Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2002 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1705 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 69 | Next

BEST OF SMALL CARS

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, very good in gas"

Cons: "i have no negative comments about this car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had 2 Honda cars and i am looking to buy a new one, i had good experiences with Honda cars, my civic is 10 yrs old and still in perfect condition, they keep going and going, this is a good car to get, specially for females, very low to maintain, if you are like me "gas and go" this is the car."

i love this car just want a k.b.b.perice.......

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,055

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"this car has been well maintain. Clean"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

So RELIABLE

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has never failed me while driving! Never even replaced my timing belt and it has almost 140 k miles. Looks good on the outside and inside but the inside materials are a little bit cheap. Also super great on gas. Little noisy and not so fun to drive but what do you expect from a v4."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Going on 13 years without a repair.

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "economical, reliable, environmentally favorable"

Cons: "no air conditioning in my car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 2002 Honda Civic is basic: manual EVERYTHING. The only failures or worn out items so far are tires and windshield wipers. No brake jobs, no batteries, no clutches, and who knows what else people always need to have fixed. I just took it in for a major service check and the mechanic said it was "perfect." The car gets excellent gas mileage and has low emissions. My last car was a 1982 Accord, which was still in perfect mechanical condition when I donated it to a worthy cause in 2002."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best overall vehical I've ever owned. For a 1.7 li

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "little low to the ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this vehical, just wanting to but a new model 2dr"

Love this car

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Amazing car!!"

Cons: "Doesn't have intermitent wipers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned my 2001 Civic since 2004 and am just getting rid of it this year. Still sad about it. Great car, perfect interior, fun to drive, looks great."

Sporty Dependable Car

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great gas mileage, no surprises under the hood."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love My Baby

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything!"

Cons: "nothing!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car going on 8 years now. I purchased it 68K. I'm now at 163K. This was my college car so most of my miles are highway since I went to school about 2 hours from my hometown. I've had no major work done other than the normal maintenance. Staying in New Orleans had messed my struts up, so I have replaced those. It really was the best car ever. Looking to sell my baby and upgrade a newer model or either the accord. Tall people can fit and be very comfortable in this car. I'm a 5'9 chick and I ride comfortably. Even my boyfriend who is 6'6 drives comfortably whenever we take my car. The only con I have is when it comes to moving, I can't fit a lot in my car. However, I was a college student so of course I had a lot of stuf. But how moves often anyway right? (: I have the DX model where it is manual locks and windows however I actually like it better that way."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable vehicle

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My civic has been reliable from day one. Even with 195K miles, I am still getting 35mpg on the highway. Regular preventative maintenance keeps it running strong."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

First car and was definitely worth it!

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 247,426

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Spacious, reliable."

Cons: "Nothing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Freshly washed!

"I've had my car for two years now and have absolutely loved it! I've kept it maintained regularly and it runs like it did when it had 15,000 miles on it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Freshly washed!

overall, best car I have owned

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great mpg, great commuter, very reliable"

Cons: "bouncy in rear, put 50lb bag of sand in trunck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a lot of vehicles in my 56 years of life,I have had sports cars, pickups,van,luxury cars suvs after repairs and dependability the civic has been the overall winner."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent Value

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good price, excellent mileage"

Cons: "Poor interiors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Been using this car for about 2 years now. Provides good comfortable ride. Had couple of issues with it, but it was mroe due to my fault than the car itself. Overall, provides excellent value for the price."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I EVER OWNED!

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "VERY ECONOMICAL CAR."

Cons: "NOT ALOT OF POWER."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I PURCHASED THIS CAR WITH 18,000 MILES ON IT. IT NOW HAS AROUND 136,000. IN THAT TIME I WAS NEVER STUCK ONCE. I REPLACED AN ALTERNATOR AND STARTER. NEITHER WENT AND LEFT ME STRANDED. OTHER THAT THE PARTS MENTIONED AND ROUTINE MAINTENANCE I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE. IT GETS GREAT GAS MILEAGE. SOMEWHERE IN THE 35-38 MPG ON THE HIGHWAY (WITH THE LITTLE FOUR CYLINDER). I HAVE MANY FRIENDS THAT OWN THE SAME MODEL CAR. ONE IS APPROACHING 300,000 AND THE CAR IS STILL RUNNING WELL."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I love this car - I wish it was still available!

By on Sunday, May 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Really fun to drive and hatchback is practical"

Cons: "None, other than it's a small car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was my favorite car ever, and if it was still available I'd buy it again. It's the perfect combination of sporty & practical."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good little car

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "its a honda!"

Cons: "struts do go bad easily,but it a cheap fix."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love it! it has been so reliable,cheap and easy to maintain. I read people have had problems with theirs but,that seems to be in the automatic version.i think the kbb is way too low for a car like this seeing how any 90's honda go's for about the same."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love this car. Best Vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, May 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage, reliable, economical, resale value"

Cons: "lack of power in low gears (as expected for 1.7L)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic car! It's 12 years old and I have only performed minor maintenance and upkeep on the car. It's still pretty zippy for a 1.7L engine. Great gas mileage. Trunk is more spacious than you might think. Very easy to work on and find parts. Interior, exterior, and engine has held up great over the years. I live in the Midwest and I have never had a problem getting around in this car during or after a snow storm. I have owned, GMC, Chevy, Ford, and Nissan vehicles. This car is by far the best quality vehicle I have had. Sorry Detroit. You've never made a product this good. 108,000 miles and still going strong."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable and Worth it!

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My Civic has been to heck and back, and it is still driving. My town is not kind to small cars, but my baby is still driving. She's been flooded, in accidents, and countless road trips. The handling is great, but the 4 cylinder engine leaves a little to be desired. Also, the turning radius isn't quite as tight as I'd like, but it is still really good. Overall it's been awesome owning a Civic, and it has gotten me through the first 8 years of driving great. It's just time to upgrade to more current technology."

Great car !

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent Vehicle ! Durable !"

Cons: "Price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Was a little expensive but it was a fun and very reliable vehicle!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Money Pit

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Good gas milage."

Cons: "Constant repairs. Terrribly engineered front end."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Worst car I've ever owned. Bought this car used at aprox. 70000 miles for 10k. Within the first year it was back at the dealer getting fixed. Struts, bushings, control arms, cv joints. Everything that has to do with the front end suspension. That first repair alone was over 2k. Over the past four years it's been complete misery. I've had to rebuild the suspension so many times. The same parts fail after about a year. Even the bearing have been replaced more than twice. I had a brake line leak randomly and it took more than one trip to a shop for them to get that right. The front rotors warped after replacing them. It has been one thing after another. Most recently I had to get the power steering rack replaced. Besides that I had a whole list of problems. My front wheel sounded like a bad shopping cart. I had an airbag light come on which was apparently a recall. I also had a bad drive belt. Well I bring it home and within a week my front wheel is squeaking again, and the airbag light just came back on. This most recent repair cost 3400 dollars and nothing is fixed. I've spent a total of 9104.14 in just repairs. Not general maintenance. I could've bought a new car by now but I was foolish enough to think Honda cared about their cars and customers. Run away from this car and Honda. They will drain your wallet and all you'll get back is headaches and that wonderful nausea feeling of owning a piece of you know what. Plus the entire time I've owned this car my steering wheel has always shook back and forth while driving higher speeds. Every time I took it to Honda they had a different excuse for it and always claimed it was fixed. I would drive it home and sure enough I had a shaky steering wheel. This is a sorry excuse for reliability."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride"

Cons: "Too small for growing family"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the only new car I've ever bought, had 16 miles on it and I just love it. I've had it for 11+ years and driving it just feels right to me. It is a smooth ride and the heating and air conditioning come on pretty quick which is a must in the winter. Unfortunately I need a bigger car :( two car seats in the back now, so it's barely wide enough for a third person."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

never let me down

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "parks well in small spaces, fuel economy"

Cons: "no heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this care is reliable, never left me on the road, highly well-maintained"

My 4th Honda Civic - Love this car!

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, good price, easy handling and parking"

Cons: "No cons - this Civic has cup holders and a spoiler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is in excellent condition. I only had to replace the battery. Great gas mileage 26-27 city, and 37-40 on open road."

Very dependable car

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a very dependable care with very few repairs needed over the years."

Best car I have ever owned!

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very dependable. Great mileage."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned and I have had it for almost 14 years. It has always started and has never let me down. I will be sorry to trade it in."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Virtually no maintenance repairs!

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "cant kill it"

Cons: "seats suck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"215,000 mile and just changed the oil every 5,000 miles and change auto transmission fluid ever 90,000 miles. The only maintenance I've done is change the battery at 150,00, and Japan spark plugs @ 100,000. Killer gas mileage Very uncomfortable seats for long drives. Dread road trips in this thing. Probably should do the coolant and timing belt. But Ugh who has time for that."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 69 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details