Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1732 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 174 | Next

Best car ever

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good looking, safe, good on gas, quality"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It's great and gets great gas mileage and is very reliable. I am going to buy another Civic as my next car. Honda for life!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Very dependable car!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, dependable car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daughter bought this car used and drove it for 2yrs before passing it on to me 4 years ago. This is a basic model but still comfortable for long (10 hr) and short drives. Very dependable car and good in snow (I live in Northeast Ohio snowbelt) Body hasn't started rusting. AC and heat work great. Great gas mileage. I highly recommend this car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very disappointed with my purchase

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Cons: "something is wrong on how it runs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I just bought this car about 6 months ago for over $5000, I feel so stupid knowing what its worth. I have never bought a used car without doing my homework, but I was tired of taking the bus and all the walking I was doing (about 20 miles/day). Now I'm stuck with the car and the note and was just wondering what I should do"

2 people out of 18 found this review helpful

one of the most reliable cars i have owned.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "love driving it and econoical to own"

Cons: "cost of power battery. # of miles i drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the power drive batteries were replaced at 118,500 miles, the only problem I have had with it"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

my wife's car

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "gas mileage, reliability"

Cons: "not good for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my wife has had her little Civic for 3 years now and it has been the most reliable car ever for her. She loves it and wants to keep it forever and most likely it WILL last forever!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Decent car for the money.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great fuel economy, roomy for a tiny car."

Cons: "Small, cant fit car seats in rear seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The A/C went out at 147,000 like so many of the other Civics of that year did, the rear struts went out and made 2 new rear tires go bad after 5000 miles of wear but all in all the car is put together well. I get around 39.3 miles per gallon average and no problems with the hybrid battery set up. Knock on wood. The car is fun to drive and doesn't feel like a "Hybrid". Handles well and is pretty peppy for only a 1.3 liter engine. Anyone looking to buy one of these early hybrid Civics be prepared to have an A/C compressor installed along with struts. Have the battery pack inspected before purchase."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

reliable great small car even in snow

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,395

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, drives beautifully, love the 5 speed"

Cons: "noisey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I given this car tough driving with gravel roads, forest roads, toule ski rack - and it performs! I used snow tires December to May which were noisy but took me anywhere a 4 wheel drive pickup could go (except for snow over 7" deep). I love the split back seat for loading skis through trunk. My only complaint is it was noisy as it aged. This may have been partly that we loaded a canoe on the roof with straps through the car. It is a noisy car, but then it's a civic not a LR..."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Pretty much trouble free auto

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to maintain and reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Keep my 2005 Civic LX maintained with the dealer and no major problems till 9 y/o then expensive repairs for steering wheel pump and suspension bushings. This car drives in stop and go in-town traffic, horrible pot-hole ridden roads, sweltering heat and humidity in Honolulu and has survived very well. It has been the best economy car I have owned and has met my expectations."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

better than average

By on Sunday, September 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "comfortable and enjoyed driving"

Cons: "larger glove box and more cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"power assist battery pack replaced at 118500 with 146000 now. the only problem I have had with this car. average 35mpg in mountain driving."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best car I ever owned"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There's nothing wrong with this car. It's not fancy, or sexy, or pretty, but it just does what it is supposed to do, day after day. I drove it through the worst of Hurricanes Katrina and Gustav, and it never flinched. Neither rain nor sleet nor flood nor howling winds can stop this car. It took me five years to realize that this ordinary-looking Civic was the best car I have ever owned. And it's not even close."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 174 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals