Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2003 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 709 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Clean interior like new

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One minor scratch and little wear on trim. New tires . No engine defects."

comfortable, reliable transportation

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good visibility, good traction and stability"

Cons: "lacks power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Recently had refurbished transmission installed. Tires fairly new. New Battery. New air-conditioning compressor."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Terrific! Runs like a clock.

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, versatility"

Cons: "3rd seat belt holder, road noise, dashboard light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this new 8 years ago and it runs like a clock. It just turned over 300,000 miles today. Other than minimal maintenance it just keeps going. It has been everything from a passenger bvehicel to a multi-purpose carry all for construction projects at home and the camp. It is a little noisy and the third sealtbelt in the back seat made a lot of noise hitting the ceiling until I added some cushion. My daughter is begging me to give it to her and buy a new CRV but it is so inexpensive to drive and own I cannot do it. Absolutely the best deal for a vehicle."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!!

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome vehicle!"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this new in 2003 and have loved it from day one. It has everything I want in a vehicle. Comfortable, lots of cubbies for things, room for my purse!! Lots of cup holders, easy flip down backseats for trips to Costco! I am replacing it now only because my husband is retiring in a few years & I want to go into retirement with a vehicle with lower mileage. I have 140,000 on this and have had no problems (just maintenance, great gas mileage - consistent 22-25 mpg. Love this year because of the visibility and I can't find that in the newer models. Bought a Subaru Forester because it comes the closest to my CRV! Miss all the extras that my Honda has though!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever is about right.

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect size SUV, 4 wheel drive"

Cons: "Haunted by a cat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car like it is my child. It is the perfect car. It is the perfect size."

Completely reliable vehicle.

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable, great value"

Cons: "Not fun to drive, hard seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I have owned this car for 8+ years, and it has only been to the shop for scheduled maintenance. Nothing has ever gone wrong with it. The driver's seat is very hard - uncomfortable for long drives. The center of gravity for the vehicle is a bit high, so handling is not agile. The Honda delivered the CRV with terrible tires, but when replaced with Michelins, handling improved. Typically makes 24 MPG, with mix of town and highway."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Solid SUV

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable - great in snow"

Cons: "A bit underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I cannot say enough about my Honda CRV. I have had it for over 10 years with no issues at all. It has been reliable and fantastic in snowy conditions with the all wheel drive."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I had no problem for 9 years just the wear & tear.

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "Transmission will most likely to give in first."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family & i love this mid size SUV Honda C-RV , its almost ten years old normal wear and tear and we we really had a great experience to this very reliable. Cons is the transmission gone bad after 9 years so i had no choice i replaced it, i did not expect that and i searched reviews on it thats the big issues for Honda C-RV 2005 rather than that I still love the car but i have to upgrade to a full size SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

the best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "All of the above plus it was fun to drive!"

Cons: "Some road noise from tires and wind!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Honda 2005 CRV-SE was and still is one of the best autos on the road. It had all the safety features, bells and whistles, fuel economy and it was extremely fun and easy to drive. It handled very well in snow, rain and sleet. It could seat 5 people and easily convert to a great cargo carrying vehicle in a moment's notice. It is and always be the best value of any auto in the USA!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

We own 3 CRV's

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very little maintenance cost"

Cons: "Not much power! Poor air conditioner quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the 2005 CRV new and have loved it. So far our family has owned 3 of them (we also have a 2004). They handle pretty well in the snow, get good gas mileage, and are a sturdy all purpose vehicle. Not much power in the engine, but I didn't buy it for that reason. Probably the only issue I have is that my daughter's '04 has an A/C that failed, and the price to repair it is ridiculous. From what I've read, that's a problem with this car. Other than that, my 2005 has been pretty reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

reliable, good value

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great for hauling,I transport dogs and cats and lots of cages and kennels fit in cargo area. The AWD has saved my butt more than once. I should have gotten a bigger engine, still don't understand how I got a speeding ticket :( Overall it's a very good vehicle."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Owned this car for 6 years and required no repairs

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive and went anywhere"

Cons: "gas mileage could have been a little better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I had a job that required me to go to work in any weather. It performed beautifully in the snow and even ice with its AWD. I will definitely own another Honda and will insist on AWD on all my future vehicles. Super auto!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very reliable in extreme hot and cold weather!

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great, safe vehicle for the price, roomy"

Cons: "not leg room for taller drivers, 1 good cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this CR-V has gotten me safely through extreme winter weather (ice, snow, sub zero temps parked outside)safely for many years! perfect space for kids,sports & camping equipment-even has a removable card table in the back. I bought mine used 5 years ago and have had no regrets whatsoever."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome all wheel drive vehicle

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive , excellent winter vehicle safe"

Cons: "Kind of small for 4 adults long trip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best vehicle to own especially this winter living in the Great Lakes and snow country . Recently replaced all 4 tires this past fall and new brakes all the way around . Best decision I made Not knowing this winter would be the worst in 20 plus years. Selling due to economics, need I say more."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Have owned many Honds but this is the best one yet

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have put very little mileage on the vehicle it has never given me bit of problems and have regular servicing."

One of the best cars Ive owned.

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I like the sun roof."

Cons: "have no cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am very happy with this auto. I take good care of it. Add Marvel mystery oil to gas and oil. Has very good gas milage. Ease of parking, I like riding high."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Purchased New in 2006

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable as the sun rising"

Cons: "Cheap, tinny ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"We purchased this CRV new use by our teenage sons. As such, it has been used and abused, sporting numerous dings and dents. The kids routinely allow me to change the oil which happens about every 12K miles whether it needs it or not. (argh) Despite the rough treatment, the car has been extremely reliable. It gets about 24 mpg in mostly country driving. The cheap, light, tinny ride can only be appreciated by college kids. I drive the car only occasionally but try to avoid it whenever possible. We also own a Pilot and it is far superior in comfort to the CRV."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I loved my 2003 Honda CRV?

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Unfortunately it was recently totaled. Comfortable, practical and dependable. Highly recommended."

dependable

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "mileage should be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i bought this new 8 years ago. 4 months ago i replaced front brake pads. last month a new starter. that is ALL i have had to do to this car in 160000 miles and 8 years (except regular stuff and a battery)."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love It!

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great, reliable, easy to drive"

Cons: "Not a lot of leg room for those over 6' in front"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Perfect small family car. Easy to get the kids in and out. Great trunk storage for the camping trips and has a folding table that can be removed from the trunk that covers the spare tire area. Center console folds down to keep my purse close by. Middle back seat is small, so it would be hard to get a 3rd car/ booster seat in. Good thing I stopped at 2 kids :) I've owned this car for 6 years and would buy another one. I've only had to replace light bulbs, tires, and a fuse."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best. Car. Ever.

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage, ton of space, attractive, reliable"

Cons: "low quality sound system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my mother's car before it became mine and she is currently in her 14th year of life with over 160,000 miles and works like a charm. This car can fit an impressive amount of stuff, is comfortable, and is the cutest mom car I've ever seen. I have gotten up to 28 mpg on the highway and the most serious thing that has happened to me since owning it was the failure of the serpentine belt because the air conditioning froze. The sound quality is pretty poor but this is honestly the most wonderful car I have ever seen or driven or been in. This car is a delight to drive and full of fun and interesting perks like the picnic table built into the back. More impressively, she has championed thorough many Buffalo winters and handles well through all seasons. I am going to be devastated when I have to give it up to get a new car but I don't anticipate that happening any time soon. I'm pretty sure this vehicle is invincible perfection."

Great car!

By on Thursday, January 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for city & rural driving, for people who spend hours driving, & for those who need a spacious trunk. I chose a 2005 Honda-CRV over a 2005 Subaru Forester, because of driver seat comfort (for my bad back) & the large trunk. I originally just wanted another Subaru Outback sport, but they were all sold out. I love the dashboard layout, shift lever placement, arm rest, tray, split back seats, ease of laying back seats down, & side opening tailgate (handy for getting things in/out frequently & easy on the shoulders). Spacious back seat for equipment & leg room for tall people. Have not had to replace anything major. My import service guy says I should keep it because Hondas last forever. Negatives for me; height of car, tire jack won't stay in its storage place, plastic compartment on passenger door must be easy to puncture, & 1 headlight burns out yearly. Have never used the removable picnic table that came in the trunk."

Sticking with CRVs, especially after this one!

By on Thursday, January 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, functionality, convenience & reliable"

Cons: "Auto locks went around year 2008"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my CRV since 2006 and am the second owner of this vehicle. Beside standard maintenance, this car and I have been 2 peas in a pod and I'm so sad to think of moving on to a new one. It just happens to be the right time. That being said, I'll just be looking for a newer CRV, of course!"

Good Vehicle

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Nice Utility Vehicle.Reliable and economical"

Better than I ever expected

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of storage, Very dependable,"

Cons: "Seats are firm, Parts are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My wife bought this car before we met, and at first glance I didn't think much of it, until we decided to use it to go up the mountain and go snowboarding. WOW, this thing could not be stopped. On our way up the mountain we hit a major snowstorm. I threw the chains on the front and up we went. After we reached the slopes, we found out that at least 150 cars were stuck in the snow on the road we just went through. We went to our Hotel that night, which had a steep uphill gravel driveway covered in snow. This car handled it without a problem. After we parked, we walked down to the lodge and noticed a Jeep Cherokee stuck in the snow on the driveway we had JUST gone up. (and yes, the Jeep had chains on) I can't say enough about this car. It has storage pockets everywhere, and the folding table that is the floor in the back has come in handy many times. It has decent power for a 4 cyl. and gets about 25 mpg on average. When and if this car ever dies, we will definitely buy another one. Honda makes a great car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals