Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 506 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great vehicle

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Can be buffeted by high winds"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Very reliable. Had few problems & have driven over 100,000 miles on it. (We were the 2nd owner.) Only two real issues. Driving can be affected by high winds. Must be careful at speeds above 60 when winds are present. Also - gas mileage is not as good as what you think it should be. We've been getting 20 to 22 for most trips. Power locks and windows have had some issues."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Built when quality was king

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "solid, reliable and still attractive"

Cons: "multi-CD player under seat; window tint film going"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought in late summer of 1997, has been garage kept and regularly maintained ever since. Excellent value, never a major problem. Hope my next car is as good."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever for small families

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best Value in class"

Cons: "none for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this 1999 CRV in 2002 with 30,000 mi, perfect for a family of 4. Great cargo space Extremely dependable. AWD very useful in crazy TX weather. After adding 13yrs & 175000 to it, I'm getting another one! It's still on Consumer Reports best buy list."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love of my life...letting her go makes me sad.

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Seats are hard & cup holders could be deeper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got her at 95,000 miles in 2007. I have had 3 timing bests, and many 30,000 mile services done, and normal things that happen to older cars, but I don't regret any of it. Great automatic AWD car. I'm getting her little sister a 2010 AWD Element very soon. It's simple, take care of her and she will never let you down. I have all her maintenance done on time. She will run forever if you take care of her. If the next person who gets her takes care of her the way I have, I know she will be good to 400,000 miles. You see my bond with my very dear friend in what I am writing."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Good Car, very reliable, great in the snow!

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "4 Wheel Drive. Convenient controls, good mileage."

Cons: "Has some dents in body."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've been driving this car for 5 years. No major repairs, all normal maintenance. Very reliable, efficient,great in all weather. Everything works. Tires good, brakes good, engine good. If we keep this car, I assume we will get another 5 years at least from it. Timing belt and water pump have been replaced last year. Regular oii changes and maintenance. Good value."

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

First new car and the best ever!

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

On vacation in New Hampshire!

"Bought this car new in 2000 and still have it 15 years later. Aside from regular maintenance and replacement of worn parts, this car has been a gem. Trying to keep it going until our kids have both learned to drive. What a shame that Honda no longer makes this model with a manual transmission! Wondering what to do when we finally have to replace it...if you see a used one with low miles, it is definitely worth looking at. Thanks for the great experience, Honda."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

On vacation in New Hampshire!

My "soccer mom" car

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,054

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Manual transmission, great for driving in snow"

Cons: "Plastic-material bumper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been my car since I was 16 years old, and now I'm married and in college and it still runs like it did when I first bought it used (beautifully). Hondas in general are cars that last for a very long time, and the CR-V is showing me what it's made of. It's a stick shift which makes driving a lot more fun (and very few people would be able to steal it). This is a tried and true model that everyone should have the chance to own."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "As stated above"

Cons: "As stated above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There is no.way I would take the value offered for this terrific car. It has just the right amount of storage. It has never been wrecked, not even a bump. It really does still look brand new and only had a mirror replaced (oops, too close to the garage door). It gets good gas mileage . It does not offer a luxury ride, but is rarely used for long distances. It truly is "the little old lady from Pasadena"'s car. My only complaint is the lip I have to crawl over when getting in. What's up with that."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car all around but seating uncomfortable

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "AWD great all around car"

Cons: "Uncomfortable seating. AC could be colder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car all around. AWD is great in bad weather conditions and snow. Seating is uncomfortable, too short on the legs and hard surface for long drives. AC is not cold enough in hot weather like 105 degrees plus."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Fantastic in any weather, great gas mileage

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very comfortable interior layout."

Cons: "no arm rest (some do have them)."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had this car for years and I love more and more every year, very reliable, value has held up well. Still has good gas mileage for its class and handles snow like its nothing."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

excellent car

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One owner, me. Kept in garage. $47,000 miles on it. In perfect condition. Clean, no dents. I have taken very good care of it."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

very reliable and comfortable car to own.

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very soundly built"

Cons: "not a chick magnet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car to own and very reliable and economical.25 mpg at the least and comfortable,roomy.only con if you absoulutly had to name one is a touch boring."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best all purpose car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "not a lot of computer stuff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I will never sell it. I'm going to be buried in it. 2001-02 are the only CRV's that have NEVER had a recall. On the other side of the coin..... I look after it with obsessive loving care."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this car for 9 years. Have never had to have anything except basic maintenance i.e., oil changes, tires, radiator flush, etc. done. Very reliable car, great gas mileage. Large cargo area; with back seat or seats down will hold a lot of stuff. No complaints. I am looking to purchase a new Honda in the future, either another CRV or a Fit."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

TYPCAL HONDA RELIABILITY. REGULAR MAINTENANCE.

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ALWAYS COVERED. USED FOR SHORT COMMUTE. USED FOR LOCAL SHOPPING JOEL"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

We go everywhere on rocky trails

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great off-road travel and comfort"

Cons: "slow acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A little slow at getting up to speed on the highway, but on the off-road it is great going over the rocks and deep ruts with the short wheelbase and high ground clearance. We've even had to climb very steep loose gravel hills and it went fine without sliding back. I like it better than other vehicles for our prospecting adventures."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Would buy another CR-V in a minute!

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, safety, dog friendly!"

Cons: "Somewhat gutless, lower mileage as it has aged"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned. Not the most powerful SUV, but I can count on it every time. Bought it 15 years ago with 54,000 miles and it's now at 190,000. I keep up with oil changes, brakes and wipers. I hate to give her up but I know sometime in the next year or so I will. I wish I could keep her forever!"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My CRV was like a family member

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "RELIABLE"

Cons: "Noisy interior, no sunroof for this year/model!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven this car faithfully for 14 years, it was so reliable. The transmission just went out on it (2nd one) so, my mechanic advised me it's time for a new car. Even when it broke down it did so in a convenient way; never left me high and dry trying to get somewhere like work or an important appt. I got the car for camping, hauling and driving in snow. Once, while in Yosemite for Thanksgiving, my CRV was allowed to traverse the snowy, icy roads out of the park without snow tires by the authorities, and we made it home safe and sound. My CRV served like a workhorse, ever faithful and dependable. I still see 2000/2001s on the road, this car is an incredible value and provided so much for as long as I've owned it."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best SUV I ever owned

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: poor gas milage, rust

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Best Manual CRV made"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved my CRV.. I loved everything about it and wish I'd never sold it. I would have bought a new one, but they no longer make a 5 speed. I like to drive, not be 'driven'. I miss my CRV and it was incredibly reliable, comfortable and high off the ground. Pretty much the perfect vehicle. Gas milage was not great, but back then, gas wasn't much of an issue. I wish.. I wish.. I wish.. it still came in a manual transmission. I'd sell my boring Accord in a heartbeat."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car. Tremendous reliability,

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car. It was so dependaple. I drove it for 210,000 miles and it still works perfectly. It is not fast, but the engine is more than capable. It was great in the snow, and it is not equipt with high tech features. It is what Honda's used to be. Basic, reliable, low cost repairs. Honda's have gotten so technical, when I got a different car, I kept this. It saved my life because I did not have to make payments for ten years when my finances were s"

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

has been a great car, never had a problem

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,903

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very pro toward geting a new one"

Cons: "no cons, this is my second one...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"always taken good care of it, never abused it as a female driver of course.. hate to get ride of it but time to move on to a new one.. I just can not believe how long this car has been so good ,, but good care has helped I am sure. it still runs like a top..Is gold in color alwheel drive 4door .hatch back.."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Can this be my last car, please?

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2001 CRV used at a Honda dealer last spring with 103,000 miles on it. They didn't have maintenance records to show whether or not the timing belt had been changed, so they split the cost 50/50 with me plus gave me a new set of spark plugs. And when the window motor went out a month after I bought it, they offered to do the same. Great customer service! This little CRV is phenomenal. I love driving it. Feels like a pick-up truck. Holds a ton since the seats fold down. The interior still looks great except for wear and tear on the carpets. Has neat compartments, like the cooler/drop-down table in the cargo area. We're expecting baby #3 and I refuse to get rid of this vehicle and am absolutely determined to fit three car seats across. I'd rather drive this thing for another 10 years (with zero car payments for 9!) than trade "up" to a minivan. I bought a paint touch up stick to fix little rust spots here and there, which are only noticeable up close. I would consider investing in a paint job because I'm confident it will last another 100,000 miles. It needs a new battery as it has the original one now, which lasted 13 years. Amazing. I've bought wiper blades and new tires, and performed oil changes, and I'll keep doing so for as long as she lasts."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I love this car!!!

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new five days before 9/11 happened. It has been very reliable. I've never had to worry about having a mechanical breakdown. I have loved it for the past 13 years!! The only negative comment is that it is quite noisy when driving on the highways. (It would also be nice if the seats were a little softer to sit on, but neither issue is a major problem.) In the 13 years since I bought it, I have only had to change the battery and have the brakes replaced one time and the automatic window on the driver's door had to be repaired about a year ago. I never have had to worry about it 'breaking down.' A great car at a great price!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle - But

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Ride, Space, Comfort, Milage, Style"

Cons: "Adjust the Valves..Adjust the Valves!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Honda has a great product (Generation 1 CRV) but did not inform the Buyers the need to adjust the valves on the the newer engine of the Gen I CRVs. Shame on Honda for not backing the product and causing Buyers much frustration and unneeded cost. Poor product backing = lost future sales. I found out the hard way. Took care of the issue. Love the Gen I, but have lost faith in Honda. Would not buy a new CRV due to Honda not taking care of this issue when noted. Still will keep and love the CRV I have but now have purchased a Toyota due to Honda support. The Gen I will give you great service if... you adjust the valves! Don't learn the hard way!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is still going strong, and has survived so many potholes, thanks Michigan. I got it as a hammy-down from my dad and it was a great first car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals