Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2004 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1765 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next

Great car. No engine or mechanical trouble ever.

By on Monday, May 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Extremely reliable."

Cons: "Did not do well in snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Really great car. Never gave me any trouble or cost me much more than new tires and oil changes. It is not a winter bad weather car, but this is 2003 and new models likely have better stabilization systems."

Absolutely the WORST car I ever owned!

By on Saturday, May 02, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: See review, too many problems to list here.

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "It's a nice looking car inside and out."

Cons: "See the review, too many to list here."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car was a disaster from the start. I stupidly traded in the best car I ever owned, a 1990 Honda Civic SI with 204,000 miles on it for a new 2003 Honda Civic EX; the new Honda was back at the dealership for repairs 16 times in less than 18 months and 13,000 miles. The car had very little power and the transmission wanted to shift into overdrive as quickly as possible and then would not downshift without flooring it. I averaged 26 mpg driving the same way as I did the 1990 Civic SI which averaged 30 mpg (it was rated in 1990 at 28 city, 32 highway). Had to use midgrade fuel from the start as the 2003 pinged and rattled on the recommended 87 octane fuel. Biggest gripe: it squeaked and rattled worse than any car I ever owned new OR used. (My research found that this was a very common problem on this body style, from model years 2001 through 2005). Last straw was when the I-beam behind the rear seat broke in the middle; the dealer's repair was to crimp the ends together. I asked them to weld it properly but their reply was: we can't do that, we would have to remove the entire interior of the car, blah blah blah whine whine whine, never mind that the car was still under warranty. I should have contacted the Honda zone office but I had had enough! Instead I immediately went to the closest Mazda dealer, found a 2005 Mazda 3S I liked and made a great deal on it, trading in that piece-of-junk 2003 Civic; the most I could get for the 2 year old Civic with 13,000 miles was $13,000 (new it cost $18,300) - so much for that "great Honda resale value". What 13 years and 204,000 miles accomplished in loyalty with my 1990 Civic SI, Honda destroyed in 18 months and 13,000 miles. I love my Mazda 3 and I will NEVER buy a Honda again!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I've driven this car for over 10 years. The BEST.

By on Wednesday, April 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economical, very fun to drive"

Cons: "Not very speedy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been the most dependable, reliable vehicle I've ever owned. I will definitely buy another Honda because of my experience with this car."

Great car

By on Sunday, April 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable"

Cons: "Simple, not fancy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car with 50,000 mile on it, it now has 193,000 8+ yrs later. I have had to replace a few things but the engine has always gotten me where I was going, the clutch is still the orginal clutch, tires wear right on this car, 50,000+ miles on every set, it has always held the alignment on the front end but I do drive smart and I don't hit curbs. This has been the best car I have ever owned! I have owned many Hondas and this one is the best, I have owned Chevys and fords too but this car it the most dependable, least problems, and just a quaility well made car, no rattles, just a solid car!"

Most reliabe vehicle ever

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,398

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, great around town"

Cons: "Very uncompfortable on road trips!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This is a great around town car, very reliable, good on gas. This is not a good road trip car as far as comfort goes. Seats are very hard and extremely uncomfortable. Good car otherwise!!!"

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great car,dependable,well planned design

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mpg, quality parts ,well designed, good paint"

Cons: "too high reving ,interior glue fails test of time,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"better than what I expected, acceptable mpg{30-36mpg},high reving 5sp trans-two high- overall well built, highly recommend."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Reliable. Comfortable. Good gas mileage.

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never had a problem with Hondas."

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My last 5 cars were Hondas. Sturdy and reliable."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I didn't need a mechanic!

By on Friday, April 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "For sure you have a car for everyday!"

Cons: "Hard to drive in small cities because it is manual"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is an amazing car!!! The best for women that does not know anything about cars, like me! Two times I had to take my car to the mechanic: first, because a recall related with a front light, and second, because the dealer replace the clutch. I never needed a mechanic since 2003 when I bought this car. My honor to Honda Civic EX 2002!."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, super fun, great storage"

Cons: "It can't go forever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a super efficient, fun and reliable car. I have moved cross country twice and it just keeps going. I have never done major engine maintenance on it, replaced brakes several times, the tie rods and now it needs new struts. Other than that, it's one of the best cars I have ever owned."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great car, good gas mileage"

Cons: "head went on it, that was $$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my civic for 13 years. I bought it with 14k miles on it and not it has 235k miles. Its a great car. I have put two timing belts on it. I had the head gasket go at 230k miles but I plan on keeping it."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Reliable and Fun

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Price, easy to maintain, great on gas, reliable"

Cons: "Awkward power plug when using cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 6 years. I am not easy on vehicles, but this little gem never fails. I've done routine maintenance, which any smart car owner should do, so all the key belts and fluids are changed when they should be, if not sooner. Other than an intermittent, pesky disappearing anti-freeze issue, I have had zero issues with this car. I replaced the alternator and the battery, and have to pop in new headlights every now and again. And keeping too many treasures and keys on my key ring caused a failure in the ignition mechanism (which was also a recall issue). But after ten years, this car still looks nearly new and drives like a champ. I love Honda in general (this is my 2nd) and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another. My complaints are minor - the factory CD player stopped working in this car when it turned 8. The same thing happened in my previous Accord. And the power plug for charging your phone makes it nearly impossible to use the passenger cup holder at the same time. But after ten years, all the power locks and windows still work, as does the radio. Which is more than I can say for my Ford, or my VW."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love everything about it"

Very reliable car

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great, good MPG, reliable"

Cons: "Slow acceleration, hybrid batteries are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had this car for two years, and have traveled about 20,000 miles in it. I got it used, and it was in great shape. It has never had any problems, until recently when the hybrid battery showed an error which made the check engine light come on, and the car will not pass inspection. This is sad because it's still running great, and the battery works too. I am suspecting that it's showing the error as it has never been replaced, and 11 years for a hybrid battery is a long time! The cost of getting a new battery is too high for what the car is worth, so I am reluctantly letting go of it. Overall, this is a great and reliable car. On the road, I would love it if it accelerated faster and had better torque. But that's what I am sacrificing for the great gas mileage!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best of the Civics I have owned since my 2014 EX.

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage still with 108K on it."

Cons: "Body rot above the passangers side rear wheel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Brand new after a rain storm, June 2001.

"Car was bought new in June 2001. I keep all records of all repairs and I spent at least $5000 over the 14 years I have had it, but it was mostly essentials like tires, brakes, suspension parts. Car was well worth the money and I still have it. I also have a 2014 Civic EX."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Brand new after a rain storm, June 2001.

it has had only regular maintenance needed

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, cute, no confusing options, great for qu"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One owner has done regular checks, new alternator and keep all maintenance records. It has always passed inspections. If l were to sell, it would be because I won a car or needed emergency cash"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Amazing Vehicle

By on Tuesday, March 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 283,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "This car is amazing"

Cons: "style is a little plain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car brand new in 2003. It currently has 283,215 miles and it is still going strong. It still gets incredible gas mileage and is the epitome of a low maintenance vehicle. Other than routine maintenance (oil, tires, timing belt, brakes, tune ups) the only issue I have ever had with this car was that the thermostat went out once about 6 years ago. This car is a hammer, you can't break it. I have had it for 12 years and it has been as steady as a rock. It has been paid for for 7 years and I will still get around $3k for it when I sell or trade."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very good quality,reliability,performance.

By on Monday, February 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "High quality for the price,excellent mpg."

Cons: "Rear seating tight,hard ride, limited cargo area."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Best vehicle purchased. Excellent mpg (30+mpg.)Plenty of power/response. Front interior design excellent. Great ride & comfort in front cabin. Dashboard design very good. Cargo space & rear passenger space limited. Overall, very good."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

whats not to love

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas miser"

Cons: "its a civic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this engine and manual trans. is bullet proof, put in gas and go!!!"

What a Car! Can never go bad with a Civic

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My LX has about 186k on the odometer and still driving strong! especially for these rough winters up here in Minnesota. Car never lets me down. Just give it's regular maintenance and it will last til' almost 300k mileage! You get what you give for it. You take care of 'er and she will take care of you."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 89,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "GREATEST"

Cons: "no power seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best mleage vehicle ever"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Everything but a good transmission

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Never buy this years model. There tranny breaks down every 150k"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good reliable car

By on Wednesday, December 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 253,801

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Save gas, reliable, great for traveling"

Cons: "IMA replacement little expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My 2003 car.

"I am 2nd owner. I would say it is worth it for reliable, for anyone who drive lot, to save gas, good for traveling, etc. Only one bad thing about it, IMA battery is little expensive to replace, otherwise I will recommanded this to anyone who drives 25 miles or more a day. It is not good to left parking for a week or longer, can drain IMA battery. So you will need to be able to drive it at least every 2 or 3 days for 25 or more miles to keep IMA charged. Also this way it will help car to run smoother. It is indeed wonderful car to own and very reliable if you need drive often, long distance, traveling, etc. I drive often myself out state, to distant cities. It never gave me any problems. I can go about 600 miles on single full gas tank. To me that is pretty good! That is from my personal experiences with owning this car."

17 people out of 26 found this review helpful

My 2003 car.

nice to drive

By on Tuesday, December 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "seats are comfortable"

Cons: "small in size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"it is a very good car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun Zippy Little Car

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, zippy"

Cons: "mine is starting to rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the Honda EX Special Edition. I adore this car; very fun to drive, reliable, great on gas! Although I have owned it for 5 1/2 years, I still love to drive it. It has a very responsive five speed manual transmission. The 6 CD multi disc stereo system is great. I drive 500 miles per week back & forth to work, mostly highway miles. I get great mileage, somewhere between 34-36 miles per gallon depending on driving conditions. At the advice of a co-worker I put snow tires on another set of rims for winter driving. It gets around great in our snowy Iowa winters. I have had no major repairs, just basic maintenance procedures. I use synthetic oil at the recommendation of the first owner. That's what he used since it's first oil change. My only complaint is that it is starting to show some rusting but that's partially my fault for not washing it enough. I finally bit the bullet & bought a smaller new AWD SUV because the Honda was getting so many miles on it. I love my Civic so much I could not bear to part with it so I didn't trade it in or sell it. I am continuing to drive the Honda about two days a week so I don't put so many miles on my new vehicle; well that and the fact that the Honda is much more fun to drive and gets better gas mileage. This is the first car I ever had that I liked so much I couldn't bear to get rid of it for something different after three years or so."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

good car great mpg fun to drive

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "mpg reliable maintenance free"

Cons: "snow driving not that great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had always been a little tuned off by imports (believe in domestic cars) but i found myself in a bind and all i could afford was my civic. so i took it for a test drive and fell in love. it handles amazing. seems a tank of gas last forever. i am also a mechanic and on my old car (chevy malibu) i was always fixing something. since buying this car a year again i have only changed the oil. and ties. It can handle the abuse that i give it aswell as the elements. i drive it really hard. also when need the maintenance is very low cost. where i bought the car used i can feel the clutch starting to go so i have priced them and they are not very much at all(around 100 no flywheel and thats a performance clutch). and with the civic if you want to up grade there is option after option. the only complaint i have is that its not the greatest in snow. i live in utah and we get a good amount of snow and some of the hills around (including my driveway) i have a hard time getting up. now if you can afford to have summer and winter (i cant). tires im sure it would do just fine with snowtires. over all I LOVE MY CIVC"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals