Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2003 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1744 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 70 | Next

Good reliable car

By on Wednesday, December 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 253,801

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Save gas, reliable, great for traveling"

Cons: "IMA replacement little expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

My 2003 car.

"I am 2nd owner. I would say it is worth it for reliable, for anyone who drive lot, to save gas, good for traveling, etc. Only one bad thing about it, IMA battery is little expensive to replace, otherwise I will recommanded this to anyone who drives 25 miles or more a day. It is not good to left parking for a week or longer, can drain IMA battery. So you will need to be able to drive it at least every 2 or 3 days for 25 or more miles to keep IMA charged. Also this way it will help car to run smoother. It is indeed wonderful car to own and very reliable if you need drive often, long distance, traveling, etc. I drive often myself out state, to distant cities. It never gave me any problems. I can go about 600 miles on single full gas tank. To me that is pretty good! That is from my personal experiences with owning this car."

My 2003 car.

nice to drive

By on Tuesday, December 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "seats are comfortable"

Cons: "small in size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"it is a very good car"

Fun Zippy Little Car

By on Friday, December 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, zippy"

Cons: "mine is starting to rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the Honda EX Special Edition. I adore this car; very fun to drive, reliable, great on gas! Although I have owned it for 5 1/2 years, I still love to drive it. It has a very responsive five speed manual transmission. The 6 CD multi disc stereo system is great. I drive 500 miles per week back & forth to work, mostly highway miles. I get great mileage, somewhere between 34-36 miles per gallon depending on driving conditions. At the advice of a co-worker I put snow tires on another set of rims for winter driving. It gets around great in our snowy Iowa winters. I have had no major repairs, just basic maintenance procedures. I use synthetic oil at the recommendation of the first owner. That's what he used since it's first oil change. My only complaint is that it is starting to show some rusting but that's partially my fault for not washing it enough. I finally bit the bullet & bought a smaller new AWD SUV because the Honda was getting so many miles on it. I love my Civic so much I could not bear to part with it so I didn't trade it in or sell it. I am continuing to drive the Honda about two days a week so I don't put so many miles on my new vehicle; well that and the fact that the Honda is much more fun to drive and gets better gas mileage. This is the first car I ever had that I liked so much I couldn't bear to get rid of it for something different after three years or so."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good car great mpg fun to drive

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "mpg reliable maintenance free"

Cons: "snow driving not that great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had always been a little tuned off by imports (believe in domestic cars) but i found myself in a bind and all i could afford was my civic. so i took it for a test drive and fell in love. it handles amazing. seems a tank of gas last forever. i am also a mechanic and on my old car (chevy malibu) i was always fixing something. since buying this car a year again i have only changed the oil. and ties. It can handle the abuse that i give it aswell as the elements. i drive it really hard. also when need the maintenance is very low cost. where i bought the car used i can feel the clutch starting to go so i have priced them and they are not very much at all(around 100 no flywheel and thats a performance clutch). and with the civic if you want to up grade there is option after option. the only complaint i have is that its not the greatest in snow. i live in utah and we get a good amount of snow and some of the hills around (including my driveway) i have a hard time getting up. now if you can afford to have summer and winter (i cant). tires im sure it would do just fine with snowtires. over all I LOVE MY CIVC"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

My 7th Honda in 46 years, first two were cycles

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable and trouble free, great gas miledge..."

Cons: "Didn't have a cd player and less mpg than the CRX"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2002 Honda and new replacement 2015 Honda

"I love this car, my 2nd best that I've owned...the best was my 85 CRX. I have 160,000 trouble free miles on it, only thing replaced has been oil, wipers, brakes and batteries. Still runs great though we use the 2007 Civic more now (I get the 'old Honda' and my wife drives the 8th new one and wheneven we drive together we take the newer one. In all the years I've owned Hondas, never had any problems except for the 1976 Civic (my first Honda car) that I needed to rebuild the head after 186,000 miles. That was the only mechanical problems in nearly a million miles total driving on all the Hondas...I did replace the CRX radiator when a Coyote put his head through it while driving home from the fire department (I'm a volunteer). The photo shows the 2002 Civic that I use and the brand new 2015 Honda (our 9th one) in the background...that's why I'm selling this 2002 and will be replacing it with the wife's 2007. Incidently, we always get white because we live in a desert, white cars are cooler, they get into fewer accidents because they are more visible, and because white paint lasts longer than anyother color."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

2002 Honda and new replacement 2015 Honda

Love Honda but disppointed in my 1st Civic

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas mileage and roomy interior for small car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"inside door handles are not actual metal but covered in silver metal tape that cut my passengers finger. This is my first Civic I have ever owned, previously I owned Honda Acura and four Honda Accords. My civic is dark blue and it began oxidizing when it was 5 years old. The whole roof and hood look terrible. The fact that I live in Arizona is unacceptable excuse. I do keep it garaged. It is immaculate inside and no dings or dents on the body. But the lousy paint job loses some of my value."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Trannies + batteries go at 150k miles

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Good MPG -- 44 summer, 34 winter. Comfortable."

Cons: "Becomes unsaleable at 150k miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought the car in 2010, when it was 7 years old. At 8 1/2 yrs it developed a delay in the start clutch. At 9 years the "Check Engine" light and the IMA battery light were on all the time, codes saying I needed a new battery. The battery shows it charging fine, but it seems it may go at any time, and they are in the range of $2,300. Now, in 2014, (11 years), the start clutch has started to shudder somewhat. Two mechanics have told me the transmissions on these hybrids go at around 150k miles, and this car has 155, so I am going to sell it for parts. Too bad. It was a very good car with few problems otherwise."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

very reliable

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very reliable."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good, realiable car, will give to my nephew

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good value, reliable, easy on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been one of the most reliable car, low maintenance and easy on gas. Very good value for the money."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good Utility Car

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good point A to point B car"

Cons: "Noisy interior, More repairs than expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've owned 2 Honda Civics (1986 & 2001). In general, they both performed well. However I have yet to reach the the coveted 200k milage without major issues. My 1986 Civic had a blown head gasket at 150k which I repaired. It ran until it reached 205k when my timing belt broke wiping-out the engine. Both Civics were very well maintained following all service intervals. My 2001 Civic had it's air compressor go out (an expensive repair) at ~180k mi. Then at 194k mi, it developed a head gasket leak. No current or prior engine overheating issues. Cost quoted to repair the 2001 Civic head gasket was $1,800 to $2000... at a 3rd party shop specializing in Honda's (less than dealer). So basically, the car is not worth repairing. When I asked my mechanic about Civic issues they commonly see, I was told the head gasket was a very common failure on 2001 through 2006 Civics. That said, would I buy another Civic... maybe, but I'm also considering other models/manufacturer's."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Aways reliable; would purchase another

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "the VP model didn't come with cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic value; never had any problems with the car"

Trusted it until the transmission failed.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Value, Good mileage, Hardly any problems"

Cons: "Transmission failed. :o("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"2001 Honda Civic. 159000 miles. Transmission now slipping. Visor's and head liner fabric did not withstand Florida sun."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good looking, safe, good on gas, quality"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It's great and gets great gas mileage and is very reliable. I am going to buy another Civic as my next car. Honda for life!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very dependable car!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, dependable car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daughter bought this car used and drove it for 2yrs before passing it on to me 4 years ago. This is a basic model but still comfortable for long (10 hr) and short drives. Very dependable car and good in snow (I live in Northeast Ohio snowbelt) Body hasn't started rusting. AC and heat work great. Great gas mileage. I highly recommend this car."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very disappointed with my purchase

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Cons: "something is wrong on how it runs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I just bought this car about 6 months ago for over $5000, I feel so stupid knowing what its worth. I have never bought a used car without doing my homework, but I was tired of taking the bus and all the walking I was doing (about 20 miles/day). Now I'm stuck with the car and the note and was just wondering what I should do"

5 people out of 24 found this review helpful

one of the most reliable cars i have owned.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "love driving it and econoical to own"

Cons: "cost of power battery. # of miles i drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the power drive batteries were replaced at 118,500 miles, the only problem I have had with it"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

my wife's car

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "gas mileage, reliability"

Cons: "not good for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my wife has had her little Civic for 3 years now and it has been the most reliable car ever for her. She loves it and wants to keep it forever and most likely it WILL last forever!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Decent car for the money.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great fuel economy, roomy for a tiny car."

Cons: "Small, cant fit car seats in rear seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The A/C went out at 147,000 like so many of the other Civics of that year did, the rear struts went out and made 2 new rear tires go bad after 5000 miles of wear but all in all the car is put together well. I get around 39.3 miles per gallon average and no problems with the hybrid battery set up. Knock on wood. The car is fun to drive and doesn't feel like a "Hybrid". Handles well and is pretty peppy for only a 1.3 liter engine. Anyone looking to buy one of these early hybrid Civics be prepared to have an A/C compressor installed along with struts. Have the battery pack inspected before purchase."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

reliable great small car even in snow

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,395

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, drives beautifully, love the 5 speed"

Cons: "noisey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I given this car tough driving with gravel roads, forest roads, toule ski rack - and it performs! I used snow tires December to May which were noisy but took me anywhere a 4 wheel drive pickup could go (except for snow over 7" deep). I love the split back seat for loading skis through trunk. My only complaint is it was noisy as it aged. This may have been partly that we loaded a canoe on the roof with straps through the car. It is a noisy car, but then it's a civic not a LR..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Pretty much trouble free auto

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to maintain and reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Keep my 2005 Civic LX maintained with the dealer and no major problems till 9 y/o then expensive repairs for steering wheel pump and suspension bushings. This car drives in stop and go in-town traffic, horrible pot-hole ridden roads, sweltering heat and humidity in Honolulu and has survived very well. It has been the best economy car I have owned and has met my expectations."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

better than average

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "comfortable and enjoyed driving"

Cons: "larger glove box and more cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"power assist battery pack replaced at 118500 with 146000 now. the only problem I have had with this car. average 35mpg in mountain driving."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car I ever owned"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There's nothing wrong with this car. It's not fancy, or sexy, or pretty, but it just does what it is supposed to do, day after day. I drove it through the worst of Hurricanes Katrina and Gustav, and it never flinched. Neither rain nor sleet nor flood nor howling winds can stop this car. It took me five years to realize that this ordinary-looking Civic was the best car I have ever owned. And it's not even close."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Fun and reliable car

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, fun, safety, reliable, good pick up"

Cons: "had to have car painted after 7 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has served me well and has given me little expense over the years in repairs. Very reliable, good mpg, especially on highway. I have a manual trans., so fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

reliable 37 mpg

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable good mleage good leg and head room"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Honda Civic has never needed repairs. It routinely gets 37 mpg. Perfect car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best ecomony dependable car

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "I HAVE TO TRAVEL LONG DISTANCES AND AT 206000.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is a great car for running around town and making short runs, gas milage wonderul, always ready to go and maintenace is not $$$$ costly"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 70 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals