Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2003 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 712 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Good little SUV for the 7 years that we owned it!

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive, great cargo space, very manuverable"

Cons: "transmission replacement and regular brake work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other than having to replace the transmission at 150,000 (which was a bit of a surprize since we had Toyotas that went to 200,000 with transmissions still fine) this car is a great littte SUV. Gas mileage was wonderful for a car with this much cargo room, especially on the open road. There is a good amount of road noise with this car but that never really bothered me (bothered my hubby more). Heats up and cools down quickly, handles like a car and not at all like a big SUV. Has a lot of get up and go for a six-cylinder. We bought the car in 2008 when it was three years old and had over 70,000 miles on it and got our money's worth out of it PLUS some :-) We have had to have the brakes done regularly but live in the mountains and that is not unusual so could easily not be the car as much as the environment. We are trading up for a larger SUV for six grandkids but I will miss this car a lot."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Quality vehicle worth buying

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The short leg room and the brake pedal being to close to the gas pedal is my biggest complaint. I am over 6 ft. tall and I don't believe they care about the taller folks."

Best car I've ever owned. Most reliable by far

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Of all the cars I have owned, this is the one that has never broken down and is the most reliable. I live on a 1/2 mile dirt driveway and have never had a problem with it. It now has 185,000 miles on it and the only issue I have is the paint is peeling off. A pretty cheap paint job, the original. That and some road noise is my only complaint."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car value available

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, powerful, comfortable, safe"

Cons: "None-this is a great car from a great company"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best comfort, best drive drain, best torquey and quiet engine, best safety, most comfortable and completely reliable car we have ever owned. Love it. Get one."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I have owned and loved this car since 2006

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, low cost to own"

Cons: "Uncomfortable fit for larger males"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2006 Honda CRV EX brand new in May 2006. It currently has 104,000 miles on it. I changed my first brake light this past weekend. Meaning, this car has given me NO problems (knock on wood) since I purchased it. I do maintain it as required (for example: oil changes & tire rotations every few thousand miles, the required service at the correct intervals, tires and brakes as needed). This car has done everything I have ever asked of it: hauling bicycles, flat pack IKEA boxes, the dog, and the family; through hurricane weather and flooding, ice and snow storms...it has never complained once.It has taken me half way across the country comfortably, and it is also a breeze to zip in and around town into tight spaces. It is dependable, has peppy acceleration, shifts smoothly...I honestly can't say enough good things about this car. It doesn't hurt that my insurance rates are the lowest of any car in our household or any car I've ever owned, as well."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

This machine is a beast

By on Saturday, November 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, easy to drive, space, easy to park"

Cons: "avg sound system, minor road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my CRV new on 2002. No mechanical problems in the last 12 years, I changed the oil every 10k miles and never have a problem. It carries everything that I need, sport equipment, bikes, house stuff, trash. Whatever you can put in the trunk. Very reliable, in cold and warm weather. The gas consumption is acceptable for a SUV, this one is around 25 mpg Interiors are not the best, but acceptable. Very resistant to any kind of spill, kids food, teenagers and any other sources of stains. I just changed the breaks pads yesterday and it feels like new."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned.

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, and fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Honda reliability. Great ease of handling. Lots of room inside. Easy to find a parking spot and easy to make a Uturn when needed."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

First vehicle, still around! Love it!

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car since I turned 16 and it's an amazing car. Worth the money you put into it. Never had mechanical problems or anything. Great gas mileage and comfortable to drive. Safe car!"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love the AWD!

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would definitely buy another CR-V"

My 2006 Honda CRV excellent mechanically comfort ?

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,355

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Dislike black interior. Dislike like the red dashboard light. It's horrible! Radio buttons the paint is worn off in 8 years my Toyota was 10 years old and that never happened. The rubber around windows is all dried up; again my Toyota never had this problem either. The seats are uncomfortable and the headrests why do they push your head forward?? Driving any distance in this car is so uncomfortable your neck and head are killing you after awhile. Mechanically it's been very good to me but I have done all recommended mileage servicing for the last 8 years. Not sure if I would purchase another Honda though."

9 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Best vehicle value I have owned

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "roominess for hauling light cargo"

Cons: "back seat comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been a workhorse in addition to providing basic transportation. Really appreciate handling and traction in snow. Often pull light duty trailer with building supplies. Never any drive train problems. Still runs great and gas mileage improved after first 100,000 miles. Not a car for regular riders in back seat. Room enough, but ride there is not pleasant."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

one owner, low miles, changed oil/adjusted everyth

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy drive,low mileage,low gas use, one owner"

Cons: "no 4 wheel drive, no erxpensive stuff to go wrong"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"excerllent condition, good to great working order, did required maintenance when recommended, was parked out of weather, cleaned/vacumed, tires OK, spare on back door, perforems well.............hate tyo see it go but would like to have some good person have it.......take it over now. carries anything you need. used as transport for my wheelchair and walkers."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable and good to drive, side opening rear door"

Cons: "faulty headlights"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the last year that the back/hatch door opens to the side instead of overhead, which I greatly prefer. It handles well on the highway, dirt roads, rain, snow, what ever I've gone through. The biggest problem that I have had with this particular car is the headlights keep going out. It is annoying and inconvenient especially when I don't get one fixed quickly and the second goes out. I always carry a spare. Other than that it's a great vehicle!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I enjoy my CRV, although it is a stick and time to get rid of it after 10 years!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Gret car

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Great car"

Top notch...never one warranty issue.

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Yeah"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this Honda CRV for 9 yrs. No warranty issues.... just normal maintenance. Change the oil every 3,000 . All maintenance done at Honda dealership. Their pricing more than competes with Pep Boys, Salem Bros., Gruelich, etc. Just take it to Honda and get it done right."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of the all-time greats!

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: got a Volt

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reiliable, valuable, versatile, economical, safe,"

Cons: "driver's seat didn't go back far enough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I used to think my '98 Odyssey was the best car ever, but I think this car nudges it out. There have been "0" issues with the car and it's only been to the dealer for routine maintenance. I changed the brakes for the first time at 95k miles and the battery at 105k! The car is quick, economical (24 MPG overall!), ultra reliable, durable, versatile, comfortable, fun to drive, and pleasant looking. It was the last year for the manly box on box design, replaced by the girly jellybean look in 2007. I originally paid just $19,600 for it. I just hated to sell it, but the future is electric and I'm very pleased with my Chevy Volt, averaging over 150 MPG!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My video 

Honda CR-V tail light fix

I love my CRV!

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 285,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I have ever had! I drive a lot and have always been able to depend on my CRV! It sure has a lot of mile rolling in at 285,000! and I hope to be able to drive it at least another 100,000! I am afraid that I will be needing a new car soon but just don't know if I will be able to love one as much as I love this one!! I had to buy it after Hurricane Katrina when I had to relocate to Colorado and it has been very dependable, safe, and fun! Thank you HONDA!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Comfortable and reliable.

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room and a comfortable ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is working very well after 10 years and has had minimal problems."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Buy one right now

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfy, feels compact but is roomy, drives great"

Cons: "Parts are expensive, the car itself is expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My grandfather gave me a 2003 CR-V as a kind of living legacy--one that he could see me enjoy before he passed rather than after. I love this car. It took me from single lady about town to mom of a toddler. I am a small person, but unlike many vehicles of this size and even smaller (my husband's Pontiac Vibe for instance), I sit up comfortably high over the steering wheel. Yet it still drives like a car. Even the back seats are comfy. It's perfectly roomy without being huge, and it fits my family's life without being a 110% mom-car. Parts do tend to be expensive for this vehicle, but the fact that it's so well made and reliable means you don't need repairs as often. My CR-V is now well over ten years old and while it is starting to wear down a little and needs repairs more frequently now, it's doing better than the vast majority of other makes of the same age. When I do take it into the shop, the mechanics always marvel at how great it's doing. And I drive it a lot, and not usually in ideal conditions! Let's put it this way: there's a reason you see so many CR-Vs on the road. Just a really, really great car."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned. Very reliable. Smooth riding

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable. Comfortable smooth ride. holds value"

Cons: "Driving dynamics are vague."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely the best vehicle I've owned. Very reliable. Smooth ride. Yes, there's road noise. Honda's are famous for that. Only started having costly (expected given mileage) repairs the past couple of years. Hated to part with it but needed to get a new car before I retire."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love My Honda CRV

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "carpet mats tear easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"9 years of ownership and my Crv runs like a champ. Regular maintenance makes any Honda last for...ever! Always owned Honda, always will!"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Reliable as they come

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "traction, reliability, built to last"

Cons: "cabin noise, fading paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought my 2005 CRV in early 2007 and am just considering trading it in now. Handles like a champ in snow and sudden stopping. I've barely done more than add oil over the last 7-plus years. I'm now driving about 500 miles per week for work and I'm wanting to drop back to a smaller sedan with better gas mileage and more range. My CRV only has a 13 gal tank I believe, and still gets like 24 mpg,but that equates to 3 fills a week, where something else might only mean one. Cons - paint started going about a year ago and cabin noise might be more than you're used to. All in all this vehicle owes me nothing and I'm almost sad to get rid of her now."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

reliable workhorse

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "mediocre sound"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Reliable runabout. Gas mileage at 20 mpg is so so. At $28,000 new, the price is on the highside than comparable cars from competitors."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable but outdated

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This has been a very reliable car for me and I still love it. The ONLY reason I am considering buying something new is the lack of an input for my iPod….which is pretty stupid considering how little it is costing me (taxes and insurance) to run such a reliable comfortable vehicle….and explains why I probably will not buy a new car."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals