Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2002 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 732 Ratings for the 2002 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

At 63, my single best/most useful vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handling, cargo space, VALUE, VALUE,VALUE"

Cons: "road noise is major and only drawback in my eyes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 63, this has been my most useful and best all around vehicle ever. Rides nice, reliability is tops, gas mileage is great (for SUV), maneuverability is excellent, interior cargo space easily holds my two 100 lb dogs and I plan to keep it (now 10 years old/138K)and try for 300K. Not a single mechanical issue and ten years going strong. All wheel drive is very handy and the body has not one drop of rust and NEVER garaged. LOW maintenance costs. A great vehicle for my needs. Road noise is the only drawback and it is definitely significant. Body style still holds its' own."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I purchased the vehicle with 150K, have been impre

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality is built into the vehicle, engine and tran"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All around great vehicle, am impressed by engine, transmission and overall performance."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

280000miles,no leaks,no smoke,24mpg city!

By on Monday, April 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Extremly reliable,easy to work on parts affordable"

Cons: "High failure rate of A/C parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Perfect car for my 17 year old son,only complaint I had to replace A/C comp,start and ran every morning even at zero degrees."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It's Been a great car-CRV LX (base model)

By on Saturday, April 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Price, reliability"

Cons: "seats not comfortable on long drives"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my CRV having bought it with only 4 miles on the odometer. It has been incredibly reliable for 13 yrs and 182,000 miles, so far. I have never experienced car envy since buying this one. It has had a number of airbag recalls but they were taken care of in a timely manner, so no issue to speak of. I had an oxygen sensor go out once, an oil leak of the solenoid, and an air conditioner capacitor (which was mainly my fault)-you must replace the interior cabin filter! It now has a motor mount that needs replacement and some oil leaking. The reason I am letting it go though is it was hit but a hit and run driver and I think that at 13 yrs and high miles, I am passing it down to my son. I have test driven the new CRV and don't like it at all. The new models have very poor sightlines and the cargo space doesn't seem as large, although I have been told it is as large or larger."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Would not buy another CR-V.

By on Tuesday, March 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The clear coat is peeling and car needs to be repainted. Honda says "you are on your own for the cost"> Would not buy another Honda."

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

want to keep it forever!!!

By on Tuesday, March 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 233,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent value, great reliability and versatility"

Cons: "seats sometimes uncomfortable on long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best car/small suv I've ever owned. Extremely reliable. Handles excellent in all weather. Could use one more seat notch on long trips as I have extra long legs. Cargo space awesome. Took me through many moves. Still has good gas mileage at mid 20's after 233000 miles with original transmission, engine, etc. This car has never been garaged and has very little rust on undercarriage and only tiny dots of rust on the roof. I would recommend the CR-V to anyone. Hoping to make it to 300,000 miles!!!!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this vehicle I have owned fords chevys buick and a toyota the honda has been by far the best ever handles great in snow comfortable for me to drive in town or on road trip I could see it not being ideal for a taller or large person however. just regular oil and the usual stuff it has never let me down with any high repair bills and still to my mind looks good plus I think it has held it's value very well"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

A great little suv.

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quice and efficent."

Cons: "Cant get a V6."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Always starts, it used to be my old ladies car and when she passed away no one drove it. So I start it every day, change oil at 3000 mile intervels, detail every year, etc. A great ride and exceptional gas millage. What more could you ask for?"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BEST VEHICLE EVER

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I HAVE OWNED THIS HONDA CRV SINCE 2006. 8 YEARS LATER WITH 115500 MILES ON IT. THE CARS STILL PURRS LIKE BRAND NEW. I HAVE HAD NO MAJOR PROBLEMS AT ALL. NOT EVEN A BULB OR HEADLIGHT HAS BLOWN OUT. I WOULD BUY A ANOTHER HONDA IN A HEART BEAT."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Overall Wonderful (car)

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas Mileage, Interior space and comfort, Driveable"

Cons: "4 Cyldr, Low undercarriage, Small wheels, low HP"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Painted black rims, Stock Silver, Grille guard added

"I get around 22 MPG Does not have a trailer hitch Wheels are small but yokohoma makes nice rugged geolanders for this size wheel Interior is comfortable and stays clean Great trunk space Love that the seats fold twice for extra trunk space OVERALL GREAT CAMPING VEHICLE"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Painted black rims, Stock Silver, Grille guard added

FAVORITE OF THE HONDA FAMILY

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I HAVE OWNED HONDAS FOR THE LAST 30 YEARS BIG FAN I LOVE THE CRV ESPECIALLY AND AM LOOKING TO GO NEWER. I TRAVEL TO WORK 100 MILES PER DAY X 5 DAYS. COMFORT IS A MUST AND CRV DELIVERS. GOOD GAS MILEAGE, HANDLES GREAT ON SNOW AND ICE COVERED ROADWAYS."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love this

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas milage"

Cons: "no cup holders in the back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was a mother's day gift from my husband and since getting it I love this car. I wouldn't trade it in unless i got pregnant with my 3 child. It helps a lot with kids, when you are using it for groceries. I have had no problems with this car and its almost been 2 years since getting it. Great car and you will love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Gets The Job Done

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Easy to manover in traffic, lots of cargo space."

Cons: "Noticeable, but tollerable, road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car over two years ago because I wanted a light vehicle that got decent mileage to haul my DJ equipment. It seats four comfortably and five when needed but when I need the cargo space the back seats fold forward, not just lay down, completely out of the way. The transition from a passenger vehicle to cargo vehicle takes about thirty seconds. The 160 hp, 2.4 L engine gets decent mileage, 20 in town and 27 on the highway. The C-RV drives like a sports car around down and holds its own on the highway I noticed the cabin noise on the highway and consulted a tire professional that recommended Goodyear Assurance Comfort Tread. The noise level has been cut in half."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love it - bought the same car twice

By on Wednesday, February 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "compact but roomy. Safe, awd. Fun to drive"

Cons: "wish it had an ipod outlet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car ever. I had one 2006, drove it to 80k and traded it in for another 2006 with 27k...now at 100k. Perfect for me. Travels well, holds a lot, doesn't gluzzle gas, and I always feel safe on the road. The perfect size suv for me."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very dependable car.....

By on Sunday, February 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"CONS::: Traded '98 Accord for CRV....CRV is even more loud on the road... I don't even turn radio on unless very loud levels to be able to hear...I am cooling on 3rd A/C....Back seats do not fold flat.. PROS:: : Still squeeze out 27mpg on highway....Car still runs very good in 120000 miles range...Very good visibility all around...I still recommend it... But I will wait for quiet highway version..."Wha?" "Waiting on quiet Version!!""

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Value Vehicle

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Long lasting, easy to handle, accelerates well"

Cons: "Basic interior, somewhat loud engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has done an incredible job at what it's made for - driving lots of miles and hauling stuff. My father bought it new and 11 years later it is still kicking with minimal updates. Obviously I wish the inside was nicer (I just have the basic finishes), but it has amazing steering radius, great pick up and go. Also, the car is a little loud on the highway, but nothing outrageous. Overall it is a work horse and a great investment."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety, Comfort, Handling, Style"

Cons: "Low Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been fabulous. It fits all the kids and their plethora of stuff. Also, mom can get in and out easily. The four wheel drive is amazing. It has gotten me safely through many an icy situation. The only downside on this car is the 20 mpg. OUCH. But, even with that, it is still worth every penny I paid for it."

Great car with a few cons.

By on Tuesday, January 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "steering is tight and responsive."

Cons: "No telescopic steering, seats are hard."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Steering is tight and responsive. Super reliable and low maintenance car. Cute, fun to drive. Great gas mileage. Really like the low tech version of buttons and knobs for cruise control and air conditioning. Great for around town. Love the heated seats. Cons: Seats are a bit too hard for long drives. Not enough leg room and no telescopic steering wheel. Makes for an uncomfortable long ride for taller people. Back seats do not fold down flat. No variable intermittent wipers."

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good car in spite of problems.

By on Monday, January 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cargo space, turning radius, great in snow."

Cons: "Transmission, window seals."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just replaced the transmission. Also had problems with the windows when the rubber seal around them cracked and impeded closing. I absolutely love the turning radius and cargo space! Drives great in heavy snow and rain."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love my CR-V in 10 years he has never let me down

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage for a SUV"

Cons: "lights don't turn off when you remove the key"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car off the showroom floor 10 years ago it has never broken down or malfunctioned in all these years. I'm going to keep my car till the wheels fall off."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good little SUV for the 7 years that we owned it!

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "easy to drive, great cargo space, very manuverable"

Cons: "transmission replacement and regular brake work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Other than having to replace the transmission at 150,000 (which was a bit of a surprize since we had Toyotas that went to 200,000 with transmissions still fine) this car is a great littte SUV. Gas mileage was wonderful for a car with this much cargo room, especially on the open road. There is a good amount of road noise with this car but that never really bothered me (bothered my hubby more). Heats up and cools down quickly, handles like a car and not at all like a big SUV. Has a lot of get up and go for a six-cylinder. We bought the car in 2008 when it was three years old and had over 70,000 miles on it and got our money's worth out of it PLUS some :-) We have had to have the brakes done regularly but live in the mountains and that is not unusual so could easily not be the car as much as the environment. We are trading up for a larger SUV for six grandkids but I will miss this car a lot."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Quality vehicle worth buying

By on Thursday, December 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The short leg room and the brake pedal being to close to the gas pedal is my biggest complaint. I am over 6 ft. tall and I don't believe they care about the taller folks."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned. Most reliable by far

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Of all the cars I have owned, this is the one that has never broken down and is the most reliable. I live on a 1/2 mile dirt driveway and have never had a problem with it. It now has 185,000 miles on it and the only issue I have is the paint is peeling off. A pretty cheap paint job, the original. That and some road noise is my only complaint."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best car value available

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, powerful, comfortable, safe"

Cons: "None-this is a great car from a great company"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best comfort, best drive drain, best torquey and quiet engine, best safety, most comfortable and completely reliable car we have ever owned. Love it. Get one."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

I have owned and loved this car since 2006

By on Wednesday, November 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, low cost to own"

Cons: "Uncomfortable fit for larger males"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2006 Honda CRV EX brand new in May 2006. It currently has 104,000 miles on it. I changed my first brake light this past weekend. Meaning, this car has given me NO problems (knock on wood) since I purchased it. I do maintain it as required (for example: oil changes & tire rotations every few thousand miles, the required service at the correct intervals, tires and brakes as needed). This car has done everything I have ever asked of it: hauling bicycles, flat pack IKEA boxes, the dog, and the family; through hurricane weather and flooding, ice and snow storms...it has never complained once.It has taken me half way across the country comfortably, and it is also a breeze to zip in and around town into tight spaces. It is dependable, has peppy acceleration, shifts smoothly...I honestly can't say enough good things about this car. It doesn't hurt that my insurance rates are the lowest of any car in our household or any car I've ever owned, as well."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals