Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1998 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 492 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 18 19 20 | Next

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Tuesday, September 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Honda makes the best automobile for the money, my CRV is proof. I bought the car, new, 7 yrs ago and have had no work done except regular maintenance (oil changes, etc.), a new set of tires and brake pads. With a Honda, if you follow the maintenance instructions, you will likely never have any problems. I must say that the Gold color is spectacular - I am asked all the time if I have a new car. I now have 86,000 miles on the CRV and it is so dependable. I have owned Honda's since 1985 and each time I trade for a new Honda, it's like losing a best friend. Amazing how one gets attached to Hondas."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, September 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great car

By on Saturday, September 01, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have owned this car since 2001. I have had no problems it has been a great car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best purchase ever made

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have owned this vehicle 9 1/2 years and had to do only one repair, radiator, all others has been regular maintenance. Have almost 95,000 miles and it could last another 9 1/2 years."

Love it!

By on Thursday, August 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The CRV is a bit underpowered, but it makes up for that with all the other attributes!"

My new used little SUV

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought the SE version of the CR-V at just over 44K miles. This SUV is tons of fun to drive, and has lots of interior room."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, August 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

this is ok type vehicle

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"My 2001 CRV-SE makes vibration noise when I take sharp turn even within parking lot. Pickup is poor. Otherwise it's a good vehicle.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Consistently Reliable

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My CR-V has been regularly serviced by Honda dealers. Although it hasn't any bells & whistles, it has delivered good, reliable service for the seven years I've had it. This is the best car I've owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Runs great

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Runs great and may never die but not the most comfortable car and the brakes squeek. Been to the shop 3 times to try and find the squeeking but will not go away but the car stopps with no problem."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

excellent value

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought our 2001 crv two years ago with 82000 miles on it and have done nothing but drive it since. Now at 121,000. Regular maintenance is all that has been needed. Not much power and a little more cabin noise than I would like but overall nice vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fantastic little SUV

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great SUV with decent milage for a car, great for its size. Lots of space, especially in the back. Lots of features and extra little goodies, it even comes with a picnic table. Great in the snow, able to climb a 22% grade hill with 4 inches of snow on it just fine(Cascade, Idaho for those in the know). Auto trans is smooth, though do not EVER get it powerflushed as this will destroy it, and make sure to always use Honda Trans fluid for the transmission, as this will make it much smoother and last longer. MAke sure to change the 4WD system with Honda Dual-Pump fluid, any other will cause it to burn up within a few days. Decent engine, though it is a bit underpowered till it downshifts. Cruise control is the only thing on this car that isnt at all good, at least on mine if you don't babysit it and watch what its doing it will just lose speed till its 5under what you set it, downshift, still lose speed and then downshift again till its trying to drive on a very slight incline at redline. Great when the road is flat, but as soon as it isnt, make sure to either take things into your own hands and drive or keep a close eye on it and help it out with a lead foot. Overall, an incredible vehicle and great small snow vehicle that gets around 25 in 25mph stop-go-stop-stop-go traffic, 28-30 on the highway at 70mph."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

love it love it love it

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I love this car because it is so reliable! We bought it used and have done all scheduled maintenance. It has never needed a major repair in over 8 years and still runs great! It is so versitile - when the back seats are down it can haul more than my Dad's small pick up truck. And it is easy to park anywhere."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Reliable, efficient vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I like that I'm able to have the benefits of a full SUV (cargo room, etc.) but it fits into spaces better and uses less gas. Wish it accelerated a little faster, but it's a mechanically sound vehicle. Our vehicle is 7 yrs old and has never had a major mechanical breakdown, just usual repairs for wear & tear."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my crv

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"it is a very good car. nice and roomy in side. good gas milage."

never dies

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 97 crv in 2003 with 86000 miles on it. it now has over 140000 and still drives the same. ive put a new timing belt and waterpump on just for maint. i now get about 27 mpg on the highway. i took a 2000 mile trip and kept all my reciepts so i could fiqure the mileage up. great vehicle and i will be driving until it just wont go."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Hate to get rid of it

By on Saturday, August 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We purchased our 1999 CRV new. My husband drove it for 6 years and I would not let him trade it in. He had all of the service done by the dealer as Honda recommended and it drove too well and was in too great of shape to trade. I have been driving it for the past 2 years and would really love to have the new CRV but hate to get rid of this one. Most of the parts are still the original except we are on our 3rd set of tires. I recently had the brakes checked and the mechanic could not believe that they looked like they were almost new after 130,000 miles. Our only complaint on this vehicle is that the engine is underpowered for trips in the mountains or for passing on the freeway. Other than that, it is a great little SUV. I still average 25 to 27 miles per gallon. I would highly recommend the CRV to anyone. By the way, my husband is 6' 7" and it is very hard to find a car he will fit in with his long legs. This worked out well for him."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great on ice

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This vehicle has served me well over almost 10 years. It is not as comfortable as I would like, but very roomy and great in ice and snow. I can drive circles around the other vehicles. It has also been very reliable. I am around 100K miles and have had it in the shop twice for engine related repairs. I have had to replace the whole air conditioning system three times. Each time it was about $1700.00. Maybe they have improved this in newer models."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great Car

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I had this car for 6 years and it drives great. If you are looking for a low maintenance car, CRV it is. The only negative feedback about this car is loud when u speed up. It feels like the windows aren't seal good enough so that's really annoying. Other than that, it's a great long term use car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 18 19 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals