OMG! I love my van! Roomy, versatile, dependable,

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas milage, room, dependability"

Cons: "Driver has to lock with key. A little irritating,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you already own this van, you know exactly what I mean. The only thing I have had to do is replace the battery with a "cold weather" battery... a must where I live. I get 28 mpg with routine driving. What's not to love?"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very Happy

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to change from 7 pass. to cargo. Efficient."

Cons: "It's got nearly 400,000 miles on it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 10 years and put 280,000 miles on it in that time. I've been very happy"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

close to the perfect vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "PRACTICAL AND FUN TO DRIVE AND NO BLIND SPOTS"

Cons: "IT'S A 1998"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"purchased new;owned a 95 accord ex previously which i really liked but this car actually drove better;last honda van to have the 4 regular car doors instead of the sliding door much better;same wheelbase as accord and can can carry 8 in a pinch and 7 comfortably and with the fold-away 3rd seat and t;he mid-bench folded and slid-up you can haul lots of stuff;22-23 city/almost 30 hwy;almost the perfect car and it all still works ;maybe u can match the millon miles like the guy in MAINE! STILL A GREAT CAR"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best Minivan Ever.

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 318,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great size, best reliability, best mi"

Cons: "stopped making them after 97'."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was the first my family ever bought new, and has carried it ever since. And when i turned 26 i was given the car, and even through my teenage shenanigans, the car has never once let me down. Apart from basic maintenance, it has never needed repair and has retained all of its mechanics and electronics. I couldn't have asked for a better car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Five years ago purchased the vehicle used from a local dealer. It had 172,000 miles. It was a chance, but the vehicle had good recommendations, and the dealer had done his job making sure it was in salable condition. Now, it has 215,000. With the exception of a new radiator, just normal maintenance done. Runs like new. Still looks almost new. With its car-like doors, fold-down back seat, and styling, it is still a pleasure to own and use. Would not hesitate to take it anywhere tomorrow. Just a great, reliable vehicle, and they truly don't make them like this anymore. Too bad."

I have owned this Honda for 14 year and still love

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car for our first child never beiving we would still have it 14years later. It;s lost it cool factor with the kids but it been a great car wwith no problems, It;s starting to show it;s age and some things are wearing."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good to drive

By on Friday, September 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "140000 miles, fun to drive"

Cons: "Needs body work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good condition"

Really great durable car

By on Sunday, September 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,124

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been through literally every kind of weather and terrain you can think of and still runs great. It has a lot of cool features that many minivans these days don't have like car doors opening out not sliding and a sunroof! awesome first car"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

No minivan can topple this one!

By on Sunday, September 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Wish it was a six cylinder for more power but not in exchange for its good mileage (23/32 still)."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love, love this car and for once, I never made a bad decision to insist on getting this when it first came out. My van is the last model to be built in Japan. It has been reliable ever since; serves as my truck in hauling things long and wide! Boy, I hope they will continue making this model and design. 7 seaters! I have all my friends in it when traveling rather than have a convoy of two or three cars. This way we have fun on way to our destination! This model and year was a great one! Thanks Honda for coming up with this idea. I bought this when I had my daughter. Now my daughter is in high school and is learning to drive with the van! Very dependable. Original engine, transmission, etc. Just making sure my timing belt gets changed as recommended."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I don't want anything but another Honda Odyssey!

By on Tuesday, September 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 364,108

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "stylish"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

CAN YOU BEAT MY MILEAGE!!!! NOTHING BUT HONDA BABY!

"I bought my 1997 Honday Odyssey in 2002, and it had 97000 miles. I now have 364108 miles, AND there is nothing wrong with my van except some oil leaks. The check engine light says that I need a catalytic converter, but I have waited over 2 years before replacing it---- and it's still running no problem. It has a stylish look- even for a soccer mom. I can haul my kids AND their friends as well as use it as a small moving truck. I LOVE MY HONDA Odssey. I would buy another one, if I could afford it- except I like the older body style better than the new one."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

CAN YOU BEAT MY MILEAGE!!!! NOTHING BUT HONDA BABY!

260,000 miles on ours

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent value and very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this minivan in 2002 used with 60000 miles. I drove it cross country several times and logged a total of 260,000 miles on our Odyssey before it finally had to be put out to pasture. No major problems in all that time. Just regular care and maintenance. It can haul a lot of people or if the two back rows are folded down it can haul some fairly big furniture. The new 2011 models look sleek. I'd buy one if I could afford it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best ever, nothing these days come close!!!

By on Monday, July 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "EVERYTHING"

Cons: "THEY DON'T MAKE ANYMORE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own 2, 1 with 270,000"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A simple & inexpensive family hauler

By on Monday, March 28, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought a 96 Odyssey new off the lot & still have ours w/166K on the clock. It has been a great little car. Inexpensive, but comfortable for a famiy. Very few mechanical problems in 15 years has made this an inexpensive & reliable ride for us and our 2 kids. Perform service, as outlined in the manual & you will get many years of good service."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Odyssey EVER

By on Monday, January 31, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Brings tears to my eyes thinking of ever having to part with this van. It has been hands down, the best vehicle I have ever owned. Bought her when she was 2 years old, back in 2000. Aside from scheduled maintenance, have had no problems what so ever. The versitility of this van is amazing. I plan on driving this beauty until the engine falls out, which most likely wont happen for at least another 100K miles. Love, love, love my 1998 Honda Odyssey!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very reliable vehicle

By on Friday, October 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i have driven honda,s for the past 20 years and i can say nothing but good about them when i get in a honda i know it will take me to my destination and back i never had one that would not they are like timex they keep on ticking i had then with over 600,000 km,s on them and still ran fine"

Best Family Vehicle

By on Sunday, October 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have 98 odyssey, I like its gas mileage, 25 mpg in the city, since it is 4 cylinders. I don't care about power so much because Oklahoma is flat county anyway, whoever behind me on the red light can be patient for a few seconds. It is reliable, I just replaced the stabilizer link connection, it didn't cause any major problem, I had it on 2009, replaced the timing belt, cost me 350, Burns oil little bit but I keep adding it. It took us to Canada border and hopefully will take us to California from Oklahoma."

 
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Odyssey near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details