Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1998 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 481 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next

Longest I've ever owned a car, least issues.

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "RELIABLE, practical, minimal maintenance/repairs"

Cons: "No passenger side armrest, loud cabin."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2001 CR-V bought in '04,10 yrs later >200K miles. My best car buy ever. High reliability, minimal repair costs. Typical Honda issues: cabin is loud, brakes are squeaky. Minor complaints for the years of utility I've gotten."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my CRV

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 351,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great all around car longs lasting no problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have 351,000 miles on my 1998 CRV, it is a great vehicle. Its quick response on the road has saved my life several times getting out of the way of crazy drivers. I do alot of freeway driving. I would recommend this vehicle highly. I am disappointed in the new CRVs especially since from 2001 on they do not have the rear end wishbone suspension which makes the CRV more responsive and easy to handle not to mention much less wear and tear on suspension."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Attractive style, very reliable, great cargo space"

Cons: "slow acceleration going uphill"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my Honda CRV even though it's a 1997 model - bought it the first year it was available. It failed to start just once when the battery was 10 years old. It labors when accelerating uphill but otherwise has good pick-up. The only rust is on the wheels. I'm sorry they changed this model's look and size - I don't like the new ones. I think my car has a lot of miles left on it before it quits!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned!!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 239,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, lots of room and cargo space."

Cons: "No adjustable lumbar on the front seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Do the regular maintenance religiously, that's all it takes. I have had NO problems with this car and I have 239000 miles on it. I'll bet it will go for another 100k!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, great city, country, mountain car"

Cons: "no multi-disc player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family and I love this car so much, we named her. It's been super reliable around town and on road trips. Hauls a lot-sports gear, kids, pets, camping equipment. Great all around family car with great gas mileage. It's only required standard maintenance. I've owned other cars like volkswagens, and chevys in the past and had to do a lot of maintenance-very expensive on those, but my CR-V has been a great car!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best SUV EVER!!!

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Strong, economical, dependable, has 4 cup holders"

Cons: "no cons..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since it has less than 60,000 miles on it. It now has 208,000 miles, and has never failed to start and drive beautifully! It never uses oil, never overheats, and never has a problem in snow or on ice. Being All Wheel Drive, and 4 speed auto, this car is economical as well. I drove it to Houston, Texas and averaged 39 miles per gallon the entire trip down there. That's NOT highway, that's the overall average mileage for the entire trip calculated from the gallons used and the mileage driven to getting back to our driveway at home! You just can't beat the quality of this car!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The CR-V...it just doesn't know when to stop.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 663,235

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable, good gas milage, 4wd...list goes on"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my honda cr-v(5 speed manual) brand new in 1998, i have changed the oil, the timing belt and have done two valve adjustments.I do alot of traveling with my job, so this vehicle is perfect. This is by far the greatist car that i have ever owned and i will allways stick by hondas value and reliability. There has not been one time in the 650k+ miles that this car has not started, it cranks every time. Not to mention, not a single thing on the car has stoped working:a/c, radio..ect. Props honda, you have a lifetime customer."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I have ever owned.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Air conditioning is a little weak and road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1999 CRV EX

"Excellent transportation in any weather. This car is "bullet-proof", no problems in 15 years of ownership! Driven over 200,000 miles with no major problems. Just keep the oil changed and service done regularly and it will last you a lifetime."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1999 CRV EX

Economical to own and operate-very reliable

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "Road noise supression could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This CRV has cost me the price of fuel, oil, and maintenance. It is super reliable. I've used it like a pick-up before I had a pick-up. The CRV is the only SUV that has been made to tow behind an RV (without a dolly). The all wheel drive is a great feature that has helped me get through weather that has stopped others in their tracks. Nether I, nor anyone in my family is now nor have I ever been employed by Honda."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle. Reliable and comfortable.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, easy to drive, roomy"

Cons: "no ABS, rear differential fluid needs changing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. Comfortable. Lots of space/pockets with plenty of tie-downs. Easy to drive. Driver's seat sits high so it has a great view of car and road without having to step up into the vehicle like with larger SUVs. Great in the snow. Good ground clearance. Lost the water pump at about 80,000, which is above average. Never had any other major repairs or leaks. More road noise than the Pilot but not bad. The rear differential fluid needs to be changed about every 6000 miles or the car makes a loud tone when you make a sharp turn. Won't hurt anything, just makes noise if you don't change it. More space and better design than newer CR-Vs. Rear door with split window is a plus for dog owners."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Luv my Honda

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,567

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's great SUV to drive"

Cons: "Tire too small 15 inch tire would been better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When you purchase Honda you get your money's worth I will never get rid of my 01 Honda CR-V"

Luv my Honda

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,567

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's great SUV to drive"

Cons: "Tire too small 15 inch tire would been better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When you purchase Honda you get your money's worth I will never get rid of my 01 Honda CR-V"

Luv my Honda

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,567

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's great SUV to drive"

Cons: "Tire too small 15 inch tire would been better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When you purchase Honda you get your money's worth I will never get rid of my 01 Honda CR-V"

Best car ever!

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 236,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never let me sitting except when a squirrel got in my motor, made a nest and in the process chewed a wire. The only other time was when my husband and I went to the movies and we forgot to turn off the headlights. Dead battery."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car ever!

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 236,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never let me sitting except when a squirrel got in my motor, made a nest and in the process chewed a wire. The only other time was when my husband and I went to the movies and we forgot to turn off the headlights. Dead battery."

Best car I ever owned .I love my 1999 Honda CRV.

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Front seat riders complain of having no arm rest"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 1999 Honda CRV in 2001 with 34,000 miles. At the time I that purchased it I wanted to have it paid for when I retired ,which was in about 5 years .I had it paid for within 4 years.I kept the maintenance up and with only minimal other repairs .After retiring I have not been financially able to do as I did before retiring .My car continue going and going without many problems .I now have 204,000 + miles ."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this little car, it is sound and solid.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent for reliable and well kept vehicle"

Cons: "Age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Basically single owner"

I love my CR-V!

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, minimum upkeep."

Cons: "Highway noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I realize it has over 100,000 miles, but my mechanic tells me it is good for another 100,000 and I plan on driving it that long. The only thing I would ask Honda to work on is the highway noise. It can be annoying when you have a passenger. It has been virtually maintenance-free. I had to have some A/C work done, replaced the battery and just put on a new set of tires (only the second set). As for value, trying to find a used CR-V in my part of Texas (regardless of condition) is like trying to find gold."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependability..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This little Honda CRV has NEVER broke down. Only trouble is one flat in my own drive way. And, during our bad winter had to have a new battery. I love my little car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, VERY low maintenance cost

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good visibility, great in snow, lots of space"

Cons: "noisy, stiff ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable and maintenance-free car I have owned. I service it regularly and keep it in good running order. It loves winters and has NEVER been stuck in the snow. Starts in the coldest weather. Somewhat noisy on the highway. Only grip I have, and this goes for ALL CR-Vs even the 2014s, is that they don't provide an armrest for the passenger seat! This is insane! I had one made and it has made all the difference for the passenger. Shape up Honda!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Rock Solid

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,031

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "AWD, Roomy, Sturdy and Reliable"

Cons: "Not a powerhouse engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A great little SUV! My '98 still going strong coming up on 200k mostly city miles; with plenty of road trips thrown in. Never got stuck once in the Chicago winters or potholes. No brainer AWD, roomy inside! Love it; its been part of the family for16+ years! Will be sad when its time does come."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

dont buy

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "reliable boxy"

Cons: "underpowered engine trans inadequate for weight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"trans is from civic - totally underpowered and whines (worn out) @ 130k Engine totally underpowered for weight of vehicle 176k Rust all along rear wheel wells."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Great in mud, snow and ice!

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,212

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Easy handling. Great in bad weather."

Cons: "Not recommended for larger than average drivers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I really enjoy the steering mechanics the most. I live in the foothills of the Sierras at 2,700 ft and we have to drive in a variety of weather in road and off-road conditions. The only drawback would be for a driver to be much larger than average size. I am 5'-11" and 150 lbs. I have to set the seat at maximum distance and tilt the seat back a few degrees to fit comfortably."

Great car to drive

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Excellent car to drive"

Cons: "no"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Mechicanicly yery good. Out side some dents.New front end, well kept up, new tires"

Overall unbeatable economy & fun to drive

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Extreme reliability winter or summer."

Cons: "No cons whatsoever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this for my wife used for $8,000 several years ago as I was working out of state and wanted her to have a reliable car. It's a 1997 and now in 2014 it is still reliable and has never had any problems other than routine maintenance. We live on a hill with a steep driveway and snow has never been an issue for her thanks to the 4-wheel drive system. There are no hubs to lock in or buttons & levers to move to engage the 4-wheel system. I replaced the timing belt myself at 112,00 miles without problems. The car still looks new."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 20 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals