Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1733 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 70 | Next

Trusted it until the transmission failed.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Value, Good mileage, Hardly any problems"

Cons: "Transmission failed. :o("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"2001 Honda Civic. 159000 miles. Transmission now slipping. Visor's and head liner fabric did not withstand Florida sun."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good looking, safe, good on gas, quality"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It's great and gets great gas mileage and is very reliable. I am going to buy another Civic as my next car. Honda for life!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Very dependable car!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, dependable car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daughter bought this car used and drove it for 2yrs before passing it on to me 4 years ago. This is a basic model but still comfortable for long (10 hr) and short drives. Very dependable car and good in snow (I live in Northeast Ohio snowbelt) Body hasn't started rusting. AC and heat work great. Great gas mileage. I highly recommend this car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very disappointed with my purchase

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Cons: "something is wrong on how it runs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I just bought this car about 6 months ago for over $5000, I feel so stupid knowing what its worth. I have never bought a used car without doing my homework, but I was tired of taking the bus and all the walking I was doing (about 20 miles/day). Now I'm stuck with the car and the note and was just wondering what I should do"

2 people out of 18 found this review helpful

one of the most reliable cars i have owned.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "love driving it and econoical to own"

Cons: "cost of power battery. # of miles i drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the power drive batteries were replaced at 118,500 miles, the only problem I have had with it"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

my wife's car

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "gas mileage, reliability"

Cons: "not good for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my wife has had her little Civic for 3 years now and it has been the most reliable car ever for her. She loves it and wants to keep it forever and most likely it WILL last forever!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Decent car for the money.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great fuel economy, roomy for a tiny car."

Cons: "Small, cant fit car seats in rear seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The A/C went out at 147,000 like so many of the other Civics of that year did, the rear struts went out and made 2 new rear tires go bad after 5000 miles of wear but all in all the car is put together well. I get around 39.3 miles per gallon average and no problems with the hybrid battery set up. Knock on wood. The car is fun to drive and doesn't feel like a "Hybrid". Handles well and is pretty peppy for only a 1.3 liter engine. Anyone looking to buy one of these early hybrid Civics be prepared to have an A/C compressor installed along with struts. Have the battery pack inspected before purchase."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

reliable great small car even in snow

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,395

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, drives beautifully, love the 5 speed"

Cons: "noisey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I given this car tough driving with gravel roads, forest roads, toule ski rack - and it performs! I used snow tires December to May which were noisy but took me anywhere a 4 wheel drive pickup could go (except for snow over 7" deep). I love the split back seat for loading skis through trunk. My only complaint is it was noisy as it aged. This may have been partly that we loaded a canoe on the roof with straps through the car. It is a noisy car, but then it's a civic not a LR..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Pretty much trouble free auto

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to maintain and reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Keep my 2005 Civic LX maintained with the dealer and no major problems till 9 y/o then expensive repairs for steering wheel pump and suspension bushings. This car drives in stop and go in-town traffic, horrible pot-hole ridden roads, sweltering heat and humidity in Honolulu and has survived very well. It has been the best economy car I have owned and has met my expectations."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

better than average

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "comfortable and enjoyed driving"

Cons: "larger glove box and more cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"power assist battery pack replaced at 118500 with 146000 now. the only problem I have had with this car. average 35mpg in mountain driving."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car I ever owned"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There's nothing wrong with this car. It's not fancy, or sexy, or pretty, but it just does what it is supposed to do, day after day. I drove it through the worst of Hurricanes Katrina and Gustav, and it never flinched. Neither rain nor sleet nor flood nor howling winds can stop this car. It took me five years to realize that this ordinary-looking Civic was the best car I have ever owned. And it's not even close."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Fun and reliable car

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, fun, safety, reliable, good pick up"

Cons: "had to have car painted after 7 years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has served me well and has given me little expense over the years in repairs. Very reliable, good mpg, especially on highway. I have a manual trans., so fun to drive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

reliable 37 mpg

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable good mleage good leg and head room"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Honda Civic has never needed repairs. It routinely gets 37 mpg. Perfect car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best ecomony dependable car

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "I HAVE TO TRAVEL LONG DISTANCES AND AT 206000.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is a great car for running around town and making short runs, gas milage wonderul, always ready to go and maintenace is not $$$$ costly"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Responsive, reliable all season nice looking easy

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good mileage, cute car"

Cons: "DriverBlind spot look out back window, noisy cabin"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"2005 civic is safe, reliable, economical and an easy responsive car to drive. I've never felt comfortable keeping a car for more than 75,000 miles. I still feel safe and comfortable with over 100,000 miles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very reliable, wish I still had it

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: crashed it

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very roomy, great resale value, very reliable"

Cons: "weak engine, basic interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is extremely reliable, very fuel economical, and overall handles great. I wish I hadn't totaled it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car ever.No mechanical issues in 10yrs.

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will keep this car till it stops in its tracks. I should be able to get at least another 200,000 miles out of it. Just keep the oil changed and do nomal upkeep and Ta Da you've got an awesome car thats worth every dime."

Great Car!

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 254,896

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, dependable, economical, fun- great car!"

Cons: "needs more space and maybe more amenities"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a rock-solidly reliable car. I have owned my 2003 Civic for six years. I gought it with 53K or so miles and put another 200K on it. The gas mileage has been excellent and few problems have arisen: The motor mounts failed at 120K & the alternator at 180K. Both of these are more than reasonable. The car handles and drive well and is sporty. It could use more space, but it is a small car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

good car for what I needed.

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned my Civic for over 7 years now. For the first 3 years I drove it a lot due to my job. I always felt comfortable and knew it was a reliable car. The gas mileage didn't seem to be the best, I expected better, but maybe that was my misconception about a Honda. My car now has over 214,000 miles on it and this past year has been rough. We had an extremely rough winter and I ended up needing to replace the battery and alternator. Then in the spring it was the front axle and brakes. A knocking noise from the right front tire followed which never seemed to be resolved which very well could have been a mechanic issue. Maybe this is all normal wear and tear with cars but it seems to all have happened at once so to speak. I like Honda and honestly see myself owning another one, most likely a Civic, again. They are tough, reliable cars and it seems you can drive the snot out of them."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

never a problem!

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original Owner, very reliable, color white"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Single owner,very well maintained

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Anti theft alarm installed by owner Bought new,still drives like almost new,never had any engine problems,tires almost new,new brakes. Great mileage. Great car for the money."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent condition. No issues

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Stylish and economical."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is in excellent condition. Only reason I did not rate as exceptional is because we had minor body work to repair other driver caused minor benders. All repaired with new parts. Only reason selling this great & fuel efficient car is that we need 4-Wheel drive for s On going to school over a mountain range."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great, reliable car for a small family or teenager

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: trade-in

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I chose a Civic for my first car to buy and I don't regret it for a second! Very reliable and fun to drive. Worked as hard as I did and I drove a lot for school and various vacations. Stayed in the Honda family when I purchased a new car and just upgraded to an Accord which I am also very happy with."

Passes the gas station, but not quickley,...

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Economic to operate, easy to maintian"

Cons: "No Power Windows, engine is under powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"If you are looking for reliable, basic transportation the 2005 Honda Civic "Value Model" is the car for you. Change the oil every 3000 miles, fill it with gas and go. I am averaging about 38 MPG on the freeway with the minor improvements I have made. I put in a K&N air filter, Bosch Triple Platinum spark plugs, change the oil and add ProLong oil treatment every time. Your freeway mileage will be reduced if you try to pass or overtake other vehicles. The zero to 60 time means that you will get up to 60MPH sometime tomorrow. Time based maintenance tasks are quick, easy and affordable. The only major operation I have had to do is replace the serpentine belt at 70K miles. Otherwise, breaks, lube, cooling system flush are all predictable and affordable. Pros: It is a great little car and once you warm up the squirrels that power it, it can be fun to drive. By fun I mean that it will handle like an oversized go-cart. I'm using Parrelli Elite Series tires and they stick to the road like a wet stamp in tight corners. The low profile hood offers great visibility and field of view. The interior layout is convenient and easily accessible, with minimal distraction. It does offer a tilt steering column that makes gage observation and driving position less strenuous as it would without. For a stock, Basic Honda it does offer a decent sound system and CD player. When I win the lottery and can afford a McLaren, Austin Martin or Bugatti,... I would actually keep this car as a daily driver. Cons: If you are over 6 feet tall, you may have to fold your knees into your chest to get into the car. The cabin and cockpit area is not especially spacious, yet what do you want for it being a compact sedan. When the side window is in the up position, the crank handle will be in the side of your left knee, yet you do get use to it after a while. While the stereo & CD player is adequate it does not offer a 3.5mm MP3 / iPod input plug. Additionally, if you disconnect or remove the vehicle battery, the stereo will lock up, requiring the use of an unlock code. Fortunately, I knew the original owner personally and was able to afford the dealership the appropriate information to obtain the unlock code. Otherwise, you will have to take it to the dealership and they will charge you from $60.00 to $80.00 to unlock your radio. The 12 volt accessory plug is allocated behind the passengers side cup holder, so if you have a plug (Phone Charger, GPS, etc.) that is a little large, you will have difficulties using the cup holder. At high speeds (65 - 70 MPH), you will experience some road noise. Actually, the road noise is only rivaled by a space shuttle lift off. If you are using a Bluetooth headset, you will have to pump up the volume to 11. Additionally, if your Bluetooth is sensitive, the person on the other side of the phone will complain about background noise. The only other notable problem with operability (Other than lacking power) is the yellowing of the outer headlamp covers. While the anti oxidation cleansers work a little, always note that most of the oxidation is on the inside of the lens cover."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great reliable care that sips gas

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage. 5 speed is fun to drive"

Cons: "Not alot of power...made for sipping gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent quality and value in this car. Gets 45 mpg and keeps going and has never let me down. Would definitely purchase another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 70 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals