Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
Go

1999 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 504 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 | Next

Fantastic little SUV

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great SUV with decent milage for a car, great for its size. Lots of space, especially in the back. Lots of features and extra little goodies, it even comes with a picnic table. Great in the snow, able to climb a 22% grade hill with 4 inches of snow on it just fine(Cascade, Idaho for those in the know). Auto trans is smooth, though do not EVER get it powerflushed as this will destroy it, and make sure to always use Honda Trans fluid for the transmission, as this will make it much smoother and last longer. MAke sure to change the 4WD system with Honda Dual-Pump fluid, any other will cause it to burn up within a few days. Decent engine, though it is a bit underpowered till it downshifts. Cruise control is the only thing on this car that isnt at all good, at least on mine if you don't babysit it and watch what its doing it will just lose speed till its 5under what you set it, downshift, still lose speed and then downshift again till its trying to drive on a very slight incline at redline. Great when the road is flat, but as soon as it isnt, make sure to either take things into your own hands and drive or keep a close eye on it and help it out with a lead foot. Overall, an incredible vehicle and great small snow vehicle that gets around 25 in 25mph stop-go-stop-stop-go traffic, 28-30 on the highway at 70mph."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

love it love it love it

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love this car because it is so reliable! We bought it used and have done all scheduled maintenance. It has never needed a major repair in over 8 years and still runs great! It is so versitile - when the back seats are down it can haul more than my Dad's small pick up truck. And it is easy to park anywhere."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Reliable, efficient vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I like that I'm able to have the benefits of a full SUV (cargo room, etc.) but it fits into spaces better and uses less gas. Wish it accelerated a little faster, but it's a mechanically sound vehicle. Our vehicle is 7 yrs old and has never had a major mechanical breakdown, just usual repairs for wear & tear."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my crv

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"it is a very good car. nice and roomy in side. good gas milage."

never dies

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 97 crv in 2003 with 86000 miles on it. it now has over 140000 and still drives the same. ive put a new timing belt and waterpump on just for maint. i now get about 27 mpg on the highway. i took a 2000 mile trip and kept all my reciepts so i could fiqure the mileage up. great vehicle and i will be driving until it just wont go."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Hate to get rid of it

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We purchased our 1999 CRV new. My husband drove it for 6 years and I would not let him trade it in. He had all of the service done by the dealer as Honda recommended and it drove too well and was in too great of shape to trade. I have been driving it for the past 2 years and would really love to have the new CRV but hate to get rid of this one. Most of the parts are still the original except we are on our 3rd set of tires. I recently had the brakes checked and the mechanic could not believe that they looked like they were almost new after 130,000 miles. Our only complaint on this vehicle is that the engine is underpowered for trips in the mountains or for passing on the freeway. Other than that, it is a great little SUV. I still average 25 to 27 miles per gallon. I would highly recommend the CRV to anyone. By the way, my husband is 6' 7" and it is very hard to find a car he will fit in with his long legs. This worked out well for him."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great on ice

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This vehicle has served me well over almost 10 years. It is not as comfortable as I would like, but very roomy and great in ice and snow. I can drive circles around the other vehicles. It has also been very reliable. I am around 100K miles and have had it in the shop twice for engine related repairs. I have had to replace the whole air conditioning system three times. Each time it was about $1700.00. Maybe they have improved this in newer models."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I had this car for 6 years and it drives great. If you are looking for a low maintenance car, CRV it is. The only negative feedback about this car is loud when u speed up. It feels like the windows aren't seal good enough so that's really annoying. Other than that, it's a great long term use car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

So Reliable

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is one high quality vehicle. With 93K miles it's getting 22 mpg. It got a new transmission (auto) when I bought it. The second owner, I've had it 10 months, in which I've had to have the oil changed. It does need new wiper blades. Runs tight and smoothly, has a surprisingly tight turning radius and excellent brakes. "Don't likes" are its slight sway and sometimes clumsy handling. Love the spacious interior and comfortable seats. I definitely recommend it."

3rd time honda owner since 1988

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"my first honda was in 1988 I bought a new Civic, it was GREAT, in 1996, traded it in on New Civic, great also, in fact, my 18 year old daughter is driving it now with 101,000 plus miles on it, still running terrific, maintenance is key to longevity of HONDA's I now drive a 2000 CRV SE which I have owned 2years, Have had problems keeping front end aligned correctly but still love the vehicle When I am ready for another vehicle it will most likely be another HONDA CRV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Very Reliable Vehicle

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my CRV since 2001 and I love it. It's been a very good car for me and when I decide to buy a new car, it will be a Honda CRV."

Love my CRV

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my CRV over 3 years ago w/o warranty. It had a high mileage and though I drive a lot it's been great. Snow and flooded roads are no problem, important for my long commute. I'd recommend wider tires to stabilize it better in the tight turns. More engine power would be nice, too. No real problems, thought. It's a dream to own and I hope to have it for many more years. Everyone wants to drive my car so that says it all."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The BEST SUV on the Market!

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I wouldn't own any other SUV. The CRV is a lot of car for the money. Towing options is available and considering how much you can pack into this car, the gas mileage is fantastic. Mine has 250k and is still running on all original parts, except for tires, brakes, etc. Honda just can't be beat! 1999 and up had a few minor issues, but all the years are great. Mine is a 1997 and I wouldn't sell it for anything! ... Okay so maybe a million dollars!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

One of the Best Ever

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle is one of the best cars I've ever had even getting it with high miles and no warranty, it never gave me one problem. I've had all services done and a boot torn and replaced between services. With 123,800 miles on it, it still has many more good miles in it, but now, I am moving on to a van....Whoever gets this vehicle will not be disappointed."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GOTTA LOVE IT

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR ALMOST 9 YEARS...NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEM WITH IT...RUNS SOOO WELL. I EVEN HAVE THE ORIGINAL BATTERY IN IT!!! I HAVE TAKEN VERY GOOD CARE OF HER AND SHE HAS BEEN THE SAME....WOULD NEVER TRADE HER IN. I NOW HAVE 120,000 MILES ON HER AND YOU WOULD NEVER KNOW IT. WE GO UP INTO MOUNTAINS AND DOWN TO BEACHES...SNOW, ETC. IT HAS TOO BE THE BEST YEAR(1998) FOR THE CR-V"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Sunday, July 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car was purchased w/out a warranty and with high miles almost 3 years ago. i do not know its history, but since i've owned it, i've had all the services called for, It had one repair that was a torn boot. All the rest of garage visits were for maintence. For comfort, it is excellent for a small, light vehicle. Beats my friend's Corolla, hands down! There are over 123,000 miles on it and I would not be afraid to drive across the USA! Worst thing? Can't tow w/it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals