Go

2005 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1795 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next

excellent car

By on Friday, February 04, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my car for over 7 yrs now and other than regular maintance I have never had any problems with it. I really do believe its a great car and plan on keeping it till it give no more (dont see that happening anytime soon)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Pure reliability bottom line

By on Wednesday, April 07, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car with 80xxx on it, and have put 60xxx more on her. The only thing I have replaced is the tires and brakepads. This car is super reliable with regular maintenance, and has gotten me through 3 colorado winters. Comfort level is 3 stars, as a civic is not much of a luxury vehicle, but what it lacks in leather and buttons, it makes up in peace of mind!! I have owned one other honda car, an acura integra, which lasted me well into the 200xxx mark. Seems the brakes and suspension are the least amount of quality on the honda vehicles. Timing belt is also a common replacement part. Overall, I am completely convinced Honda is one of the most reliable car companies out there. I will continue to purchase Honda until I feel comfortable enough making that kind of investment in a used domestic car. This is my only problem with domestic vehicles, the used car bought with 75xxx seems to break much sooner with more problems than hondas. I have owned 5 domestic cars with costly problems at around the 100xxx mark."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Safe, dependable, good quality.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased this car below blue book and was certain there was going to be some problems. Upon getting it looked at, it was still in near perfect condition. It was kind of a rocky ride, but after putting on new tires it's smooth as can be. I love this car. I mention that it's safe because it just saved me. I was in an accident (today) on a freeway where I was stopped and I was rear ended by a car going approximately 65 mph. Her Ford Explorer had to be towed, and my Honda was safe to drive off the scene, although the frame might be bent. AWESOME car. Kept me safe and was fun to drive. Cons, seats are a little firm and there's not much get up and go in 1st, 2nd, or 5th gear. Pros, safe, dependable, good resell value, and fun."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Quite Fun To Drive

By on Monday, January 07, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought my 2002 EX coupe brand new. I must say that the car is somewhat fun to drive. It handles great! Better than most cars in its class. Not a big fan of the engine but love the smooth automatic gearbox. Don't get me wrong, the engine is awesome when it comes to reliability issue but just lack of power & torque. Excellent gas mileage! Perfect daily car! I get about 30mpg on the average with a combination of highway & local driving. Built quality is a bit disappointed especially from a Honda. The little stuff like knobs, lights,.... are not very durable. The front seats are always need to be tighten. Comfort level is also quite disappointed. It does not carry the same comfort level as the previous generation of Civic. The ride quality is very harsh. Not smooth at all. Overall, it's still a great car. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a trouble free fuel efficient fun to drive daily car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great reliable care that sips gas

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage. 5 speed is fun to drive"

Cons: "Not alot of power...made for sipping gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent quality and value in this car. Gets 45 mpg and keeps going and has never let me down. Would definitely purchase another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Value

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good price, excellent mileage"

Cons: "Poor interiors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Been using this car for about 2 years now. Provides good comfortable ride. Had couple of issues with it, but it was mroe due to my fault than the car itself. Overall, provides excellent value for the price."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car for city,

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very good car for city driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought car new in 2005 as my wife's work car. Car never has been out of the city. Have most service papers. 90K complete service 08-20-12. New Tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car, love it. Great on gas handles very well

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable drive, reliable,gas is good"

Cons: "a little more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned this car for 11 years. Mostly highway miles. Need a bigger car for transportation, family. Thinking about a new Honda. Very reliable and fun to drive. Recommend Honda to anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Retired. Want to sell one car, preferably Civic

By on Saturday, August 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Most reliable, least expensive car I ever owned."

Cons: "No CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new. It has always performed well. I have all service/maintenance records. I hate to lose it, but I must make a choice: 02 Civic or 07 CR-V. This car has been garaged since new, has Michelin tires with plenty wear left, recent timing belt/water pump, interior is very clean, exterior has few "parking lot" dings, but paint still looks great and water still beads on it. I usually get 35 mpg mixed driving, and 38 - 40 highway mileage. I haven't as much as replaced a light bulb since new! It did get a new A/C compressor clutch in 2012, and (4) new struts in 2013."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Car-----Honda, I love my car!!!!!

By on Friday, March 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, kinda HIGH, but quality of drive is good!"

Cons: "I am glad I bought it, no regrets."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have bought five new Honda Civics over the years since 1977 and I have no qualms about the quality of cars they produce. This one, has been a very good car for me, with all the bells and whistles except for a butt warmer seat which would have been nice. I think the arm rest could have been of better quality than what I have but I am keeping this car for a very long time. I have 110,000 on my car and have kept up with the maintenance and plan on keeping it until it dies or I die....Honda has been true to me and the quality they produce!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

First and best car!

By on Friday, July 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price to buy AND to own; reliable."

Cons: "Coupe is a little small for more than 2 people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my 1998 Honda Civic coupe for as long as I have been able to drive. Great on gas, tires for it are inexpensive, easy to park in small spaces, very rarely needs maintenance, and fun to drive! This car also goes very well in the snow- put some front snow tires on and it is a real tank on ice and slush. This car also saved my life when I was in a horrible auto accident a few years ago. Despite being struck by another car on the drivers side and smashed by a tree on the passenger side, I walked away from the accident completely unscathed. The car was completely reconstructed, and it keeps on going! You seriously cannot stop this little car. If you are looking for space, go for the sedan instead- the coupe only comfortably seats about 2-3 people. Take care of this car, and it will be very good to you!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This car keeps surprising me

By on Friday, July 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Storage capacity, torque, turning radius"

Cons: "Plastic bumper and weak front protection"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the first car I bought with only 700 miles in 2004. I have taken care of it, mostly through oil changes and recommended maintenance. It still works fine after 3 front accidents (not all my fault!), I have to say the front bumper is super weak, I "walked" into a stopped truck at 5 miles an hour and it caused $3k of damage (mid price point of the repair estimates). Other than that it has a super small turning radius, more storage capacity than you'd think: skis, curbside "donations", trunk you could put two persons in... My plan is to keep up with it until it dies on me. I have had to replace the AC compressor at 80k or so, but nothing else major so far. I started my mpg at 38 or so while living in Houston TX with much highway, and now I'm at 29 mpg in Boston, MA with much stop and go."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car. I have the EX

By on Thursday, July 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Needs more comfortable seats for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Goes and goes. My only complaint would be that the bucket seats could use a little more thought. I drive long trips and the seats are not as comfortable as they could be. It handles great and east on the wallet when filling up. I'll keep it until it quits."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Gas Mileage!!!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage-fun to drive-very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You wont find a gasoline powered car that gets better gas mileage than this car! If your looking to trade in that gas guzzling vehicle you currently own, I would definitely consider purchasing a Honda Civic!! This car is fun to drive and handles very well. Overall, I give this car a 9 out of 10. The only reason it didnt get a 10 from me is because I dont think it is the most comfortable car Ive driven. But it isnt too bad. I have driven worse."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable, Economic, Good Design, Been Very Good !!

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Worry Free"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Took very long trips in it (none stop; besides gas and food) over 20 hrs straight one time and had no problems with comfort. Seems to burn oil though at times, not always...mostly at higher speeds."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fist vehicle i was able to buy on my own

By on Tuesday, January 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my car used and have had it for 4 1/2 years, and have NEVER had to have this car serviced...my husband does the required maintenance. This is the most reliable car that I have ever had...never want to own any thing other than a Honda, great on gas, and fun to drive"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Definition of Value

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "its a Honda"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new and have had it 9 years already. It has been nothing but good to me. I have only had 1 major repair on it and it was still under warranty at the time so it wasn't that big of a deal. I have taken exceptionally good care of it in terms of interior, exterior and general maintenance. In my opinion, the last GREAT Civic Honda made (7th generation)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This car has not given me any problems.

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,540

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy driving; set-up is very functional"

Cons: "No clock."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this car for purchase. Thus far, it has been worth every penny I have spent on it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Worry-free vehicle

By on Sunday, October 26, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 2002 4 dr. civic EX used in 2004 with 30000 miles. Have put 55,000 miles on it with no problems. My only MINOR issue is the suspension. I felt the car jarred excessively over bumps/potholes so I replaced the shocks and struts at 55000 miles but the ride has not changed much. This is an economy car so I guess this is to be expected. With 5 spd manual the front brakes lasted to 65000 miles and rear brakes to 75000. Unbelievable value and suprisingly roomy for a compact car. Buy one if you want value and reliability. Great resale value too."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car!

By on Tuesday, September 04, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my civic for 6 years now...very very minor work needed, has handled an accident very well, very safe. Very good gas mileage. Dependable!!!! Great car...hope it runs forever (and looking at it now, I am thinking it just might!)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good but not perfect

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Reliable? Yes. Perfect? No. First the bad: Interior door fabric is falling off. Sun visors have sun-rotted and fabric is in shreds. Headliner is falling down in front and back. Floor mat hooks have come out of floorboard. Ride is stiff and punishing over even minor bumps. Road noise is noticeable. Not very powerful particularly at low rpms. After 19 years of driving a manual, this one has never shifted well. Clutch is hard to modulate. Skimpy and optional (for 2001 LX) armrest. Air conditioning could blow colder. Radio reception is so-so. No tint strip at top of windshield. Now the good: bullet-proof reliability with only oil changes and tires. Still same brakes since 2001. Body has held up very well. Paint still looks great. Still now shakes, squeaks, or rattles at 64k miles. Plenty of room for my 6'4" body. Comfortable seats, too. Fantastic gas mileage. CD (added) and tape player works well. Speaker sound quality is fine. Roomy trunk (but small opening). Nimble in crowded city driving. I still like my Civic (my fifth Honda), but it's poor interior materials has made me question buying another Honda."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most Reliable Car I've Ever Had

By on Monday, July 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable and great gas mileage"

Cons: "It has no frills and it's a little small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 10 years and 144000 miles. I had to replace a fuse once, the rear bumper had to be replaced after someone hit me, I had to have some free repair done due to a recall, I paid ten dollars to replace the interior door handle (super easy), and a couple years ago the interior trunk lock locked up and I cannot open it with the interior lever any more, but otherwise I have only ever had to do standard maintenance. I feel I have definitely gotten my money's worth. I got the value package and only paid $14,000 for it new back in 2005. I'm about to give it away to a relative, and I still feel it is a very safe and reliable car. I have also appreciated that it gets better fuel mileage than most hybrids."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nice to drive

By on Tuesday, December 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "seats are comfortable"

Cons: "small in size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"it is a very good car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun and reliable car

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, fun, safety, reliable, good pick up"

Cons: "had to have car painted after 7 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has served me well and has given me little expense over the years in repairs. Very reliable, good mpg, especially on highway. I have a manual trans., so fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very dependable. Great mileage."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned and I have had it for almost 14 years. It has always started and has never let me down. I will be sorry to trade it in."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement