Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 498 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

Great car all around but seating uncomfortable

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "AWD great all around car"

Cons: "Uncomfortable seating. AC could be colder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car all around. AWD is great in bad weather conditions and snow. Seating is uncomfortable, too short on the legs and hard surface for long drives. AC is not cold enough in hot weather like 105 degrees plus."

Fantastic in any weather, great gas mileage

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very comfortable interior layout."

Cons: "no arm rest (some do have them)."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had this car for years and I love more and more every year, very reliable, value has held up well. Still has good gas mileage for its class and handles snow like its nothing."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

excellent car

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One owner, me. Kept in garage. $47,000 miles on it. In perfect condition. Clean, no dents. I have taken very good care of it."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very reliable and comfortable car to own.

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very soundly built"

Cons: "not a chick magnet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good car to own and very reliable and economical.25 mpg at the least and comfortable,roomy.only con if you absoulutly had to name one is a touch boring."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best all purpose car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "not a lot of computer stuff"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I will never sell it. I'm going to be buried in it. 2001-02 are the only CRV's that have NEVER had a recall. On the other side of the coin..... I look after it with obsessive loving care."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, November 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this car for 9 years. Have never had to have anything except basic maintenance i.e., oil changes, tires, radiator flush, etc. done. Very reliable car, great gas mileage. Large cargo area; with back seat or seats down will hold a lot of stuff. No complaints. I am looking to purchase a new Honda in the future, either another CRV or a Fit."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

TYPCAL HONDA RELIABILITY. REGULAR MAINTENANCE.

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ALWAYS COVERED. USED FOR SHORT COMMUTE. USED FOR LOCAL SHOPPING JOEL"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

We go everywhere on rocky trails

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great off-road travel and comfort"

Cons: "slow acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A little slow at getting up to speed on the highway, but on the off-road it is great going over the rocks and deep ruts with the short wheelbase and high ground clearance. We've even had to climb very steep loose gravel hills and it went fine without sliding back. I like it better than other vehicles for our prospecting adventures."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Would buy another CR-V in a minute!

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, safety, dog friendly!"

Cons: "Somewhat gutless, lower mileage as it has aged"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned. Not the most powerful SUV, but I can count on it every time. Bought it 15 years ago with 54,000 miles and it's now at 190,000. I keep up with oil changes, brakes and wipers. I hate to give her up but I know sometime in the next year or so I will. I wish I could keep her forever!"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My CRV was like a family member

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "RELIABLE"

Cons: "Noisy interior, no sunroof for this year/model!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven this car faithfully for 14 years, it was so reliable. The transmission just went out on it (2nd one) so, my mechanic advised me it's time for a new car. Even when it broke down it did so in a convenient way; never left me high and dry trying to get somewhere like work or an important appt. I got the car for camping, hauling and driving in snow. Once, while in Yosemite for Thanksgiving, my CRV was allowed to traverse the snowy, icy roads out of the park without snow tires by the authorities, and we made it home safe and sound. My CRV served like a workhorse, ever faithful and dependable. I still see 2000/2001s on the road, this car is an incredible value and provided so much for as long as I've owned it."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals