Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1766 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next

Best I ever bought

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage"

Cons: "road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought the vehicle with 80K miles now have 175K and other than brakes, and LOF'S no repairs"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

238,000 so far, need I say more?

By on Saturday, August 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliabilty and fun to drive, roomy but good gas mi"

Cons: "seat not comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major repairs. Did oil changes every 3000 or 3500 when you need to or not ...was putting 23K on a year commuting. I think that helped the longevity."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

As good as a Prius, and a lot cheaper

By on Wednesday, June 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has provided trustworthy and efficient transportation for over a decade, with no issues. I love the zippy ride, the awesome gas mileage, and the easy parking. The fold down rear seats make it easy to throw a bike in the back (or building materials). Really, it's amazing what you can fit. The HX is zippy and delivers at least 5mpg better than the other models, as far as I can tell just by virtue of having a superior engine design and lighter wheels."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Saturday, March 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cute, reliable, great gas mileage, comfortable"

Cons: "loud road noise, dash creaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been fabulous! Very reliable, very few things i have had to do to even maintain it in the 5 or so years i have owned it! I have a 1 yr old son now and we bought an older jeep cherokee thinking it would be better for me toting the kid around, drove that for a few weeks and then told my hubby give me my civic back!! My car was suprisingly easier to get my infant car seat in/out of(downward and back motion instead of having to lift UP, more roomy in the back to sit and breastfeed my son when out and about, and the carseat installs much more securly than in the jeep! This may be a 2 door car but it has the tether anchors for carseats down in the seat crease AND up above! My friends mini van didnt even have all three car seat tether anchors! I love the plush velvety feel of the seats and the back seat in particular the headrest is sooo soft and comfy! Even tho my interior is tan every spill has washed right off my seats with just dishsoap and water! My ONLY complaints with this car ever has really been that the dash creaks and that the road noise is somewhat loud inside especially if your sitting in the back. Love my civic, even tho it only has two doors and i now have a toddler i still wont give it up! :) The gas mileage is amazing too :) Only other thing i've liked as much was my Del Sol (which is a honda civic also!) haha :)"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car more everyday!

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Peppy vtec, great visability, unbeatable value!"

Cons: "Honda doesn't make this exact car today!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has it all! off the lot value that only increases as time goes by; the ease of a smooth 5 speed manual transmission; the pep of a perfectly tuned VTEC engine; superior visability from well placed pillars, roomy interior, ample cargo space and fold down seats which add to the car's versatility. I couldn't be happier with my choice 9 years ago or find a car i'd rather replace my Honda Civic EX with today."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

auto transmission went out at 132k $2500 repair.

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great mpg, easy to manuever in parking lots"

Cons: "trunk small,no armrest front passenger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I understand that Honda is having problems with the auto transmission fluid so they changed the formula too bad for us who bought the later models so check that maintenance (especially on auto transmission) were preformed (make sure they have receipts), poor design on battery cables they fail and are expensive to replace with original Honda parts I used universal battery clamps that bolt on that worked just fine. Great on gas, replaced driver power window lift motor, need to recharge a/c system quite often dont understand why, but overall just keep up with maintenance."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is the best car (hands down) to have in DC!

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great gas mileage and no blind spots!"

Cons: "not a ton of power behind the pedal, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm in the military and I bought this car because I knew that I'd be making a ton of road trips on the weekends and I wanted something with great gas mileage. When I got stationed in DC, I was wary about the traffic volume, and my fears were warranted. My car has had a couple of door dings and I've been in a fender bender, which literally just flexed the pedestrian friendly plastic, not causing any damage to the frame (yay for paint!). Also, I'm 6'1" and I have absolutely no issues with getting in and out of this 'little' car. If I weren't getting stationed in the boonies, I'd keep this car forever. It's zippy, and perfect for maneuvering through the city streets. Get one!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Greatest car ever - for the price

By on Sunday, October 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this car for over 10 years and out on over 320000 km, about 200000 miles over that time. It still drives well and has incredible mileage."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, September 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun car to drive."

Cons: "It could have had a little more horsepower."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 99,00 miles on this car and the only repairs have been to replace the timing belt and water pump as normal maintenance. I have averaged 36 MPG over the 10 years. Clutch and brakes are still original and not in need of rplacing yet. It is the EX model."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

excellent car

By on Friday, February 04, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my car for over 7 yrs now and other than regular maintance I have never had any problems with it. I really do believe its a great car and plan on keeping it till it give no more (dont see that happening anytime soon)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Pure reliability bottom line

By on Wednesday, April 07, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car with 80xxx on it, and have put 60xxx more on her. The only thing I have replaced is the tires and brakepads. This car is super reliable with regular maintenance, and has gotten me through 3 colorado winters. Comfort level is 3 stars, as a civic is not much of a luxury vehicle, but what it lacks in leather and buttons, it makes up in peace of mind!! I have owned one other honda car, an acura integra, which lasted me well into the 200xxx mark. Seems the brakes and suspension are the least amount of quality on the honda vehicles. Timing belt is also a common replacement part. Overall, I am completely convinced Honda is one of the most reliable car companies out there. I will continue to purchase Honda until I feel comfortable enough making that kind of investment in a used domestic car. This is my only problem with domestic vehicles, the used car bought with 75xxx seems to break much sooner with more problems than hondas. I have owned 5 domestic cars with costly problems at around the 100xxx mark."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Quite Fun To Drive

By on Monday, January 07, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought my 2002 EX coupe brand new. I must say that the car is somewhat fun to drive. It handles great! Better than most cars in its class. Not a big fan of the engine but love the smooth automatic gearbox. Don't get me wrong, the engine is awesome when it comes to reliability issue but just lack of power & torque. Excellent gas mileage! Perfect daily car! I get about 30mpg on the average with a combination of highway & local driving. Built quality is a bit disappointed especially from a Honda. The little stuff like knobs, lights,.... are not very durable. The front seats are always need to be tighten. Comfort level is also quite disappointed. It does not carry the same comfort level as the previous generation of Civic. The ride quality is very harsh. Not smooth at all. Overall, it's still a great car. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a trouble free fuel efficient fun to drive daily car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great reliable care that sips gas

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage. 5 speed is fun to drive"

Cons: "Not alot of power...made for sipping gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent quality and value in this car. Gets 45 mpg and keeps going and has never let me down. Would definitely purchase another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Value

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good price, excellent mileage"

Cons: "Poor interiors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Been using this car for about 2 years now. Provides good comfortable ride. Had couple of issues with it, but it was mroe due to my fault than the car itself. Overall, provides excellent value for the price."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent car for city,

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very good car for city driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought car new in 2005 as my wife's work car. Car never has been out of the city. Have most service papers. 90K complete service 08-20-12. New Tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Some things good, some things bad

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good engine and manual transmission"

Cons: "Front end components and airbag system short lived"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"My car is a manual, but I've read many bad things about Honda automatic transmissions for 2000's Civics. My car's engine and transmission haven't needed repairs and for this I'm grateful. However, my airbag system has failed for the second. By 42K miles my lower control arm bushings were shot and it cost me $2K+ to rebuild my front end in November 2011. I was hoping that this would last until my car was traded in or would go to the junkyard, but at 82K miles my lower control arm bushings are going shot again. I was told by three different repair shops that this is a common problem with 2000's Hondas. I don't want another car whose airbag system fails every four to five years. And I don't want to replace lower control arms every 35K miles, either."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car, love it. Great on gas handles very well

By on Thursday, October 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable drive, reliable,gas is good"

Cons: "a little more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned this car for 11 years. Mostly highway miles. Need a bigger car for transportation, family. Thinking about a new Honda. Very reliable and fun to drive. Recommend Honda to anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Retired. Want to sell one car, preferably Civic

By on Saturday, August 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Most reliable, least expensive car I ever owned."

Cons: "No CD player."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new. It has always performed well. I have all service/maintenance records. I hate to lose it, but I must make a choice: 02 Civic or 07 CR-V. This car has been garaged since new, has Michelin tires with plenty wear left, recent timing belt/water pump, interior is very clean, exterior has few "parking lot" dings, but paint still looks great and water still beads on it. I usually get 35 mpg mixed driving, and 38 - 40 highway mileage. I haven't as much as replaced a light bulb since new! It did get a new A/C compressor clutch in 2012, and (4) new struts in 2013."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Car-----Honda, I love my car!!!!!

By on Friday, March 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, kinda HIGH, but quality of drive is good!"

Cons: "I am glad I bought it, no regrets."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have bought five new Honda Civics over the years since 1977 and I have no qualms about the quality of cars they produce. This one, has been a very good car for me, with all the bells and whistles except for a butt warmer seat which would have been nice. I think the arm rest could have been of better quality than what I have but I am keeping this car for a very long time. I have 110,000 on my car and have kept up with the maintenance and plan on keeping it until it dies or I die....Honda has been true to me and the quality they produce!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car, most economic i have owned

By on Wednesday, December 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "mileage, reliability,"

Cons: "it may not last me forever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 2003, keep it serviced, one 19$ part needed over and above ge eral service. I trust it, i am comfortable in it and hope to get another 200,000 miles out of it. Average gas mileage mid 40 s in the cold, upper 40s, low 50s in the summer."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

First and best car!

By on Friday, July 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price to buy AND to own; reliable."

Cons: "Coupe is a little small for more than 2 people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my 1998 Honda Civic coupe for as long as I have been able to drive. Great on gas, tires for it are inexpensive, easy to park in small spaces, very rarely needs maintenance, and fun to drive! This car also goes very well in the snow- put some front snow tires on and it is a real tank on ice and slush. This car also saved my life when I was in a horrible auto accident a few years ago. Despite being struck by another car on the drivers side and smashed by a tree on the passenger side, I walked away from the accident completely unscathed. The car was completely reconstructed, and it keeps on going! You seriously cannot stop this little car. If you are looking for space, go for the sedan instead- the coupe only comfortably seats about 2-3 people. Take care of this car, and it will be very good to you!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This car keeps surprising me

By on Friday, July 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Storage capacity, torque, turning radius"

Cons: "Plastic bumper and weak front protection"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the first car I bought with only 700 miles in 2004. I have taken care of it, mostly through oil changes and recommended maintenance. It still works fine after 3 front accidents (not all my fault!), I have to say the front bumper is super weak, I "walked" into a stopped truck at 5 miles an hour and it caused $3k of damage (mid price point of the repair estimates). Other than that it has a super small turning radius, more storage capacity than you'd think: skis, curbside "donations", trunk you could put two persons in... My plan is to keep up with it until it dies on me. I have had to replace the AC compressor at 80k or so, but nothing else major so far. I started my mpg at 38 or so while living in Houston TX with much highway, and now I'm at 29 mpg in Boston, MA with much stop and go."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car. I have the EX

By on Thursday, July 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Needs more comfortable seats for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Goes and goes. My only complaint would be that the bucket seats could use a little more thought. I drive long trips and the seats are not as comfortable as they could be. It handles great and east on the wallet when filling up. I'll keep it until it quits."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Gas Mileage!!!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage-fun to drive-very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"You wont find a gasoline powered car that gets better gas mileage than this car! If your looking to trade in that gas guzzling vehicle you currently own, I would definitely consider purchasing a Honda Civic!! This car is fun to drive and handles very well. Overall, I give this car a 9 out of 10. The only reason it didnt get a 10 from me is because I dont think it is the most comfortable car Ive driven. But it isnt too bad. I have driven worse."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable, Economic, Good Design, Been Very Good !!

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Worry Free"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Took very long trips in it (none stop; besides gas and food) over 20 hrs straight one time and had no problems with comfort. Seems to burn oil though at times, not always...mostly at higher speeds."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals