Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2006 Honda Insight

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 79 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Honda Insight, what really matters

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

"Ok, is this a fast car, NO! Is is super comfortable to ride in or is it quiet, NO! Will it hold 7 people and all the gear you can haul, NO! Why is this great car? The Honda Insight is a wonderful car because of the potential for saving $$$ on fuel. And believe it or not, it's actually quite fun to drive. Now if you climb into this car and try to hot rod it around town I don't think you'll be very impressed with the mileage. Just remember, change of driver attitude is one of the most effective modifications you can make to your car to save gas. If you just just try a little you can get >70MPG and over 700 miles to a tank of gas. If you try really hard you can get >100MPG and well over 1000 miles from a tank! This isn't a family car, but it's a great car for back and forth to work or as a second car if you have a family. I love mine, my record tank is 1200 miles, maintaining 98.4MPG."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Insight as primary vehicle

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"Owned since new in 2000, my personal favorite car and the great gaas mileage is the reason. Entertaining instrumentation allows you to monitor fuel mileage instantly and you can squeeze out extra mileage easily with driving method changes. If you rev up the engine before shifting it is plenty fast too, topping out at 102. Easily can go 80 on the highway but then fuel mileage will suffer a bit. Optimum fuel mileage also compromised by hilly terrain, works best on flat land."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, October 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Owner opinion

By on Wednesday, October 10, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

"Neat little car that was a lot of fun to drive, but definitely not worth the added money for the hybrid aspect over a normal Civic. Uncomfortable in long road trips and it is a two seater."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best car I have ever owned

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought it used in 2002 with 14,000, still driving everyday with 176,000. 85% of average American's driving is solo. Been getting 70mpg for years, can get over 100 when I draft semi's on my way to Michigan. It's reliable, comfortable, strange looking in a loveable way. it's been very good to me and I hope I have it for another 150,000."

9 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Excellent car for outstanding highway gas mileage

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great mileage, very good handling, very reliable"

Cons: "Understandibly 'underpowered', Spartan interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was designed to maximize highway gas mileage, and it achieves that very well. EPA Highway Rating is 66 MPG, and I have gotten that on several occasions during the 9.5 years (200,000 miles) I have owned this car. I use this car to commute ~90 miles round trip to work each day, mostly highway miles, I have gotten as high as 70 MPG, and routinely get over 60 MPG. It is not a road-burner, and does need to be down-shifted to ascend some hills (with concomitant loss of speed), but that is not what it was designed to do. Not the most comfortable car I've ever owned, but I did not get it for long, cross-country trips. All-in-all, an excellent car for outstanding highway gas mileage."

6 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great fuel economy - best as a 2nd car

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and great on gas."

Cons: "Not a lot of cargo space, marginal air conditionin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 2001 Hybrid technology was evolving and this car was state of the art then. There have been a few problems with the sensors giving (incorrect) indications of engine problems, requiring software "fixes" to the computer controlling things. The car itself is very durable. Living in Michigan I am used to seeing cars rust out after a few years, but the fiberglass body on this car is still immaculate. Overall mileage for this car over 106,000 miles was 60.3 mpg for all kinds of driving: city and highway. The car is peppy and nimble and spacious inside for 2 adults. Cargo space is limited. The engine is so small that running the air conditioning causes a noticeable decrease in the otherwise peppy performance. An excellent 2nd car for a family who need two cars."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, December 10, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

its got mpg but whers honda relyibility

By on Friday, April 26, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: no relibility

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "mpg"

Cons: "everything els"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"no releibility good mpg but what a money pit its 7 years old and almost 7,597 in repaers no more hondas for me"

1 person out of 15 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, November 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, November 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, August 22, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, August 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, March 01, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, October 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i've had it for 3 years and i love it.."

Excellent car if you don't have a family

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very few problems in 11 years; good crash survival"

Cons: "Anything that does go wrong is expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"As a 2-seater, this is not meant to be a family car. If you're looking for reliable transportation and gas savings, I found it to be good at both for the last 11 years. I had one relatively major crash (1-2 years in) at about 40 mph (I thought the insurance company might even total it, but they didn't) where a truck pulled across my lane... and the car kept me from harm even though his tire/axle impaled the whole engine -- making it look like I'd wrapped it around a telephone pole or something. It's fuel economy is extraordinary, which with my limited milage helped to keep me from needing more than about 1 stop at the gas station per month. =) It's a bit low to the ground for some people getting in and out... my 6'8" work buddy and my slightly heavyset father both dislike getting in and out of it. Myself, I don't have a problem with it, but I'm still fairly young, avg height, and of slight build. It is a comfortable car, with leg-room and head-room for all but the tallest to be comfortable once inside. My younger sister absolutely raved about the comfort of the bucket seats when she tried driving it, and I have grown very used to them over the years... now finding many other cars' seats to be rather unlikeable after getting used to mine. The steering / handling is quite good in my opinion, and the car turns very well. The ride is probably a bit stiff for some people, but as I'm accustomed to it, I don't even notice the fact unless I've been driving someone else's car for a while. There is a bit more road noise than in some more luxurious cars, but it's a fairly low key background and doesn't particularly bother me. I've only had 2 major repairs in 11 years (excepting the crash mentioned above) and the first was completely covered under the extended warranty I had purchased with the car. The first (covered) was a battery pack controller (tells the batteries when/how/how long/how fast to charge and discharge) would have been around $4K, and the latest one is the battery pack itself needing to be replaced... and I'm still waiting for a final cost figure... but it's somewhere in $3K-$5K. So... it's fairly expensive when something goes wrong with the electric side of "hybrid"."

By on Wednesday, September 16, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, June 08, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Insight Rocks

By on Monday, October 06, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Simply a great car, technology, and 55+ AVG MPG!"

Good Car, Few Options

By on Saturday, September 27, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I needed a car to get to work 100 miles a day and mostly highway driving. Few options, but I didn't care and almost all my driving on highway. Not build for back roads and you have to go slow in Winter. The Honda dealerships know how to treat their customer."

Perfect commute vehicle

By on Monday, September 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"With the exception of a slightly rough ride on poorly maintained highways the Insight is the perfect commuting vehicle. Efficient, nimble, fits in the most cramped parking spots, all with Honda reliability; what more can you ask for from a runabout?"

Nothing Better

By on Sunday, August 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I cannot believe how lucky I am to own this car. I have wanted one since they became available in 2000 and was able to purchase mine in 2004. After putting 70,000 miles on in addition to the previous owners 25,000, I could not be happier. This vehicle is reliable, economical, and stylish to boot."

Honda Insight

By on Sunday, July 27, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Excellent commuter and in-town vehicle. I usually get between 48 and 55 mpg for mixed hwy and in-town driving. Very reliable car. Hard to find vehicle."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Insight near Honolulu. See local deals