Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

2003 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 736 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next

awesome; ready for the next 100K

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great space to lug things. reliable!"

Cons: "can't have legs that are really long."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been tremendous. If I had not been lucky enough to have a car through work offered at my new job, Goldie would stay put in my garage. Amazing vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

We own 3 CRV's

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very little maintenance cost"

Cons: "Not much power! Poor air conditioner quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the 2005 CRV new and have loved it. So far our family has owned 3 of them (we also have a 2004). They handle pretty well in the snow, get good gas mileage, and are a sturdy all purpose vehicle. Not much power in the engine, but I didn't buy it for that reason. Probably the only issue I have is that my daughter's '04 has an A/C that failed, and the price to repair it is ridiculous. From what I've read, that's a problem with this car. Other than that, my 2005 has been pretty reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This has been the best vehicle I've ever had.

By on Thursday, October 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,497

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car, fun to drive and will get up and go."

Cons: "No plugs for I-Pod"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Looks just like this no damage

"This CRV is a great vehicle. Always got the oil changes and normal maintenance work done at Honda dealer. So, they have complete history of vehicle. I will miss it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Looks just like this no damage

Has been a very reliable vehicle.

By on Monday, October 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 221,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought this new and has needed very little repairs. The pros: reliable, easy to drive, great in snowy Iowa, great cargo space, good visibility. Cons: not always the most comfortable ride, amended that with a seat cushion, noisy interior on the highway- crank up the volume (lol), gas mileage consistently 22-23mpg hwy. Have replaced the a/c twice. Will keep on driving my CRV till it quits on me! Would consider buying another if gas mileage was better."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall great mini suv, lots of room.

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sits high, plenty cargo room."

Cons: "Too much maintenance issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"03 bought used in 06 at 65k miles, replaced ac unit at 89k, replaced starter 92k (my fault burnt starter because battery was bad...replace battery fast). Today at 149K ac needs to be replaced again! Car overheated had to replace 2 belts one of condenser fan which caused the overheating. Cost $900.00. On top of that dealer said I would need to change the serpentine belt & tensioner which is big bucks. I am leaning on selling the car all though it was a good car just not a good year."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

dependable low matanence

By on Saturday, June 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "wife wont let me drive it to work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"owened car for 5yrs. changed ox sencer 2009. changed ac compresser and condencer 2013. regular matanense. car is spacious plenty of storage plenty of room for long trips mpg aprox 26. never been stuck in snow [all wheel drive]the crv is worth the money you will spend in the long run. sound system is high quality, comfortable ride,large storage in back, small hiden storage everywhere,one blind spot left side needed to add round mirror. quite ride. full size spare easy to park back seets adjust and recline ."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I have owned so far!!!!

By on Saturday, June 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 312,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "312000 Miles enough said"

Cons: "repair parts are pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Would love to have 3 more with a v-6"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

it's been a great car!

By on Sunday, June 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "safe, reliable, doesn't breakdown"

Cons: "the original tires only lasted 35K"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've had this car for 10 years, and it's been reliable and safe. the manual transmission has worked smoothly the entire time, and it's only required normal maintenance. it's too bad Honda changed the style so much or I'd buy another one in a heartbeat."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Friday, August 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "low maintenance, great mileage"

Cons: "The leather interior doesn't wear well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"excellent gas mileage, always reliable, easy to maneuver, low cost maintenance. Virtually a no brainer . The best vehicle I have ever owned. Honda makes a real quality product."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Designed for convenience and reliability

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Convenient design, excellent reliability"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I cannot say enough positive things about my 2005 Honda CR-V. I purchased it new and have not had to spend very much on repairs over its lifetime. I love the legendary Honda reliability. I love the design features that make it convenient, particularly the extra cup holder in the front, the side opening rear cargo door, and the center console design. The cargo space is very abundant for a vehicle this size. The only things that could be improved are the amount of road noise you can hear and the exterior styling. I highly recommend this vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Still Love My Car!

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Heated leather seats, handles good in snow"

Cons: "Gas mileage not so great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 2005 and still handles/drives as good as the day I left the dealership. I travel alot for my job and the car has about 170,000 miles. I had a 2001 CRV prior to purchasing this one (nice car also). The most expensive repair I had with this vehicle was in 2009 (power motor on the driver window went out). Otherwise, I've only had the standard maintenance (tires, brakes, oil changes). My only "con" is with the gas mileage (I don't remember what the sticker said when I bought it), but for all the traveling I do, I can't seem to get more than 300 miles to the tank; I average around 23-25 miles per gallon on the highway. However, I'm planning on driving this car until it "dies", then will likely purchase another CRV or a Honda Pilot."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Tremendous vehicle!

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 288,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed this car immensely for the past 9 yrs.--I would recommend the model to anyone who wants reliability"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "sits high up, can park anywhere, good gas mileage"

Cons: "not good for families"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like it, but I need a larger vehicle now...family needs. Great for a small family or individual."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER!!

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "2004-2005 models are the best!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had a single problem in 120,000 miles. Just change the oil and get the regular maint. and you are all set. It will run forever! I get compliments on the car all the time and it is 8 years old. I will keep it until it's dead for sure!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

small but mighty

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: family got too big

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable"

Cons: "not enough space for a big family"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought a 2004 crv used in 2008. Great car, never went wrong and never got stuck in our meddlesome winter snow. Plenty of space for a small family, but my children are huge and we have a big dog, so we sold it last year because there wasn't enough space.Still miss it"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle - would buy it again!

By on Monday, December 05, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, fun, safe,"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this vehicle. Comfortable, dependable SUV without being a gas-guzzler. Great value, not expensive to maintain, and sitting up higher than a regular car makes me feel safer. I love having the ability to haul lots of things or just toss my bike in the back."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle in Class and Nothing more Reliable!!

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Fun, Hold Value!!!"

Cons: "Cost going up to much on New ones!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned 3 CRV's now and they just keep getting better. Currently have a 2006, and wife loves it!!! and has room for me. Quality and Reliability can't be beat!!! We have owned a 98, an 03, and this 06, and now will be getting a 2012. Never had any, even small issue with any of them. Cost to own is low, fun to drive, and just peace of mind knowing will not have any issues and will get top $ when you sell it!!! What can you say. The only thing I don't like is price now is over 25k to get an EX, getting up in price but hold value great!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Absolutely LOVE this vehicle!

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent value and quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2nd Honda CRV, would buy another in a second if they hadn't changed the exterior style. Enjoyed everyone of it's special features! Moonroof, heated seats, multi-disc player, stereo controls on the steering wheel!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this car for commute

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I fill my tank once a month. I get in and drive, starts every time, never a headache. Easy ride, quiet interior, no quirks to work around. My only complaints are that the 2wd model is less than ideal on rough or challenging roads. Also, back door should open from right for unloading curbside (Opening from the left blocks your path to sidewalk, duh). Overall I do love this car and feel like it was a sound financial decision."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Supremely reliable, practical but fun to drive

By on Sunday, October 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super value, glad I bought it"

Cons: "black trim faded early"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easy to park in Chicago streets. A/C cools quickly on steamy summer days and starts the first time in sub-zero temperatures. The car gets excellent gas mileage and fits backseat passengers comfortably. I have never been stuck in the snow and the optional fog lights I added work great. I will likely keep this car for another 7 years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned

By on Monday, October 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best vehicle ever. Does not get blown off on expressway by speeding cars or semis. Good gas millage. Plenty of room and good for transporting materials in back. Back door is heavy with tire attached. Have friends calling wanting to purchase whenever I sell!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Value

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 241,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great quality, dependable, sturdy."

Cons: "braking, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I currently have 241000 miles on vehicle. Hope to drive another 200K."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I absolutely love my car!

By on Thursday, August 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good size, good gas mileage, great car"

Cons: "can be noisy - especially if the tires get old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car runs like the day it was new ( its 5 yrs old now ) and is fun to drive. I have never been stuck in it in the snow, mud, ice, or anything else the Northeast can dish up. I feel very safe in this car. It has great visibility out of the rear windows and very small blind spots. I have only put oil in it and done regular maintenance visits, which are easily afforded when you're not constantly fixing it. I thought it was noisy, but I just needed some new tires. I guess some cars are quieter, but for a near perfect car, who cares?"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle but beware the AC compressor

By on Tuesday, August 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recommend anyone interested in the CRV do a google search on it's AC compressor. Mine went out as well."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

CR-V is not a reliable automobile

By on Friday, September 03, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"We purchased this car new in 2005. This automobile, used by my college student daughter has required more maintenance than the other four cars our family owns, combined. We have experienced four brake jobs, an emissions part failure, a water pump failure, and a transmission failure in the 27,000 miles we have utilized this car. I will never own another Honda, and would not recommend one to a friend."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 30 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals