Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2005 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 700 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 70 | Next

Reliable as they come

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "traction, reliability, built to last"

Cons: "cabin noise, fading paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought my 2005 CRV in early 2007 and am just considering trading it in now. Handles like a champ in snow and sudden stopping. I've barely done more than add oil over the last 7-plus years. I'm now driving about 500 miles per week for work and I'm wanting to drop back to a smaller sedan with better gas mileage and more range. My CRV only has a 13 gal tank I believe, and still gets like 24 mpg,but that equates to 3 fills a week, where something else might only mean one. Cons - paint started going about a year ago and cabin noise might be more than you're used to. All in all this vehicle owes me nothing and I'm almost sad to get rid of her now."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

reliable workhorse

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "mediocre sound"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Reliable runabout. Gas mileage at 20 mpg is so so. At $28,000 new, the price is on the highside than comparable cars from competitors."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable but outdated

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This has been a very reliable car for me and I still love it. The ONLY reason I am considering buying something new is the lack of an input for my iPod….which is pretty stupid considering how little it is costing me (taxes and insurance) to run such a reliable comfortable vehicle….and explains why I probably will not buy a new car."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

It has been a good, reliable car

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "No problems in 9 years"

Cons: "Cant think of one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this baby brand new in 2005. What a car. ZERO, and I mean ZERO problems with it mechanically in 9 years. This car has been so good to me. I highly recommend a Honda CRV to anyone who wants a roomy, reliable small SUV"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Typical Honda engineering

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Clever room and storage, Honda reliability"

Cons: "Driver's seat doesn't go back far enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From the pass-through between the front seats to the extra storage underneath the removable tray table in the cargo area, the CR-V is nothing if not clever. With the multi- position rear seats you can easily accommodate every shape and form of car seat. Plenty of power and typical Honda handling, free of slop. Amazing how little body roll there is for such a tall wagon. Brakes perform adequately and having driven through some considerable snow fall, the AWD performed flawlessly. Cargo area holds everything and more for a family of 4. Mileage is decent for its size and AWD drivetrain. Just wish that the driver's seat went back one more notch."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent. Reliable. Good pick-up/power. Sturdy.

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rear interior height. Multi-purpose use."

Cons: "A/C may need servicing in hot climate areas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Compares well with the Odyssey we had before it. More rugged. Does well as commuting, long-distance, around town, recreational utility, and multi-weather-beater vehicle. Quite comfortable whether sitting in front or back. Feels and drives safe."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: didn't need SUV anymore

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, roomy, great for camping"

Cons: "road noise (no big deal)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car for 7 years and put 131,000 miles. I am only letting it go because I no longer need SUV (no kids) and I want something great on gas mileage. I had no problems with it (except normal wear & tear). It has surprises like a removable table built into trunk and a storage box under passenger seat :) There is extra room under table also where I kept my camping stuff!"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: didn't need SUV anymore

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "gas mileage, roomy, great for camping"

Cons: "road noise (no big deal)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had this car for 7 years and put 131,000 miles. I am only letting it go because I no longer need SUV (no kids) and I want something great on gas mileage. I had no problems with it (except normal wear & tear). It has surprises like a removable table built into trunk and a storage box under passenger seat :) There is extra room under table also where I kept my camping stuff!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Cup holder location is not the best."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a great car. Best value for money. Functional, practical, responsive, spacious. If i went back in time I would buy the exact same model again."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 70 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals