Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2006 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 1761 Ratings for the 2006 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next

been good to me, getting older, hard to get in/out

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "very economical and dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"used this car to go to church, groceries and doctor visits over the last 8 years. It has been very, very economical and dependable for me. I am getting older and I find it harder and harder to get into this small car. Someone will get a well maintained vehicle (oil, brakes, etc) I had to add bluetooth because of the law."

low miles clean in /out

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car has been garage kept and has been kept up from day one."

Love This Road Warrior

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable, reliable, economical, excellent safety rating. I commute 400 miles per week, so these are the things I need in a car. This one fits the bill. At the time I bought this car, if I had known then what I know about it now, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this car."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable."

Cons: "Small backseat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great, reliable, good gas mileage."

Love it, quick, agile, best in it's class MPG

By on Tuesday, July 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great MPG, Fast, Agile, Great Navigation"

Cons: "Not to much room, not enough leg room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

White Honda Civic Coupe

"I love this little car, it has a great design, it's quick, agile and really economical when it comes to gas. I love the Navigation system, is the best I've seen compared to other cars. And I also love that it comes standard with a subwoofer, great bass."

White Honda Civic Coupe

Easy and comfortable to drive

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort and reliability"

Cons: "Somewhat expensive OEM parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have enjoyed the car for over 7 years. It is easy and comfortable to drive. I'm only 5' tall and particularly appreciate the adjustable seat height and having all of the controls within easy reach. It has been very reliable."

always goes

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,450

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most reliable car we have ever owned, over 111000 miles and no unscheduled maintenance. Expect it to last at least 200000 miles."

Not bad, but unreliable in snow.

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good price, decent mileage"

Cons: "Unreliable in snow, won't go up hills."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This car is very difficult to drive in the winter. It skids easily and is not able to get up a hill in the snow. Even when I bought new tires, this problem persisted. I've owned Hondas since 1991, but this model has been a disappointment."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Totally Awesome

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Resale, gas mileage, reliability, fun to drive"

Cons: "No complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased this car new in 2008. We had a ton of negative equity & wanted to finally unbury ourselves. We wanted a car that would last a 72 month term. Well, we just made the last payment & the car has 95,000 miles. I traded in my truck (2007 Silverado) on a 2014 Honda Accord Sport on 6/29/2014 and gave it to my wife. Because of the reliability of the Civic, I just visited the Honda service department & asked what needs maintenance........I changed the fluids & was told its next service is due at 160,000 miles!!!!' I will be driving this Civic 125/day & wouldn't hesitate driving it across country. I just priced it on Kelley Blue book & it's still worth $12,000. I have never wrote a car review before, but had to on this one. I now will be experiencing 36mpg vs. 15mpg in the truck.....do the math & you'll see the 2014 Honda Sport was FREE !"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car for the size and price tag

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car for the price"

Cons: "sun visor on the driver's side came off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I never have been a small car person, but when the gas prices went up so much I had to buy a small car that gets good mileage to drive the 43 miles each way to work. The Honda Civic is a great little car for that, with getting 37 mpg. Mechanically, the only thing I have done is replace the blower motor for the AC, and that was a $96 part and a guy at work put it in for me in ten minutes."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

5 years and counting starts everytime!

By on Friday, June 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Save money, good resale, smart design all the way."

Cons: "Not a race car. One on every block, also pro"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It gets the job done and looks good but not flashy. Also cops never see us because there are too many of us. Like a zebra in a heard you can zip around and corner."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Can't go wrong w/a Honda. Outstanding Reliability

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, economical, sporty."

Cons: "Not much trunk space-but does open into back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2009 Honda Civic LX with custom chrome wheels

"One, non-smoker owner (Grandma's car). All Honda recommended maintenance records available, custom chrome wheels, tinted windows, tow hitch. Excellent condition in and out. Had minor fender bender and repairs were done by a certified Honda recommended body shop."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2009 Honda Civic LX with custom chrome wheels

Solid Performer, Honda Quality & Reliability.....!

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, Strong Resale Value, Solid Fuel Economy"

Cons: "Road Noise, Must Get EXL Trim to have heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Pre-delivery.

"This is our 3rd Civic EX sedan, and its also the nicest thus far. We trade every 5-yrs, with my wife getting the new sedan, I getting her used, and trading my 10-yr old sedan in against the new sedan. We also have an Accord EXL Sedan that is only driven for family trips, out of area trips, and weekend use as our Civic's are our daily sedan's. The only issue with the 2009 Ex Sedan is the road noise from the OEM Goodyear Eagle RSA tires that came on the civic. When I took it over earlier this year, I put 4-new michelins on that are the same as whats on our Accord. Big difference. Other than that, the '09 Civic EX sedan its a great vehicle and the MCR for 2009 adds some flair to the nose & tail. We always wait for the MCR(mid cycle refresh)before we buy our new model as it usually will save us money by getting new stock items that were options originally plus a refreshed look."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Pre-delivery.

Terrible air and too low to the ground

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "reliable and cheap to maintain"

Cons: "too low of a profile, cabin noise too loud"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I've had this car since it was brand new in 2008. I don't like this car. It's too low to the ground and air conditioning works terrible. It never actually gets cold. It feels like riding in a truck instead of a decent sedan. I Installed special tires to be an improvement for the handling and noise in the car and it did little to address either issue. Good gas mileage but difficult to get in and out of and the doors do not stay open even on level ground to allow exit of the vehicle without struggle to keep the door open. I'm stuck with a disappointment...my 1999 civic is quieter and rides smoother."

Really great car but brake issues continue

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "tremendous fun to drive, new price was only 20K"

Cons: "brake issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had rock-solid reliability with this car except for the brakes. Both front and rears (rotors, pads)have needed replacement and the rears just recently for their second change (after only 20K miles). It turns out the left rear caliper failed, entirely destroying the outer pad so it was metal-on-metal and scoring the rotor beyond repair. I've never had a caliper fail with so few miles--even on my old Audi."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good economy car, no drama.

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable, easy to handle."

Cons: "Stiff, noisy ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Pros: Reliable, good mileage, easy to handle, good dashboard layout, good trunk capacity. No muss, no fuss. Cons: Very stiff ride, lots of road noise, insufficient lumbar support for long trips, underpowered for mountain driving, fuel economy less than advertised, though still pretty good (32 mpg over the life of the car. Mostly city driving.)"

In 7.6 years, it failed only when 12V battery died

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Non-stop >50 miles in warm weather gave 45-58 mpg"

Cons: "The 12V battery failure gave no warning."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most trouble-free of a dozen new cars I've had. Now 85, I'm selling it to my grand-daughter!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

great cae

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good car in spite of problems"

Cons: "honda does not back its product"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"bought with 41 k 5 years ago.had issues with the 3rd and 4th gear common on these cars but still a pain.dealer couldnt get it right, under warrenty but 4 trips to the dealer plus expense of rental.replaced rear control arm also an issue out of warrenty by then, so on me.coating on rims bubbling. honda would not refund either problems. car itself has been reliable, fun to drive handles good even with all the snow michigan had this winter."

Its Okay

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gas mileage,"

Cons: "AC very poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I like the Honda Civic for its handling,the large digital speedometer in the dashboard, the gas mileage, and it is affordable. What I don't like about the Honda Civic is this, the car's AC never really feels cold. Even on Max output the air is only mild. I live in the south and AC is important. I think the design of interior could be better. One of the four AC vents is just behind my right hand when holding on to the steering wheel."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great reliable car

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Economical"

Cons: "not too fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my civic for one year now and it has never given me any problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

....I LOVE MY HONDA....

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"....HONDA'S ARE LIKE, A POOR MANS BMW"

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Very good value.

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 191,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very good value, low cost of ownership."

Cons: "Bad location for emergency brake handle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Used the car as my commuter. Has been very reliable. Emergency brake handle is in a bad location. Tip of handle curves slightly into driver's leg space. As result can not rest my leg against center console and is a bit uncomfortable. Otherwise has been a great all around car. Gas mileage always drops off significantly in the winter. May be winter blend of gasoline however rather than car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A CIVC DX-G STUNNING, IMMACULATE, PROTECTED CAR

By on Thursday, May 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT VEHICLE FOR CITY OR HIWAY DRIVING."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"COMPLETE WITH FACTORY AUTO, AIR, RUSTPROFING AND CLOTH PROTECTION, SNOW TIRES, 4 WHEEL MUD GUARDS, FRONT HOOD WRAP. A BRAND NEW LOOK CONDITION IN AND OUT ALL OVER. WELL SERVICED YEARLY AND LOW UPKEEP."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Lemon! Don't buy one of these!

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice looking car. Smooth ride."

Cons: "More of a Disposable car. Only lasts the 5 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"When the new body style came out, I really took a close look. Should have gone with the Camry! My Civic was brand new. Only 3 miles when I bought it. I had to have almost a full paint job due to peeling paint. I've replaced both the right and left rear wheel hub assembly. The CD player hasn't worked in years. Neither have any of the controls on the steering wheel... Cruise control and radio/stereo controls. The moon roof controls are no longer automatic, but it still opens and pretty much closes. It has a whistle. The visors have been replaces numerous times. The last time the drivers side was replaced, the glass had shattered when I tried to place the visor in the "up" position. The back lights on the a/c don't light when the lights are on. In the dark, you must turn on the overhead compartment light to view the control settings. My car is pretty-- now that it has paint on it again! I love the look of it. It has a nice smooth ride. Too bad I did not try to file under the Lemon Law! As a single woman, I purchased what I thought would be a good and dependable vehicle. As I said in my opening- I should have purchased the Camry!"

Best car ever

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. I wish it was a little more sporty looking. But I have not had one single problem with it yet and I have driven it multiple times to Texas and South Dakota from Seattle. It also gets amazing gas mileage."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details