Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2006 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 686 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
 

Best car ever

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "No problems in 9 years"

Cons: "Cant think of one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this baby brand new in 2005. What a car. ZERO, and I mean ZERO problems with it mechanically in 9 years. This car has been so good to me. I highly recommend a Honda CRV to anyone who wants a roomy, reliable small SUV"

Typical Honda engineering

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Clever room and storage, Honda reliability"

Cons: "Driver's seat doesn't go back far enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From the pass-through between the front seats to the extra storage underneath the removable tray table in the cargo area, the CR-V is nothing if not clever. With the multi- position rear seats you can easily accommodate every shape and form of car seat. Plenty of power and typical Honda handling, free of slop. Amazing how little body roll there is for such a tall wagon. Brakes perform adequately and having driven through some considerable snow fall, the AWD performed flawlessly. Cargo area holds everything and more for a family of 4. Mileage is decent for its size and AWD drivetrain. Just wish that the driver's seat went back one more notch."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent. Reliable. Good pick-up/power. Sturdy.

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rear interior height. Multi-purpose use."

Cons: "A/C may need servicing in hot climate areas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Compares well with the Odyssey we had before it. More rugged. Does well as commuting, long-distance, around town, recreational utility, and multi-weather-beater vehicle. Quite comfortable whether sitting in front or back. Feels and drives safe."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: didn't need SUV anymore

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, roomy, great for camping"

Cons: "road noise (no big deal)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car for 7 years and put 131,000 miles. I am only letting it go because I no longer need SUV (no kids) and I want something great on gas mileage. I had no problems with it (except normal wear & tear). It has surprises like a removable table built into trunk and a storage box under passenger seat :) There is extra room under table also where I kept my camping stuff!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: didn't need SUV anymore

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, roomy, great for camping"

Cons: "road noise (no big deal)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car for 7 years and put 131,000 miles. I am only letting it go because I no longer need SUV (no kids) and I want something great on gas mileage. I had no problems with it (except normal wear & tear). It has surprises like a removable table built into trunk and a storage box under passenger seat :) There is extra room under table also where I kept my camping stuff!"

Great car!

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Cup holder location is not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a great car. Best value for money. Functional, practical, responsive, spacious. If i went back in time I would buy the exact same model again."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This is my 2nd Honda CRV. I'm going to get a new 1

By on Saturday, June 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,058

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, fun to drive, and plenty of room"

Cons: "no trailer hitch, wasn't supposed to have one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think Hondas are just the best cars ever! This is my second, and I will go for a new third soon! The comfort level is excellent, and I want the new bells & whistles, which is the only reason that I would trade this one in. Look at the mileage on it..only 87,042 miles, and it's a 2003. It has had very few problems, battery, tires and brakes, but what car doesn't? They go on forever too! Someone will get a good buy with this car! I wonder what colors are out now?"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car! Very comfortable for a big guy.

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very low maintenance"

Cons: "A/C A/C A/C A/C A/C A/C A/C A/C A/C A/C A/C A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought my 2004 CRV in 2006. It had 30k miles on it and now has over 173k. The car is extremely reliable but one of my complaints is there is a problem with the a/c compressor. It failed in 2009 and cost $1000 to replace it. There was a class action suit against Honda because it seems to be a major problem with these vehicles. It appears the compressor is in a bad location and overheats causing it to fail. The replacement unit failed again in 2013 and the $150 I got from Honda will not cover another replacement. In addition all of the actuators that control the locking and unlocking of the doors failed and need to be replaced and just recently the drivers window regulator failed and needed to be replaced. Great car if you dont mind no air conditioning, a drivers window that doesnt open and doors that cant be locked!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car! Hard to part with tho trading up

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Had all options available at time purchased"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I want a car with the new options--navigation, safety & fun. It's been a perfect car for me."

Buyer beware!

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Handles well, good features."

Cons: "Reliability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT, but a Honda with a VIN code that starts with "S". It was manufactured in Swindom, England and will give you nothing but trouble, especially electrical. This was even backed up by an unnamed Honda maintenance tech!"

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

awesome; ready for the next 100K

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great space to lug things. reliable!"

Cons: "can't have legs that are really long."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been tremendous. If I had not been lucky enough to have a car through work offered at my new job, Goldie would stay put in my garage. Amazing vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very practical car

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality vehicle, has a very long life."

Cons: "Brand name parts cost more than off brand parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my CR-V new, just off the truck. I have traveled in the mountains, through the desert and in town. The handling is great, just like a car, not an SUV. The leather seats are easy to keep clean and the heated seats are AMAZING in the winter. I always kept up with scheduled maintenance at the dealership and I've had no problems. This vehicle keeps it value, it's a Honda. I'm very happy with this car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Overall, good value for a small SUV

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned this car for about three years. It has high mileage and is still going strong. The ride is fairly comfortable. The AC imploded about a year after I bought it. Also, it doesn't handle as well in the snow as I thought it would. I've replace the AC, brakes, rotors and tires, but other than that, no issues. Overall, it's been a good car."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

best car i have ever had, excellent

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,568

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive, good mileage, comfortable"

Cons: "only complaint little noisy maybe from tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car is a marvel. enjoyable to drive, economical, just fun to have and easy tomaintain"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

The best of small SUVs.

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Relibaility, quality, and safety."

Cons: "Tires wear out a little earlier than rating."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Highly reliable. Low maintenance. Never let me down. Road handling is excellent, especially on curves. Riding comfort is good."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

A rare find - It is just a CR/V - I'm Keeping it

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Extremely durable - you cant kill it."

Cons: "There are no "cons" it is 2002 vintage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Recently had complete service at the dealer It has 47000 miles - new tires are good. Other items repaired perfectly. I replaced the Audio - Now there is HD radio works great Honda - It's about reliability - It-s about dealer service integrity - Customer Owner happy thanks, jrs"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

the best ever

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"awesome ,dependable ,versatile"

Loved This Car

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Roomy, Feel Safe"

Cons: "The earlier models did not have back up cameras,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car. I have driven it for 8 years with very little problems. If possible I am going to buy another one. Unfortunately for me, they were less expensive when I bought this one new 8 years ago. Now they are a lot pricier."

Loved This Car

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Roomy, Feel Safe"

Cons: "The earlier models did not have back up cameras,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car. I have driven it for 8 years with very little problems. If possible I am going to buy another one. Unfortunately for me, they were less expensive when I bought this one new 8 years ago. Now they are a lot pricier."

Loved This Car

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Roomy, Feel Safe"

Cons: "The earlier models did not have back up cameras,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car. I have driven it for 8 years with very little problems. If possible I am going to buy another one. Unfortunately for me, they were less expensive when I bought this one new 8 years ago. Now they are a lot pricier."

A great car past 100k miles

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Small, comfortable, go anywhere car!"

Cons: "Horizontal swing back door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car a little over a year ago with 82k miles on it. Since then, I've taken it on several long road trips. My mechanic says it's still working like a champ at 108k miles. We both expect to hit 200k miles someday with no problem. I really love this car. It's small enough to navigate city traffic easily. You sit high enough that you don't feel intimidated by trucks. It seats four comfortably, five in a pinch. You can go anywhere with it - 4wd only? Yeah! The only thing I don't like about it is the horizontal swing back door. It gets in the way, and if you're parked on a slant, it tends to close on you. I would prefer a door that raises up instead."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fantastic Ride

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling, gas mileage, space"

Cons: "styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this to get through rough winter. We now have had it three years. Great purchase!"

Love my CR-V

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun to drive, handles well in snow"

Cons: "Engine is a little small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2006 CR-V used in 2013 and I have to say it was one of the best purchases I've ever made. I bought the car with 100,000 miles and have since added almost 10,000. I love this car. It is such a relialbe vehichle and gets pretty good gas mileage for an SUV - consistently about 22 city and 26 Interstate. It handles beautifully in the snow, which I need living in Denver with a moderate commute. Seriously, it barely ever even slips in the snow. It has great storage abilities, since both back seats fold down. It came in handy having moved two times in the last year. I love all the cubbies in it as well. I also love my sunroof. I can't really say anything negative whatsoever about this car. I got rearended a few months ago pretty badly and the rear tire caught most of the damage. My vehicle barely needed any repairs and the guy that hit me totaled his vehicle (it completely crumpled his hood). This car is incredibly sturdy and I feel very safe riding in it, especially after than."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great vehicle very reliable

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: engine problem

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought as certified used with 26000 miles. drove this car about 1 thousand miles per week as salesman, did routine maintenance and never once did this car let me down. 416000 miles."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

reliable well maintained and still going strong

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 324,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "reliability is reliable and for sale"

Cons: "The Rain hates us never ever slid."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car newly used at 73,000 miles.I now have 324,000. This car has never ever left me stranded due to any engine problem what so ever. I have replaced all front end personally. was not to hard for a girl/WOMAN. Only thing i had a hard time with was pressing the ball joints in. My tune ups were on time, well scheduled and maintained by one garage and myself, if i couldn't do it then the garage service men did it for me. I am Replacing my transmission with a transmission with 51,000 miles on it. We shall see how that turns out and no i am not putting that in. Too big of a job for me 43 year old woman.. My engine still purrs. Been lovn it. Thanks Honda.for the dependability in my 03 Honda CR-V AWD."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

 
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals