Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2001 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1761 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 177 | Next

Most reliabe vehicle ever

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,398

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, great around town"

Cons: "Very uncompfortable on road trips!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This is a great around town car, very reliable, good on gas. This is not a good road trip car as far as comfort goes. Seats are very hard and extremely uncomfortable. Good car otherwise!!!"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

great car,dependable,well planned design

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "mpg, quality parts ,well designed, good paint"

Cons: "too high reving ,interior glue fails test of time,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"better than what I expected, acceptable mpg{30-36mpg},high reving 5sp trans-two high- overall well built, highly recommend."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable. Comfortable. Good gas mileage.

By on Saturday, April 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never had a problem with Hondas."

Cons: "Can't think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My last 5 cars were Hondas. Sturdy and reliable."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I didn't need a mechanic!

By on Friday, April 10, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "For sure you have a car for everyday!"

Cons: "Hard to drive in small cities because it is manual"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is an amazing car!!! The best for women that does not know anything about cars, like me! Two times I had to take my car to the mechanic: first, because a recall related with a front light, and second, because the dealer replace the clutch. I never needed a mechanic since 2003 when I bought this car. My honor to Honda Civic EX 2002!."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, super fun, great storage"

Cons: "It can't go forever."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a super efficient, fun and reliable car. I have moved cross country twice and it just keeps going. I have never done major engine maintenance on it, replaced brakes several times, the tie rods and now it needs new struts. Other than that, it's one of the best cars I have ever owned."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great car, good gas mileage"

Cons: "head went on it, that was $$$"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my civic for 13 years. I bought it with 14k miles on it and not it has 235k miles. Its a great car. I have put two timing belts on it. I had the head gasket go at 230k miles but I plan on keeping it."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Reliable and Fun

By on Thursday, March 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Price, easy to maintain, great on gas, reliable"

Cons: "Awkward power plug when using cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this car for 6 years. I am not easy on vehicles, but this little gem never fails. I've done routine maintenance, which any smart car owner should do, so all the key belts and fluids are changed when they should be, if not sooner. Other than an intermittent, pesky disappearing anti-freeze issue, I have had zero issues with this car. I replaced the alternator and the battery, and have to pop in new headlights every now and again. And keeping too many treasures and keys on my key ring caused a failure in the ignition mechanism (which was also a recall issue). But after ten years, this car still looks nearly new and drives like a champ. I love Honda in general (this is my 2nd) and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another. My complaints are minor - the factory CD player stopped working in this car when it turned 8. The same thing happened in my previous Accord. And the power plug for charging your phone makes it nearly impossible to use the passenger cup holder at the same time. But after ten years, all the power locks and windows still work, as does the radio. Which is more than I can say for my Ford, or my VW."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love everything about it"

Very reliable car

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great, good MPG, reliable"

Cons: "Slow acceleration, hybrid batteries are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had this car for two years, and have traveled about 20,000 miles in it. I got it used, and it was in great shape. It has never had any problems, until recently when the hybrid battery showed an error which made the check engine light come on, and the car will not pass inspection. This is sad because it's still running great, and the battery works too. I am suspecting that it's showing the error as it has never been replaced, and 11 years for a hybrid battery is a long time! The cost of getting a new battery is too high for what the car is worth, so I am reluctantly letting go of it. Overall, this is a great and reliable car. On the road, I would love it if it accelerated faster and had better torque. But that's what I am sacrificing for the great gas mileage!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best of the Civics I have owned since my 2014 EX.

By on Saturday, March 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage still with 108K on it."

Cons: "Body rot above the passangers side rear wheel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Brand new after a rain storm, June 2001.

"Car was bought new in June 2001. I keep all records of all repairs and I spent at least $5000 over the 14 years I have had it, but it was mostly essentials like tires, brakes, suspension parts. Car was well worth the money and I still have it. I also have a 2014 Civic EX."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Brand new after a rain storm, June 2001.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 177 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals