Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1821 Ratings for the 2006 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Some body work needed.

By on Friday, January 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Great second car."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun to drive and very good mpg

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Fun to drive and very good mpg"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Loudest car I've ever driven.

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable. Not one hiccup in four years."

Cons: "Just not fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I must say I never thought I'd dislike a reliable fuel efficient car so much, just because of how loud it is. Driving it is absolutely aggravating, I always crank up the music when I'm alone, so as not to hear the road noise, but when I have a passenger, I don't play music, and still can't have a conversation without raising our voices to overcome the road noise. I can't wait to trade it in."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent driving dynamics, so-so comfort

By on Saturday, January 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Sporty and fuel efficient"

Cons: "stiffer suspension, may be too small for some"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Excellent cornering and acceleration, Very good driving position and ergonomics, unless you are XXL, stiff and noisy ride, superb fuel economy, not a single repair in seven years."

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very safe, reliable, comfortable car

By on Tuesday, January 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable, great for commuting to work"

Cons: "A bit bigger than I prefer but bigger = comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You really can't go wrong with a Honda Civic. The LX like this is a more luxurious, bigger version than the Civics of old; it's more of a luxury car; very smooth drive, automatic, nice for long trips or commutes."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Comfort and convenience are very low on my rating

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Good MPG, economical"

Cons: "Road noise, ride, sound system, comfort, handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car Gets good gas mileage but is not fun to drive everyday. If you are willing to give up comfort for fewer stope at the pump, have at it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE this car.

By on Thursday, January 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Like everything."

Cons: "No cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the cutest and most fun to drive car ever. Very dependable and gets great gas mileage. I would absolutely buy another one with no hesitation, however I really don't want to give this one up just yet."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

A Great Choice for my First Car!

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great looking, fun to drive, will last forever."

Cons: "A little pricey, girly horn."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got the car when I was 16. It was an '09 with 26K miles (pretty good for 2012). I have the EX Model and I absolutely love it. The car looks great, and I love it when my friends compliment me on my interior. I am also the envy of my friends for the gas mileage! The car isn't the fastest, but it is fun to drive, like a go-kart! I am now in college, and the car is PERFECT for on campus living. I plan on keeping this car for at least 8-10 more years, and I am confident it won't lose its charm in that time."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Poor gas mileage

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "None"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My 2008 Civic hybrid 4 door sedan has never lived up to the sticker rated gas consumption."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very vice car...I love it

By on Saturday, December 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "It's coup & Only 2 doors, but fun for youngs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"my wife is pregnant and she needed a 4 door car, that's why we are selling this car. It is very nice car. We put custom rim, it has Navigation, heated leather seats,CD, Aux, When we bought it 4 years ago, it had an accident on the driver side (on the door) , and it was painted. But the engine and other parts were not affected. Great car.....fun to drive."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great value for the paid price.

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and low maintenance."

Cons: "Do not forget the extra anti-thief equipment."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This a low maintenance car. It has the easy driving of a small car with the feeling of a big car. It is very stable on the curves."

Not cool, not comfortable, but not a bad car

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "reliable, fuel efficient, easy to see out of"

Cons: "seats are uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I just got this car as a hand-me-down from my parents when my Prius got totaled. It is fuel efficient, not as good as my 2005 Prius was, but the biggest advantage I recognized right away was the visibility. I always loved the way the Prius looked but literally had to turn my head every time I wanted to change lanes because the blind spots in the rear view and side mirrors were so huge. Now I also realize the value of daytime running lights, after my Prius got hit by someone who "just didn't see me." The biggest drawback is it has a sluggish quality when accelerating from a stop, and the seats are terribly uncomfortable (the reason my mom was so happy to give it up). I think some people's backs wouldn't mind the seats (if you don't have a butt). So, safety wise from a driver's standpoint, an easier car, but after my Prius saved me from getting hurt with its side-curtain airbags, I can't say it's a safer car. Definitely thinking of selling this one and getting something a little bigger, because I live in the country where everyone drives a truck (which is what hit me)."

11 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Hondas are SO reliable and stylish

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "value, reliability, style"

Cons: "paint job, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved this car! I have to sell it because of knee surgery (currently it's a 5-speed) but it's served me well and has not caused me any mechanical problems. I've enjoyed it's design and comfort. The only issue is it's road noise (the engine is quiet and hums along) compared to higher-priced cars, but it's still a great car. I want another honda!"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

great mileage,very reliable, low cost of ownership

By on Monday, December 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Styling , low cost of ownership, reliability,"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car late in 2011 before the 2012 came out because I did not like the styling of the 2012 redesign. The 2011 Civic Exl is a proven design. Very reliable, fuel efficient, well designed, And a great car to run around in for a family of four. We have two young children and no pets. It's been a perfect car for our family. The split fold down rear seats are a real handy feature. Love this car. Dash controls are well laid out, intuitively placed, and work flawlessly!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

good on gas

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: tired of the small feel

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought this car when I retired. I did not know about how much I would need to live so I down sized way to much after 6years I wanted to get a more comfortable ride I upsized to a 2015 FORD FUSION and I'm loving the new ride it is a beautified ride"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Economical and Keeps Value!

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, handles very well."

Cons: "Standard version hasn't many bells or whistles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love all the Hondas I have driven. The Civic is the most economical non-hybrid they make. You can't beat the gas mileage. With proper maintenance, you will keep this car running forever. I expect to get at least 200,000 out of this one."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great, reliable commuter car

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable and cheap"

Cons: "Not much horsepower & uncomfy seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have one complaint about my Honda Civic ... that the seats are not comfortable. Otherwise, it's a wonderful car. I have had no issues whatsoever with this vehicle. It is reliable as can be, very low maintenance costs, and great on gas. I drive 120 miles round trip to work every day and have loved the experience. The car is nimble and very easy to drive. It takes a little while to get to cruising speed, but once there, it just keeps on going. I highly recommend this car if you need an effective and efficient mode of transportation."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great economy car, troble free & great gas mileage

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage, dependability, ease of driving, roomy"

Cons: "not a good highway car,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My son bought it new & i bought it from him about six months ago. No problems, and the gas mileage is terrific. Great city car, although I would get an automatic but the stick is one of the smoothest shifting manuals i have driven. Would definitely buy a new one but that may be a while, my insurance agent has an 07 civic with 175000 miles with no problems."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Have driven Hondas for a long time.

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable and trouble free."

Cons: "Can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car because I haven't had any issues with it! It has always run perfect. Never had trouble with it. I do think that without a dealership with integrity, a car will be so, so. My dealership has been top notch at all times. I followed my servicing guidelines and did oil changes at recomended periods. Car has been trouble free. All my Hondas have be troublefree. My trade ins would have been excellent used car puchases!!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great little car!

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am the second owner of this car. I have had to replace headlight bulbs twice, and I highly recommend having this done by a service person. The hassle of doing it yourself is not worth it. You have to remove the wheel well cover, then maneuver your hand up and around stuff to get to the bulb. It is NOT easy. Other than the headlight bulbs, I have only had to get new tires and front brakes done."

9 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Absolute best car !

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GAS SAVER GALORE"

Cons: "CONS HARD TO FIND THEM"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very nice car with all the extras of a more expensive car. no issues at all.I will recommend this car to anyone that wants to save on gas and have a great car."

Love it X 10!

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Too many to list."

Cons: "not enough to make a difference."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2008 Honda Civic Si "Mugen inspired"

"When I was a teenager I had a 1987 CRX Si that was black and beautiful. As time went on I've had many other cars but, it was the Civic CRX Si that I always compared it to. Now that I am older and have kids it is no wonder I feel this car was made just for me. A sporty 6 speed, Sunroof sedan that is fun to drive as well as look at. I feel in love with the FiJi blue and if you know me, the fact that I up graded the stereo, put custom wheels on it, added the factory skirt would be no surprise to you. It really is a great value all the way around. "5 Thumbs Up"!"

6 people out of 16 found this review helpful

2008 Honda Civic Si "Mugen inspired"

Good Spacious car

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have enjoyed this car it is reliable car good on milage it is good space in the back and a roomy truck that folds in the back seats for more storage."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

drives just like a sport car.

By on Thursday, November 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If I had my way, I would buy another Civic in a minute. I have replaced motor mount, and brake pads also battery. Sun visors were faulty replaced twice on warranty, not too bad for seven years."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

It's my Tron Car! Fast & Furious No Doubt

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, quick, great handling, gas mileage"

Cons: "seats and seat belts meant for 20 somethings."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love the handling and the MPG. It never breaks down, and is sturdy. I am getting older and the seats being so low to the ground are for younger men than me."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals