Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

1997 Honda CR-V

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 485 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next

I love this little car, it is sound and solid.

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent for reliable and well kept vehicle"

Cons: "Age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Basically single owner"

I love my CR-V!

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, minimum upkeep."

Cons: "Highway noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I realize it has over 100,000 miles, but my mechanic tells me it is good for another 100,000 and I plan on driving it that long. The only thing I would ask Honda to work on is the highway noise. It can be annoying when you have a passenger. It has been virtually maintenance-free. I had to have some A/C work done, replaced the battery and just put on a new set of tires (only the second set). As for value, trying to find a used CR-V in my part of Texas (regardless of condition) is like trying to find gold."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependability..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This little Honda CRV has NEVER broke down. Only trouble is one flat in my own drive way. And, during our bad winter had to have a new battery. I love my little car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable, VERY low maintenance cost

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good visibility, great in snow, lots of space"

Cons: "noisy, stiff ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the most reliable and maintenance-free car I have owned. I service it regularly and keep it in good running order. It loves winters and has NEVER been stuck in the snow. Starts in the coldest weather. Somewhat noisy on the highway. Only grip I have, and this goes for ALL CR-Vs even the 2014s, is that they don't provide an armrest for the passenger seat! This is insane! I had one made and it has made all the difference for the passenger. Shape up Honda!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Rock Solid

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,031

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "AWD, Roomy, Sturdy and Reliable"

Cons: "Not a powerhouse engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A great little SUV! My '98 still going strong coming up on 200k mostly city miles; with plenty of road trips thrown in. Never got stuck once in the Chicago winters or potholes. No brainer AWD, roomy inside! Love it; its been part of the family for16+ years! Will be sad when its time does come."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

dont buy

By on Monday, March 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "reliable boxy"

Cons: "underpowered engine trans inadequate for weight"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"trans is from civic - totally underpowered and whines (worn out) @ 130k Engine totally underpowered for weight of vehicle 176k Rust all along rear wheel wells."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Great in mud, snow and ice!

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,212

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Easy handling. Great in bad weather."

Cons: "Not recommended for larger than average drivers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I really enjoy the steering mechanics the most. I live in the foothills of the Sierras at 2,700 ft and we have to drive in a variety of weather in road and off-road conditions. The only drawback would be for a driver to be much larger than average size. I am 5'-11" and 150 lbs. I have to set the seat at maximum distance and tilt the seat back a few degrees to fit comfortably."

Great car to drive

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Excellent car to drive"

Cons: "no"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Mechicanicly yery good. Out side some dents.New front end, well kept up, new tires"

Overall unbeatable economy & fun to drive

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Extreme reliability winter or summer."

Cons: "No cons whatsoever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this for my wife used for $8,000 several years ago as I was working out of state and wanted her to have a reliable car. It's a 1997 and now in 2014 it is still reliable and has never had any problems other than routine maintenance. We live on a hill with a steep driveway and snow has never been an issue for her thanks to the 4-wheel drive system. There are no hubs to lock in or buttons & levers to move to engage the 4-wheel system. I replaced the timing belt myself at 112,00 miles without problems. The car still looks new."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

So happy with this car..

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2001 CRV. It's in really good condition. I keep up with maintenance and it is so reliable. Looked at new ones and don't care for the shape so I am keeping this one. Only dislikes are the clock( can't read it) and the tailgate opening to the side."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda CR-V near Honolulu. See local deals