Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2005 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 695 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

the best ever

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"awesome ,dependable ,versatile"

Loved This Car

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Roomy, Feel Safe"

Cons: "The earlier models did not have back up cameras,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car. I have driven it for 8 years with very little problems. If possible I am going to buy another one. Unfortunately for me, they were less expensive when I bought this one new 8 years ago. Now they are a lot pricier."

Loved This Car

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Roomy, Feel Safe"

Cons: "The earlier models did not have back up cameras,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car. I have driven it for 8 years with very little problems. If possible I am going to buy another one. Unfortunately for me, they were less expensive when I bought this one new 8 years ago. Now they are a lot pricier."

Loved This Car

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very Roomy, Feel Safe"

Cons: "The earlier models did not have back up cameras,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I loved this car. I have driven it for 8 years with very little problems. If possible I am going to buy another one. Unfortunately for me, they were less expensive when I bought this one new 8 years ago. Now they are a lot pricier."

A great car past 100k miles

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Small, comfortable, go anywhere car!"

Cons: "Horizontal swing back door"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car a little over a year ago with 82k miles on it. Since then, I've taken it on several long road trips. My mechanic says it's still working like a champ at 108k miles. We both expect to hit 200k miles someday with no problem. I really love this car. It's small enough to navigate city traffic easily. You sit high enough that you don't feel intimidated by trucks. It seats four comfortably, five in a pinch. You can go anywhere with it - 4wd only? Yeah! The only thing I don't like about it is the horizontal swing back door. It gets in the way, and if you're parked on a slant, it tends to close on you. I would prefer a door that raises up instead."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fantastic Ride

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handling, gas mileage, space"

Cons: "styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this to get through rough winter. We now have had it three years. Great purchase!"

Love my CR-V

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, fun to drive, handles well in snow"

Cons: "Engine is a little small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2006 CR-V used in 2013 and I have to say it was one of the best purchases I've ever made. I bought the car with 100,000 miles and have since added almost 10,000. I love this car. It is such a relialbe vehichle and gets pretty good gas mileage for an SUV - consistently about 22 city and 26 Interstate. It handles beautifully in the snow, which I need living in Denver with a moderate commute. Seriously, it barely ever even slips in the snow. It has great storage abilities, since both back seats fold down. It came in handy having moved two times in the last year. I love all the cubbies in it as well. I also love my sunroof. I can't really say anything negative whatsoever about this car. I got rearended a few months ago pretty badly and the rear tire caught most of the damage. My vehicle barely needed any repairs and the guy that hit me totaled his vehicle (it completely crumpled his hood). This car is incredibly sturdy and I feel very safe riding in it, especially after than."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great vehicle very reliable

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: engine problem

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought as certified used with 26000 miles. drove this car about 1 thousand miles per week as salesman, did routine maintenance and never once did this car let me down. 416000 miles."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

reliable well maintained and still going strong

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 324,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "reliability is reliable and for sale"

Cons: "The Rain hates us never ever slid."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car newly used at 73,000 miles.I now have 324,000. This car has never ever left me stranded due to any engine problem what so ever. I have replaced all front end personally. was not to hard for a girl/WOMAN. Only thing i had a hard time with was pressing the ball joints in. My tune ups were on time, well scheduled and maintained by one garage and myself, if i couldn't do it then the garage service men did it for me. I am Replacing my transmission with a transmission with 51,000 miles on it. We shall see how that turns out and no i am not putting that in. Too big of a job for me 43 year old woman.. My engine still purrs. Been lovn it. Thanks Honda.for the dependability in my 03 Honda CR-V AWD."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This car drives very well, and forever.

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strong and Solid"

Cons: "Manuel/Stick/Shift Gear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love strong cars. I have always driven Hondas, I will love to drive BMW after a Honda. These are very strong cars."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great control in the snow, Gas mileage 24 mpg,

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,980

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Handles great in the snow. Stereo sounds great."

Cons: "Small arm rest."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've been buying Hondas since 1974. I found them to be very reliable. This veh. was 2 yrs. old when I purchased it in 2008. I like the color. It is the perfect size to handle all of my needs. Four people can ride in it comfortably. I've kept up with inspections every year. Usually just needs new brakes, rotors, tires, etc. I loved the ability to still play my cassettes that I had from that era. I found that I could haul 8' 2x4s. The sunroof, though I didn't use it much, was a great feature on this veh. It goes real good in the snow. Low maintenance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Clean interior like new

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One minor scratch and little wear on trim. New tires . No engine defects."

comfortable, reliable transportation

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good visibility, good traction and stability"

Cons: "lacks power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Recently had refurbished transmission installed. Tires fairly new. New Battery. New air-conditioning compressor."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Terrific! Runs like a clock.

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, versatility"

Cons: "3rd seat belt holder, road noise, dashboard light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this new 8 years ago and it runs like a clock. It just turned over 300,000 miles today. Other than minimal maintenance it just keeps going. It has been everything from a passenger bvehicel to a multi-purpose carry all for construction projects at home and the camp. It is a little noisy and the third sealtbelt in the back seat made a lot of noise hitting the ceiling until I added some cushion. My daughter is begging me to give it to her and buy a new CRV but it is so inexpensive to drive and own I cannot do it. Absolutely the best deal for a vehicle."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!!

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome vehicle!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this new in 2003 and have loved it from day one. It has everything I want in a vehicle. Comfortable, lots of cubbies for things, room for my purse!! Lots of cup holders, easy flip down backseats for trips to Costco! I am replacing it now only because my husband is retiring in a few years & I want to go into retirement with a vehicle with lower mileage. I have 140,000 on this and have had no problems (just maintenance, great gas mileage - consistent 22-25 mpg. Love this year because of the visibility and I can't find that in the newer models. Bought a Subaru Forester because it comes the closest to my CRV! Miss all the extras that my Honda has though!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever is about right.

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect size SUV, 4 wheel drive"

Cons: "Haunted by a cat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car like it is my child. It is the perfect car. It is the perfect size."

Completely reliable vehicle.

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable, great value"

Cons: "Not fun to drive, hard seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have owned this car for 8+ years, and it has only been to the shop for scheduled maintenance. Nothing has ever gone wrong with it. The driver's seat is very hard - uncomfortable for long drives. The center of gravity for the vehicle is a bit high, so handling is not agile. The Honda delivered the CRV with terrible tires, but when replaced with Michelins, handling improved. Typically makes 24 MPG, with mix of town and highway."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Solid SUV

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable - great in snow"

Cons: "A bit underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I cannot say enough about my Honda CRV. I have had it for over 10 years with no issues at all. It has been reliable and fantastic in snowy conditions with the all wheel drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I had no problem for 9 years just the wear & tear.

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "Transmission will most likely to give in first."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family & i love this mid size SUV Honda C-RV , its almost ten years old normal wear and tear and we we really had a great experience to this very reliable. Cons is the transmission gone bad after 9 years so i had no choice i replaced it, i did not expect that and i searched reviews on it thats the big issues for Honda C-RV 2005 rather than that I still love the car but i have to upgrade to a full size SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

the best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "All of the above plus it was fun to drive!"

Cons: "Some road noise from tires and wind!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Honda 2005 CRV-SE was and still is one of the best autos on the road. It had all the safety features, bells and whistles, fuel economy and it was extremely fun and easy to drive. It handled very well in snow, rain and sleet. It could seat 5 people and easily convert to a great cargo carrying vehicle in a moment's notice. It is and always be the best value of any auto in the USA!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

We own 3 CRV's

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very little maintenance cost"

Cons: "Not much power! Poor air conditioner quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the 2005 CRV new and have loved it. So far our family has owned 3 of them (we also have a 2004). They handle pretty well in the snow, get good gas mileage, and are a sturdy all purpose vehicle. Not much power in the engine, but I didn't buy it for that reason. Probably the only issue I have is that my daughter's '04 has an A/C that failed, and the price to repair it is ridiculous. From what I've read, that's a problem with this car. Other than that, my 2005 has been pretty reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

reliable, good value

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great for hauling,I transport dogs and cats and lots of cages and kennels fit in cargo area. The AWD has saved my butt more than once. I should have gotten a bigger engine, still don't understand how I got a speeding ticket :( Overall it's a very good vehicle."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Owned this car for 6 years and required no repairs

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive and went anywhere"

Cons: "gas mileage could have been a little better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had a job that required me to go to work in any weather. It performed beautifully in the snow and even ice with its AWD. I will definitely own another Honda and will insist on AWD on all my future vehicles. Super auto!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very reliable in extreme hot and cold weather!

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great, safe vehicle for the price, roomy"

Cons: "not leg room for taller drivers, 1 good cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this CR-V has gotten me safely through extreme winter weather (ice, snow, sub zero temps parked outside)safely for many years! perfect space for kids,sports & camping equipment-even has a removable card table in the back. I bought mine used 5 years ago and have had no regrets whatsoever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome all wheel drive vehicle

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive , excellent winter vehicle safe"

Cons: "Kind of small for 4 adults long trip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle to own especially this winter living in the Great Lakes and snow country . Recently replaced all 4 tires this past fall and new brakes all the way around . Best decision I made Not knowing this winter would be the worst in 20 plus years. Selling due to economics, need I say more."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals