Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1997 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 498 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

Best car I've ever owned!!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 239,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, lots of room and cargo space."

Cons: "No adjustable lumbar on the front seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Do the regular maintenance religiously, that's all it takes. I have had NO problems with this car and I have 239000 miles on it. I'll bet it will go for another 100k!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 265,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, great city, country, mountain car"

Cons: "no multi-disc player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family and I love this car so much, we named her. It's been super reliable around town and on road trips. Hauls a lot-sports gear, kids, pets, camping equipment. Great all around family car with great gas mileage. It's only required standard maintenance. I've owned other cars like volkswagens, and chevys in the past and had to do a lot of maintenance-very expensive on those, but my CR-V has been a great car!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best SUV EVER!!!

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Strong, economical, dependable, has 4 cup holders"

Cons: "no cons..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since it has less than 60,000 miles on it. It now has 208,000 miles, and has never failed to start and drive beautifully! It never uses oil, never overheats, and never has a problem in snow or on ice. Being All Wheel Drive, and 4 speed auto, this car is economical as well. I drove it to Houston, Texas and averaged 39 miles per gallon the entire trip down there. That's NOT highway, that's the overall average mileage for the entire trip calculated from the gallons used and the mileage driven to getting back to our driveway at home! You just can't beat the quality of this car!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The CR-V...it just doesn't know when to stop.

By on Thursday, May 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 663,235

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable, good gas milage, 4wd...list goes on"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my honda cr-v(5 speed manual) brand new in 1998, i have changed the oil, the timing belt and have done two valve adjustments.I do alot of traveling with my job, so this vehicle is perfect. This is by far the greatist car that i have ever owned and i will allways stick by hondas value and reliability. There has not been one time in the 650k+ miles that this car has not started, it cranks every time. Not to mention, not a single thing on the car has stoped working:a/c, radio..ect. Props honda, you have a lifetime customer."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Most reliable car I have ever owned.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Air conditioning is a little weak and road noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1999 CRV EX

"Excellent transportation in any weather. This car is "bullet-proof", no problems in 15 years of ownership! Driven over 200,000 miles with no major problems. Just keep the oil changed and service done regularly and it will last you a lifetime."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

1999 CRV EX

Economical to own and operate-very reliable

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "Road noise supression could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This CRV has cost me the price of fuel, oil, and maintenance. It is super reliable. I've used it like a pick-up before I had a pick-up. The CRV is the only SUV that has been made to tow behind an RV (without a dolly). The all wheel drive is a great feature that has helped me get through weather that has stopped others in their tracks. Nether I, nor anyone in my family is now nor have I ever been employed by Honda."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle. Reliable and comfortable.

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, easy to drive, roomy"

Cons: "no ABS, rear differential fluid needs changing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. Comfortable. Lots of space/pockets with plenty of tie-downs. Easy to drive. Driver's seat sits high so it has a great view of car and road without having to step up into the vehicle like with larger SUVs. Great in the snow. Good ground clearance. Lost the water pump at about 80,000, which is above average. Never had any other major repairs or leaks. More road noise than the Pilot but not bad. The rear differential fluid needs to be changed about every 6000 miles or the car makes a loud tone when you make a sharp turn. Won't hurt anything, just makes noise if you don't change it. More space and better design than newer CR-Vs. Rear door with split window is a plus for dog owners."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Luv my Honda

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,567

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's great SUV to drive"

Cons: "Tire too small 15 inch tire would been better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When you purchase Honda you get your money's worth I will never get rid of my 01 Honda CR-V"

Luv my Honda

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,567

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's great SUV to drive"

Cons: "Tire too small 15 inch tire would been better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When you purchase Honda you get your money's worth I will never get rid of my 01 Honda CR-V"

Luv my Honda

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,567

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "It's great SUV to drive"

Cons: "Tire too small 15 inch tire would been better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When you purchase Honda you get your money's worth I will never get rid of my 01 Honda CR-V"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals