Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2005 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1738 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 70 | Next

Trannies + batteries go at 150k miles

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Good MPG -- 44 summer, 34 winter. Comfortable."

Cons: "Becomes unsaleable at 150k miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought the car in 2010, when it was 7 years old. At 8 1/2 yrs it developed a delay in the start clutch. At 9 years the "Check Engine" light and the IMA battery light were on all the time, codes saying I needed a new battery. The battery shows it charging fine, but it seems it may go at any time, and they are in the range of $2,300. Now, in 2014, (11 years), the start clutch has started to shudder somewhat. Two mechanics have told me the transmissions on these hybrids go at around 150k miles, and this car has 155, so I am going to sell it for parts. Too bad. It was a very good car with few problems otherwise."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very reliable

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very reliable."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good, realiable car, will give to my nephew

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good value, reliable, easy on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been one of the most reliable car, low maintenance and easy on gas. Very good value for the money."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good Utility Car

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good point A to point B car"

Cons: "Noisy interior, More repairs than expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've owned 2 Honda Civics (1986 & 2001). In general, they both performed well. However I have yet to reach the the coveted 200k milage without major issues. My 1986 Civic had a blown head gasket at 150k which I repaired. It ran until it reached 205k when my timing belt broke wiping-out the engine. Both Civics were very well maintained following all service intervals. My 2001 Civic had it's air compressor go out (an expensive repair) at ~180k mi. Then at 194k mi, it developed a head gasket leak. No current or prior engine overheating issues. Cost quoted to repair the 2001 Civic head gasket was $1,800 to $2000... at a 3rd party shop specializing in Honda's (less than dealer). So basically, the car is not worth repairing. When I asked my mechanic about Civic issues they commonly see, I was told the head gasket was a very common failure on 2001 through 2006 Civics. That said, would I buy another Civic... maybe, but I'm also considering other models/manufacturer's."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Aways reliable; would purchase another

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "the VP model didn't come with cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic value; never had any problems with the car"

Trusted it until the transmission failed.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Value, Good mileage, Hardly any problems"

Cons: "Transmission failed. :o("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"2001 Honda Civic. 159000 miles. Transmission now slipping. Visor's and head liner fabric did not withstand Florida sun."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good looking, safe, good on gas, quality"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It's great and gets great gas mileage and is very reliable. I am going to buy another Civic as my next car. Honda for life!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very dependable car!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, dependable car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daughter bought this car used and drove it for 2yrs before passing it on to me 4 years ago. This is a basic model but still comfortable for long (10 hr) and short drives. Very dependable car and good in snow (I live in Northeast Ohio snowbelt) Body hasn't started rusting. AC and heat work great. Great gas mileage. I highly recommend this car."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very disappointed with my purchase

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Cons: "something is wrong on how it runs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I just bought this car about 6 months ago for over $5000, I feel so stupid knowing what its worth. I have never bought a used car without doing my homework, but I was tired of taking the bus and all the walking I was doing (about 20 miles/day). Now I'm stuck with the car and the note and was just wondering what I should do"

4 people out of 22 found this review helpful

one of the most reliable cars i have owned.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "love driving it and econoical to own"

Cons: "cost of power battery. # of miles i drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the power drive batteries were replaced at 118,500 miles, the only problem I have had with it"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

my wife's car

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "gas mileage, reliability"

Cons: "not good for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my wife has had her little Civic for 3 years now and it has been the most reliable car ever for her. She loves it and wants to keep it forever and most likely it WILL last forever!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Decent car for the money.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great fuel economy, roomy for a tiny car."

Cons: "Small, cant fit car seats in rear seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The A/C went out at 147,000 like so many of the other Civics of that year did, the rear struts went out and made 2 new rear tires go bad after 5000 miles of wear but all in all the car is put together well. I get around 39.3 miles per gallon average and no problems with the hybrid battery set up. Knock on wood. The car is fun to drive and doesn't feel like a "Hybrid". Handles well and is pretty peppy for only a 1.3 liter engine. Anyone looking to buy one of these early hybrid Civics be prepared to have an A/C compressor installed along with struts. Have the battery pack inspected before purchase."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

reliable great small car even in snow

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,395

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, drives beautifully, love the 5 speed"

Cons: "noisey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I given this car tough driving with gravel roads, forest roads, toule ski rack - and it performs! I used snow tires December to May which were noisy but took me anywhere a 4 wheel drive pickup could go (except for snow over 7" deep). I love the split back seat for loading skis through trunk. My only complaint is it was noisy as it aged. This may have been partly that we loaded a canoe on the roof with straps through the car. It is a noisy car, but then it's a civic not a LR..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Pretty much trouble free auto

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to maintain and reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Keep my 2005 Civic LX maintained with the dealer and no major problems till 9 y/o then expensive repairs for steering wheel pump and suspension bushings. This car drives in stop and go in-town traffic, horrible pot-hole ridden roads, sweltering heat and humidity in Honolulu and has survived very well. It has been the best economy car I have owned and has met my expectations."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

better than average

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "comfortable and enjoyed driving"

Cons: "larger glove box and more cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"power assist battery pack replaced at 118500 with 146000 now. the only problem I have had with this car. average 35mpg in mountain driving."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car I ever owned"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There's nothing wrong with this car. It's not fancy, or sexy, or pretty, but it just does what it is supposed to do, day after day. I drove it through the worst of Hurricanes Katrina and Gustav, and it never flinched. Neither rain nor sleet nor flood nor howling winds can stop this car. It took me five years to realize that this ordinary-looking Civic was the best car I have ever owned. And it's not even close."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Fun and reliable car

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, fun, safety, reliable, good pick up"

Cons: "had to have car painted after 7 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has served me well and has given me little expense over the years in repairs. Very reliable, good mpg, especially on highway. I have a manual trans., so fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

reliable 37 mpg

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable good mleage good leg and head room"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Honda Civic has never needed repairs. It routinely gets 37 mpg. Perfect car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best ecomony dependable car

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "I HAVE TO TRAVEL LONG DISTANCES AND AT 206000.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is a great car for running around town and making short runs, gas milage wonderul, always ready to go and maintenace is not $$$$ costly"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Responsive, reliable all season nice looking easy

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good mileage, cute car"

Cons: "DriverBlind spot look out back window, noisy cabin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2005 civic is safe, reliable, economical and an easy responsive car to drive. I've never felt comfortable keeping a car for more than 75,000 miles. I still feel safe and comfortable with over 100,000 miles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very reliable, wish I still had it

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: crashed it

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very roomy, great resale value, very reliable"

Cons: "weak engine, basic interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is extremely reliable, very fuel economical, and overall handles great. I wish I hadn't totaled it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car ever.No mechanical issues in 10yrs.

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will keep this car till it stops in its tracks. I should be able to get at least another 200,000 miles out of it. Just keep the oil changed and do nomal upkeep and Ta Da you've got an awesome car thats worth every dime."

Great Car!

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 254,896

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, dependable, economical, fun- great car!"

Cons: "needs more space and maybe more amenities"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a rock-solidly reliable car. I have owned my 2003 Civic for six years. I gought it with 53K or so miles and put another 200K on it. The gas mileage has been excellent and few problems have arisen: The motor mounts failed at 120K & the alternator at 180K. Both of these are more than reasonable. The car handles and drive well and is sporty. It could use more space, but it is a small car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

good car for what I needed.

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned my Civic for over 7 years now. For the first 3 years I drove it a lot due to my job. I always felt comfortable and knew it was a reliable car. The gas mileage didn't seem to be the best, I expected better, but maybe that was my misconception about a Honda. My car now has over 214,000 miles on it and this past year has been rough. We had an extremely rough winter and I ended up needing to replace the battery and alternator. Then in the spring it was the front axle and brakes. A knocking noise from the right front tire followed which never seemed to be resolved which very well could have been a mechanic issue. Maybe this is all normal wear and tear with cars but it seems to all have happened at once so to speak. I like Honda and honestly see myself owning another one, most likely a Civic, again. They are tough, reliable cars and it seems you can drive the snot out of them."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

never a problem!

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original Owner, very reliable, color white"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 70 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals